1942 'Train House' Walk to CMU, River + Downtown!

Property ID: 401654Grand JunctionCOUS
Sleeps 73 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Once a 1940s railroad crew stop, this 3-bedroom, 1-bathroom vacation rental house now serves as an ideal home base to explore Grand Junction and the surrounding Fruita & Palisade wine country! This property boasts comfortable amenities, antique charm, and a central location for easy access to outdoor activities and downtown attractions. Cycle through Grand Junction, hike Colorado's National Monument, visit Historic Avalon Theater, and embark on winery tours through Palisade!


  • Essentials
  • Kitchen
  • Central Heating
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Washer
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Deck


Location Details

OUTDOOR RECREATION: Colorado River (1.5 miles), Colorado National Monument (6.1 miles), Kokopelli Bike Trail (18.0 miles), Dominguez-Escalante National Conservation Area (24.1 miles)

WINERIES & BREWERIES: The Rockslide Brewery and Restaurant (1.2 miles), Edgewater Brewery (1.2 miles), Red Fox Cellars (9.6 miles), Carlson Vineyards Winery (10.6 miles), Peach Street Distillers (12.4 miles), Palisade Brewing Company (12.5 miles), Restoration Vineyards (12.8 miles), Colterris Winery (13.7 miles), Talbott's Cider Company (16.1 miles)

ATTRACTIONS: Historic Avalon Theater (0.6 miles), Museum of the West, Museums of Western Colorado (0.8 miles), Colorado Mesa University (1.0 miles), Western Colorado Botanical Gardens (1.3 miles), Two Rivers Convention Center (1.3 miles), Dinosaur Journey Museum, Museums of Western Colorado (13.0 miles)

AIRPORT: Grand Junction Regional Airport (5.2 miles)


68 reviews
  • The Train House


    Wonderful stay. Quiet, convenient location, house has wonderful vibes. Hostess was friendly, easy to communicate with. Highly recommend this property for your Grand Junction visit.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published March 29, 2024
  • Comfy home in Grand Junction


    Such a comfortable, charming home. We were in Grand Junction for a conference and the home is well placed for all downtown activities. The house was warm, well-equipped and with comfortable beds. This was our second stay in the Train House and we're looking forward to next year already.

    Published January 22, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    From The Owner: "Thanks Travis, for the great review. You are welcome anytime. I hope to meet you in person one day."

  • 1302 Colorado


    Nice vintage house. Great location; walking distance to downtown and the ballpark. Damp and musty smelling when we arrived. Bathroom poorly cleaned. Emails to the property manger about the lock box went unanswered.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Robert G.
    Published October 3, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Shared from the owner: "Hi Robert, I am so sorry for missing this very important review. I was out of the country at this time and shortly after getting back, we had a leak under the house from a pipe that had pinholes in it. That explains the musty smell you were getting. Your messages went to my spam so therefore, I did not retrieve them. This clue may have saved me a lot of agony.
    As far as the bathroom goes, I have let my housekeeper know that we had a less than perfect review and she has noted that.
    Thanks again for the review good or bad we need to know.
    Hope you will come visit us again."

  • Girls Trip!


    The Train House was perfect for our group of 4 - great location, had everything we needed, and super clean! Thank you, Dianna!



    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published September 16, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    From the owner: ''Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We aim high but sometimes miss our mark. So glad you came to visit Grand Junction and hope you will stay with us again.''

  • Great stay


    House was great for what we needed while in GJ for a state swim meet. Close to CMU, quiet inside, cool and clean. Queen mattress was terrible but other three beds were fine.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Erica Richmond S.
    Published August 23, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    From the owner: “Hi Erica, Thanks for the review. I'm sorry the Queen bed didn't meet your expectations. I hope the homemade salsa and chips made up for that. Thanks for the review, hope you will reconsider coming back to stay.”

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 14

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

68 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 7 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12