Expansive Cabin with Sunroom near Lake Hiwassee!

Property ID: 434284MurphyNCUS
Sleeps 82 BR2 BA


Surround yourself in the lush forest of the Smoky Mountains at this 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom mountainside vacation rental! This expansive Murphy cabin offers an ideal space for entertaining, complete with vaulted ceilings, floor-to-ceiling windows, and an open layout, creating a warm and inviting interior flooded with natural light. When you're not firing up the gas grill for a BBQ or listening to the creek out on the deck, take a short drive down to Hanging Dog Recreation Area for a sunset picnic!


  • Washer
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Central Heating
  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed
  • Free Parking
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Essentials


Location Details

HISTORIC DOWNTOWN MURPHY (4.6 miles): Shops, restaurants, antique stores, movie theater, Murphy River Walk

OUTDOOR DESTINATIONS: Hanging Dog Recreation Area (0.4 miles), Piney Knob Trail System (7.2 miles), Cherokee Lake Recreation Area (16.2 miles), Hiwassee River (17.0 miles), Fire's Creek Picnic Area & Waterfall (20.0 miles), Lake Chatuge (20.0 miles), Hiwassee Dam (21.0 miles), Jack Rabbit Trailhead (27.4 miles), Appalachian Rivers Raft Company (28.9 miles), Turtletown Creek Upper Falls (30.7 miles), Bell Mountain (31.7 miles)

ATTRACTIONS: Boat Rentals (Various Marinas - 1.9 miles), Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel (7.4 miles), Nottely River Valley Vineyards (15.4 miles), Crane Creek Vineyard (20.1 miles), Blue Ridge Parkway (113 miles)

BREWERIES: Valley River Brewery (4.7 miles), Hayesville Brewing Company (17.3 miles), Hoppy Trout Brewing Company (18.5 miles), Nocturnal Brewing (19.4 miles), Grumpy Old Men Brewing (31.7 miles)

DAY TRIPS: Chattanooga, TN (96.7 miles), Pigeon Forge, TN (102 miles), Asheville, NC (114 miles), Atlanta, GA (123 miles)

AIRPORTS: McGhee Tyson Airport (80.0 miles), Chattanooga Airport (87.7 miles), Asheville Regional Airport (119 miles), Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (131 miles)


21 reviews
  • Review of our stay at a cabin in Murphy, NC


    The cabin was in great shape and had everything we needed. We had a little difficulty starting the fireplace but our contact (Aerian) came right over and got it working for us. We enjoyed our stay there immensely. We were able to relax and enjoy what Murphy had to offer. We also went to Bryson City to ride the "Polar Express" to the north Pole. It was fabulous.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published January 10, 2024
  • Fall leaf peeping.


    A very comfortable home away from home. The fire pit was a relaxing spot to unwind after a day's worth of exploring and hiking.

    We enjoyed what the Murphy area had to offer and will return in the future.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published November 10, 2023
  • Sweat Lodge


    This experience was so bad, we cut our trip short to get out of this place.

    The morning sun is blinding and turns the house into a sweat lodge rather quickly in the mornings. There is no way to block the sun coming in. The ice maker does not work because the water line is not connected. The Heat and Air Conditioning unit is grossly inadequate and could not even begin to cool the house on a July day. The sliding doors do not have screens and are worthless to try and access a breeze from outside. The rut filled dirt Driveway from the street is very steep, unsafe and if it is raining, would only be accessible with a 4-wheel drive vehicle.

    There were many more problems but all in all I would not recommend this house to anyone.

    Published August 7, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Mike, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    - We strive to provide our guests with a great guest experience, so we were disappointed to hear your feedback and want to take a moment to address your concerns.
    - We were unaware of any issues or concerns during your stay and wish you had reached out. We would have promptly responded and been more than happy to help.
    - We have curtains in the master bedroom and living room, although they are not blackouts, as many people enjoy the morning sun and brightness of the cabin, which is part of its charm. Darker curtains are in the downstairs bedroom in the back of the house, away from the morning sun for those who want a darker, cooler morning experience.
    - We take our listing accuracy seriously and do not advertise an ice maker as an available amenity, but we do provide plenty of ice trays to make ice.
    - We have experienced a warmer-than-usual summer, as much of the US has experienced. The temperature is controlled by a nest thermostat and is set at a comfortable temperature. Guests are welcome to adjust it to their comfort level. Had we been made aware of your concerns, we would have been happy to help you adjust the setting. Although there are no screens on the slider doors, windows and the front door to the cabin that leads to the screened porch can be opened for breezes if guests prefer, additionally the home has multiple ceiling fans.
    - We were surprised to hear your comment about the driveway. Although the driveway is steep, we can assure you that it does not require 4WD at any time of the year, but we're sorry to hear this had a negative impact on your stay.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • What we needed


    Great place to stay, fit a family of 6 comfortable

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    kayla f.
    Published August 8, 2023
  • Great spot, would come back


    The only issues we had were the trash cans were full(1 star for cleanliness) and we lost power on Christmas Day for a extended period of time. Property manager was receptive, can’t really control the power grid. For future people staying… when you get to the end of the paved road take a right on gravel road and follow down and around, can be daunting. Overall we loved it and would stay again

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Adam K
    Published January 24, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Adam, we want all of our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we're sorry that you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    -We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Cleanliness is our highest priority and we are currently working on a better process for the trash to avoid those concerns for future guests. We hope our resolution to the power outage caused by the winter weather met your needs. We are happy to hear you ultimately enjoyed your stay!
    Thank you for your insight, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

21 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 8 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12