Cabin
4.66

Lakefront Family Escape w/ Views, Dock, & Kayaks!

HaywardWIUS
Sleeps 72 BR1 BA

Description

Cannonball into a memorable weekend by paddling out in provided kayaks, sipping an early morning cup-of-joe on your private dock or exploring downtown Hayward just 7 miles away. This cozy 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom vacation rental sleeps 7 and is the perfect excuse to gather your family and friends for some quality 'R and R' spent unplugged and soaking in the natural beauty of Nelson Lake. Make memories, make a splash, but most importantly don't forget 'life is better at the lake!’

Amenities

  • Kitchen
  • Essentials
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Waterfront
  • Pets Allowed
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Central Heating

Map

Location Details

LAKE AREA: Nelson Lake (private access), public boat launch (1.6 miles), Smith Lake (5.6 miles), Totagatic Flowage (6.7 miles), Phipps Flowage (7.5 miles)

BOAT RENTALS: Park Island Resort (1.1 miles), Nelson Lake Lodge (1.6 miles)

PARKS: Hayward City Beach (7.5 miles), Kissick Alkaline Bog Lake Natural Area (8.6 miles), Birke Ridge Trailhead (13.9 miles)

HIKING/BIKING: Hatchery Creek Trailhead (9.0 miles), Gravel Pit Trailhead (12.9 miles), Highway OO Trailhead (14.7 miles)

RESTAURANTS: Four Seasons (1.3 miles), Coops Pizza (6.3 miles), Hayward Coffee Co (6.7 miles), Angler's Bar and Grill (6.7 miles), Angry Minnow Brewery (7.0 miles), Norske Nook (7.0 miles)

ATTRACTIONS: Tony Wise Museum of the American Birkebeiner (6.7 miles), Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame (7.2 miles), Wilderness Walk Zoo (9.4 miles), Cable Natural History Museum (18.8 miles)

GROCERY/CONVENIENCE STORES: Walmart Supercenter (6.4 miles), Marketplace Foods & Liquor (6.8 miles), Hayward Farmer’s Market - Mondays June-September (6.9 miles)

AIRPORTS: Chippewa Valley Regional Airport (62 miles), Duluth International Airport (81 miles)

Reviews

4.66
35 reviews
  • Relaxing time together

    5/5

    We didn’t have great weather but we’re still able to fish, have a fire, grill, take the dog for a walk or two and head to town for cheese curds. We watched movies, read books and loved the comfort and coziness of the cabin. Lake Nelson is beautiful and the fish were biting! This cabin was just what my family needed to wrapUp our summer.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Joy H.
    Published September 12, 2022
  • Great stay

    5/5

    First time with a VRBO. Seamless check in. Had a small bacon frying incident that set of smoke detector. Propery manager texted to find out if things were okay. Yup. Not used to electric stovetops. Only question is to potability of water. A sign in the property says plates and utensils are not sanitized and gives a recommendation as to how to do this. Unsure if this is a COVID related proceedure, drinking and rinse water, or just a department of health requirement. Either way no issues. Very cool coffee mugs. Very enjoyable albeit too short of a stay.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Dave T.
    Published August 24, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    "From the owner: "The water is potable; it is tested for bacteria by the County Health Services annually, as part of the licensure process. Additionally, the utensil sign is a requirement of the County Health Services and has nothing to do with the specific condition of flatware at the cabin. Thanks, we like our coffee mugs as well; thanks for noticing. Thank you for staying with us."

  • Third annual Dad’s get away with the kids

    5/5

    Everything was nice, neat, and in excellent working condition. Plenty of space for the six of us. Overall, there were no complaints from the kids, but I wish that the grass would of been cut so there could of been a little less mosquitoes.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    John N.
    Published July 20, 2022
  • Memorial Day Getaway

    5/5

    We had a fantastic time at the cabin. It was clean, in a great location, and it was chock full of great activities. Would love to come back in the future!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Maggie R.
    Published June 24, 2022
  • Cute cabin

    3/5

    Cabin has a nice cozy rustic feel. Beautiful view of lake Nelson. Plenty of amenities to cook with, and games, etc to entertain ourselves. Wood fireplace in living room would have been nicer if there was more than 4 sticks of wood. There was also a large ant problem for our stay. Luckily there was ant killer in the cabin, worked a little but not what we were hoping to deal with on our anniversary get away. Other than that, it was a nice stay.

    Michele
    Published March 22, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Michele, we are glad to hear the cabin was nice and cozy for you. We are sorry that you experienced some issues during your stay and wish you had reached out to us while you were there. The owner would like to share the following:
    - The listing does not state that wood is provided for the fireplace. The four sticks of wood that were in the home were left by previous guests and can be purchased in town. We will update the listing to reflect this for future guests.
    - Ants can sometimes be prevalent in the area due to the home being located in the woods. We have since contacted the local pest control and the issue has been resolved.
    Thanks for your valuable feedback as we continue to improve for future guests!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
Booking Details
4.66

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Guests
Select Guests
Adults
0
Children
Ages 2-12
0
Infants
0
Pets
Property ID: 434910
Have a Travel Credit?