Cathedral City STVR Permit #017583
Make memories in the picturesque town of Cathedral City! 'Osaso Villa,’ a 3-bed, 3.5-bath vacation rental, overlooks the Desert Princess Country Club and sits 5 miles from the high-end shops and local eateries of downtown Palm Springs. When you're not exploring the scenic desert landscape of Coachella Valley Preserve or Indian Canyons, unwind on the home’s patio with a dip in the private pool and admire the panoramic views as the sun sets over the hillside!
DESERT ADVENTURE: Indian Canyons (11.0 miles), Coachella Valley Preserve - Thousand Palms Oasis Preserve (13.7 miles), Santa Rosa and San Jacinto Mountains (17.7 miles), San Bernardino National Forest (35.8 miles), Joshua Tree National Park (45.1 miles)
ATTRACTIONS: Palm Springs Air Museum (2.7 miles), Agua Caliente Casino Palm Springs (5.1 miles), Palm Springs Walk of Stars (5.8 miles), Palm Springs Art Museum (6.0 miles), Palm Springs Aerial Tramway (9.2 miles), The Living Desert Zoo and Gardens (14.6 miles)
GOLF: Desert Princess Country Club (1.5 miles), Escena Golf Club (2.1 miles), Tahquitz Creek Golf Resort (4.1 miles), Indian Canyons Golf (7.9 miles), Desert Willow Golf Resort (11.4 miles), Classic Club (10.8 miles)
SHOP & DINE: Trio Restaurant (4.9 miles), Cheeky's (5.0 miles), Sherman's Deli & Bakery (5.7 miles), Lulu California Bistro (5.9 miles), Coachella Valley Brewing Company (6.6 miles), The Shops on El Paseo (11.8 miles), The Gardens on El Paseo (12.3 miles), Old Town La Quinta (20.0 miles)
EVENTS: Palm Springs Convention Center (5.0 miles), BNP Paribas Open - Indian Wells Tennis Garden (16.2 miles), Coachella Valley Music Festival & Stage Coach Music Festival - Empire Polo Club (22.0 miles)
AIRPORT: Palm Springs International Airport (4.9 miles)
As a rental owner, I take reviews seriously and have never left a negative one, but my experience with this place was so unnecessarily stressful and frustrating that I cannot give it a good review.
The check-in procedure is bizarrely complicated and frantic. We had the place booked for months, but they do not do any of the extensive check-in requirements until 48 hours beforehand. A simple email sent earlier would have saved us a ruined camping trip and two days of driving hours to get signal to send them our IDs and fill out forms that can’t be completed on phones without special apps. The communication was harried and condescending - I kept screen shots of the texts they were so bad.
While the bones of the place are fine, we arrived to a cold pool that then stopped working the next day. It was useable for 2 of our 5 days at a cost of $300.00. Three of the TVs had to be reset and the router rebooted each time you turned them off, combined with the remotes having dead batteries. We also had to deal with a shower that never had hot water and killing a large number of bugs in the guest bedroom and kitchen. We were also locked out of being able to adjust the temperature.
The place is very secure, spacious and well designed. The beds were comfortable and the primary suite/bathroom is lovely. I appreciated the pool towels being provided and the washer and dryer. The kitchen is well stocked, especially with coffee.
But that is not enough to make up for a stressful (though so easily avoidable!) trip where I had to play exterminator, tech support, and pool boy to make the place functional.
Owner's response: "Abigail, We are very sorry that our property did not meet your standards and that you did not have a good stay. We had no idea that you had such a bad experience as you did not communicate any issues other than the spa.
- We had a major sand storm the day before you reported the spa not working and the filters were jammed. The pool repair was called immediately and they had it working by Friday morning. We were unaware of you not being able to use the pool for your full stay
- Regarding the check-in, I verified with Evolve you were sent an email on 3/20 with the information to provide the ID and information about the paperwork. You were also allowed an early check-in, we apologize that the process is cumbersome but that is due to city regulations that are beyond our control
- The TV in the primary bedroom was checked and is working fine, it is possible that you did not turn on the cable box and there was no signal
- The shower head was clogged due to hard water deposits and it affected the flow of hot water. This was repaired immediately
- We have never had a bug issue except what is normal in the desert. We have an exterminator that comes out monthly. There was no evidence of bugs in any of the bedrooms unless it was a one-off bug that got in
- The pool was heated to 85 before you arrived, which is in line with hotel standards of 81-85, but we would have increased it with a simple request. We allow guests to control the spa heat but not the pool because it has been abused and heated to 100 in the past which is not reasonable, but we have always accommodated requests to increase the heat if 85 wasn't enough
- We appreciate your mention of the comfort of the beds, the spaciousness, and the other amenities that we provide
- As a homeowner yourself, you know that communication is key and we would have done what we could to get you taken care of if we knew you were unhappy
We truly go above and beyond for our guests, and we are confident that future guests will have excellent stays! We will continue to deliver the 5-star experiences we are known for."
The house is new and the community is very nice with walkways to enjoy the property. The issue was with the management. We were never told that the clothes washer was not operational, even though they were aware of it before we arrived. The water restrictors on the kitchen sink and showers make washing dishes and taking showers difficult. The person we communicated with for management was not friendly and borderline adversarial. Be prepared to submit your drivers license before you are allowed to review the rental agreement and you’ll be required to FaceTime her upon arrival.
Hi Jeffrey, we take it seriously when guests let us know that we missed the mark, and after sending your feedback to the homeowner, they’d like to share the following:
- We're glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay but disappointed we missed the mark.
- We're never had this complaint before, our property manager has always been professional and courteous to our guests. After hearing your feedback we further investigated, and after reviewing the communication between you, we would have to disagree with your comment.
- We sincerely apologize the washing machine was not available during your stay and for not notifying you. It broke down a few days prior to your stay, the part to repair it had been ordered but wasn't delivered in time for your stay, again we apologize for the inconvenience.
- Building codes require a low flow shower heads in California and we are in the process of trying to get better pressure in the showers.
- The city requires we obtain guest photo ID's, and to avoid problems our property manager will check age due to our age restriction of 28 year old minimum.
We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.
We loved the home, pool, furnishings and convenient location. Everything was there that we needed; we relaxed and enjoyed the pool, hot tub, views and convenient location to awesome hiking! Thanks for making it so easy!
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Pictures don't do this property justice, probably the best views within the Desert Princess. Amazing pool/spa, super clean, 12FT ceilings, perfect location. Lighted walking paths were great in the evening. Weber BBQ Grill on site! Great communication, we will be back next year!
Reach out help with general questions about the property.
Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.
Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.