Cozy Cabin w/ Deck & Private Dock on Nelson Lake!

Property ID: 435193HaywardWIUS
Sleeps 42 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Live the lake life on your next trip to Northern Wisconsin! This vacation rental is located a few steps from Nelson Lake, providing easy access to all of your favorite lake activities. Bring your fishing gear and see what you can catch from the private dock, go on a hike along the nearby Birkie Trail, eat at waterfront restaurants, or head into Hayward to do some shopping. After a fun day in the great outdoors, return to the 2-bedroom, 1-bath cabin and fire up the grill for a barbecue dinner.


  • Waterfront
  • Beachfront
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Essentials
  • Kitchen


Location Details

NELSON LAKE (on-site): Boating, fishing, swimming, Nelson Lake Boat Landing (0.8 miles), boat rentals at Nelson Lake Lodge (0.9 miles)

ATTRACTIONS: Hayward Golf Club (7.3 miles), Park Theater (7.8 miles), Fresh Water Fishing Hall of Fame (8.4 miles), Birkie Trail (9.3 miles), Wilderness Walk Zoo (10.6 miles), Big Fish Golf Club (12.9 miles), LCO Casino (13.3 miles), Spider Lake Ranch (20.8 miles)

FOOD/DRINK: Park Island Bar and Grill (0.5 miles), Nelson Lake Landing (1.0 mile), Tall Pines (5.6 miles), Revelle's (5.5 miles), Sunset Grill (5.9 miles)

AIRPORT: Duluth International Airport (71.4 miles)


21 reviews
  • Awesome Lake Stay!


    Awesome! We stayed at the cozy cabin last week and had a fantastic time. The cabin is one of the original lake cabins we learned from the locals. The cabin had new furniture and other upgrades. The beds were super comfortable. We were both able to work remote with no internet issues, which was a pleasant surprise. Having a dock for our own use was a nice bonus Vs having to trailer our boat in and out of the lake each day. It was a beautiful scene to sit by the fire at night and listen to the loons. We also enjoyed the many great bars and restaurants on the lake and the proximity to downtown Hayward. We will definitely be coming back next year.



    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published September 17, 2023
  • Quiet stay during the week


    Pros: traditional northern Wisconsin cabin with wifi, microwave and coffee maker. Good fishing. Beautiful sunsets. Lake is quiet even with the fast boats. Great for kayaking. Beds are very comfortable. Everything that we needed for a relaxing cabin stay.Cons: Lake is pretty weedy and I don't recommend swimming in it if you don't like weeds. Beds are doubles so a bit short if you are over 6'.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Karen W.
    Published July 11, 2023
  • Nice!


    It was quite easy.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Norm S.
    Published October 4, 2022
  • Unusable internet and plumbing issues


    Although the property owner was very friendly and responsive, there were simply too many issues with this cabin to make our stay comfortable that we ended up leaving early. Re. internet, the property is actually on a mesh network with a neighboring property rather than having its own router, making the internet completely unreliable. We could not work remotely as we had hoped, and like we've done at other properties on Nelson Lake before. Second are the plumbing issues. The shower leaked and had tile falling off, revealing mold underneath. We also had a leak under the kitchen sink when we first arrived. The host had it promptly fixed, but just spoke to the general state of the cabin. We were expecting more from a "Premier" property.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Jane H.
    Published August 24, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Jane, we're truly sorry to hear that you did not have the five-star experience we endeavor to provide our guests. We have high standards for our property and strive to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable time.
    - We're so sorry that you had to leave early as you could not work remotely. We do not advertise high-speed internet at our small lake property in the north woods. We have been renting this property for three years and this is the first complaint about the Wi-Fi we have had. We will acknowledge that we use a Wi-Fi extender to provide services at our seasonal rental
    - In regards to the plumbing leak, we resolved that immediately so it won't be a concern for future guests
    - Although our listing advertises no pets allowed, we tried to accommodate by allowing you to bring your service dog to the property
    Again, we extend our apologies for any inconvenience. Thank you for sharing about your stay. We do all we can to make the best possible experience, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Home right on Nelson Lake!


    Matt was very accommodating and hospitable during our stay. If there was anything we needed, including having a connection for some firewood, he was very helpful. The home’s interior was recently renovated and all the amenities were available for use, including linens and towels. Overall, a pretty good experience for our trip!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Greg K.
    Published July 29, 2022
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

21 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12