Cabin
4

Vacation Rental Near Hoosier National Forest!

Property ID: 494383TaswellINUS
Sleeps 72 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.

Description

Get your very own Southern Indiana cabin rental near Patoka Lake when you want to retreat to a more peaceful setting. Bursting with great amenities both within the property and the community, this 2-bedroom, 1-bath Taswell home makes it easy to flow seamlessly from one activity to the next — grilling, hot tubbing, fishing, boating, hiking, and uninterrupted family time are just a few choices! Best of all, the little ones will love the community playground when it’s sunny.

Amenities

  • Private Hot Tub
  • Kitchen
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Essentials
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Self Check-In

Map

Location Details

LAKES + FISHING: Patoka Lake (6 miles), Little Patoka Boat Ramp (6 miles), Tucker Lake (15 miles), Hoosier Hills Marina (21 miles), Beaver Creek Lake (23 miles)

FORESTS + HIKING: Yellow Birch Ravine (5 miles), Hoosier National Forest (11 miles), Hemlock Cliffs (11 miles), Birdseye Trail (12 miles), Springs Valley State Fish and Wildlife Area (15 miles)

CAVES + LANDMARKS: Marengo Cave U.S. National Landmark (14 miles), Wyandotte Caves (25 miles), Indiana Caverns (36 miles), Squire Boone Caverns (47 miles)

WEST BADEN SPRINGS (~20 miles): French Lick Casino, French Lick West Baden Museum, French Lick Scenic Railway, Indiana Railway Museum, Indiana Landmarks Tours, Wilstem Wildlife Park, French Lick Winery and Vintage Cafe, The Valley Links Course

AIRPORTS: French Lick Municipal Airport (17 miles), Louisville Muhammad Ali International Airport (57 miles)

Reviews

4
7 reviews
  • Misleading listing

    1/5

    We booked this cabin specifically for the amenities. Half of the amenities weren’t operational for us to enjoy. For the price we payed for the weekend is kind of disappointing. The hot tub was broken and the water was ice cold. No technicians available to fix the issue until Monday.

    So our stay has been ruined by the lack of preparation for their guest. The playground area outdated and caution taped off. Kids could not utilize it. No fire wood available to enjoy the fire pit. The deck is sketchy and the railing is wobbly, unsafe for kids. We were informed this the day of check in. If we had known of the issues, we would have cancelled to get a full refund. As a property owner, the integrity of the listing and the actual property do not match. We were mislead.

    Now we are out almost 600$ for a miserable stay so far and unhappy kids. The point of staying in a cabin with amenities was to not have to leave and all we want to do is leave.

    Nothing has been made right yet or offered to be made right to our requests.

    Ciera
    Published June 1, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Ciera, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We deeply regret that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the non-operational amenities.
    - Regarding the hot tub, we understand your frustration. We offered assistance on the day of your stay, but unfortunately, our technicians were unavailable until Monday. We realize this impacted your enjoyment and apologize for the delay in service.
    - The deck has been inspected by three contractors who have confirmed its structural integrity, although it does tilt. It is deemed safe for children. The playground area, including the ship, is taped off for safety until repairs can be made. While we strive to maintain all amenities, unexpected issues can arise, similar to how major rides at theme parks occasionally go down for repairs.
    - We understand how disappointing this has been, especially given the cost of your stay. Please know that we are committed to improving and ensuring a better experience for future guests.
    Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Great option in southern Indiana

    5/5

    We loved our stay here. The amenities were enjoyed by the whole family. The only thing to note about staying in the lodge is that it is located above the office (different entrances). For guests who want the whole building to themselves, choose a different cabin on the property.

    Kristie
    Published March 28, 2024
  • Caution

    2/5

    It is quite often we utilize Evolve for vacation rentals. One thing my kids will all reference is bugs....they were horrible. The walls were thin and you could hear everything throughout the house. Also quite outdated as there was no dishwasher or washing machine or dryer. Had I paid a lesser amount nightly, I would not have been so critical - but at the nightly rate, expectations fell short.

    I don't typically take time to write reviews, but as I utilize them based on our rentals, I thought future renters should be aware.

    Tracy
    Published January 8, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Tracy, we truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. Your feedback is essential to us, and we've relayed your comments to the homeowner, who would like to address the following: During your stay, we noted the presence of a chipmunk and ladybugs on the property. We took proactive measures by filling the bait traps to address the chipmunk issue. As for the ladybugs, while we can sweep them up, their presence may persist due to our wooded surroundings. As a rustic cabin nestled within eighty-seven acres of woodland, we aim to provide an authentic wilderness experience. The property was recently updated in 2021, following the transition of ownership, we have meticulously detailed all available amenities and features in our listing. We want to emphasize that while we do not provide a washer and dryer or dishwasher, this is accurately reflected in our listing. Ladybugs are a natural occurrence in wooded environments, and it's not uncommon for them to appear when the weather warms up. This is part of the natural ecosystem surrounding our properties. Rest assured, we conduct monthly pest control to manage such occurrences. We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests as evidenced in all other reviews.

  • Great family place

    5/5

    We had an amazing time. The property is huge and it has everything you need, including kids play area.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Ana
    Published December 10, 2023
  • Is cozy

    5/5

    Very clean and nice inside. Do wish it said was on top of the office for the campgrounds. Heather was a very helpful host. Looking forward to coming back hopefully in the spring

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Ryan
    Published November 20, 2023
  • 1
  • 2

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.

Add dates for prices
4
7 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Guests
Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 7 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Adults
0
Children
Ages 2-12
0
Infants
0