Tucked away just off the coast on Long Island is the quaint seaside town of Freeport. This 1-bedroom, 1-bathroom house offers the comforts of home and an ideal location a relaxing weekend away. Spend the day strolling through The Nautical Mile, best known for fresh fish markets, unique boutiques, and famous crab shacks. For some city fun, hop on the Long Island Rail Road stop a mile from the vacation rental, and you’ll be in Manhattan before you know it enjoying the lights of the Big Apple!
LONG ISLAND ATTRACTIONS: The Nautical Mile (0.4 miles), Long Island Children's Museum (9.2 miles), Old Westbury Gardens (12.5 miles), White Post Farms of Melville (20.9 miles), Sagamore Hill National Historic Site (23.9 miles)
TO DO IN NYC: Central Park Zoo (33.4 miles), Empire State Building (34.6 miles), Bryant Park (34.7 miles), Madame Tussauds New York (35.2 miles), Rockefeller Center (35.2 miles), One World Observatory (38.5 miles), World Trade Center Memorial (45.2 miles)
OPT OUTSIDE: Milburn Creek Park (1.8 miles), Merrick Golf Course (2.7 miles), Norman J. Levy Park & Preserve (2.9 miles), Hempstead Lake State Park (6.6 miles), Valley Stream State Park (8.3 miles), Jones Beach State Park (8.7 miles), Eisenhower Park (9.3 miles), Rockaway Beach (15.7 miles), Robert Moses State Park (23.4 miles), Fire Island National Seashore (32.7 miles)
BREWERIES: BrewSA Brewing Company (0.4 miles), Barrier Brewing Co. (4.8 miles), South Shore Craft Brewery (5.4 miles), Barnshed Brewing (12.2 miles)
AIRPORT: John F. Kennedy International Airport (13.3 miles)
The check in process did not go as outlined in the email sent to me before my stay. It said I would receive the code for check in at 3pm but by 5pm when we got to the property we still hadn’t heard from the host. I had sent a text to the provided number around 4:30pm informing her of who I was and asking for the code but received no response. I called once we arrived and was finally able to speak to her, where she directed how to get to the entrance and the code. We struggled to find the entrance for sometime before eventually figuring it out.While the property was clean, there was no dish soap or even hand soap. We had to purchase our own that day while out. The bed had one thin, light sheet for covers and that was it. Our first night the host had people over for a get together that we could in its entirety from below. The following night we were able to hear someone on the other side of a restricted door arguing and yelling over the phone for about an hour. Overall, the location was great but the experience was lackluster. I wouldn’t book with this location again.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Hi Camila, we’re sorry your stay fell short of expectations. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
- Our records show your call regarding the keycode coming through around 12:30 pm, at which point we were happy to grant an early check-in and direct you on how to enter the home.
- We don't advertise providing dish or hand soap for guests and apologize if this caught you off-guard.
- Our listing does alert guests that we live on property as well but respect our guest's privacy and never interfere with their stays unless asked. We apologize if there was excess noise during your trip and we appreciate this feedback.
We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.
Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.
Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.