'The Country Cottage’ in Union Mills w/ Porch!

Property ID: 452310Union MillsNCUS
Sleeps 42 BR1 BA


Immerse yourself in a relaxing Union Mills getaway when you book a stay at this charming 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom vacation rental! Boasting at-home comforts, a Smart TV, and cozy-yet-chic furnishings, this cottage is sure to make you feel right at home. Spend your day relaxing on the screened-in porch or relaxing on the furnished deck. If you’re looking for some outdoor adventure, head over to Big Camp Creek or Chimney Rock State Park to explore the surrounding natural beauty!


  • Essentials
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Self Check-In
  • Deck
  • Central Heating
  • Kitchen


Location Details

OUTDOOR ADVENTURE: Big Camp Creek (4.9 miles), Lake Lure (19.0 miles), Tryon International Equestrian Center (20.0 miles), Chimney Rock State Park (23.4 miles), Hickory Nut Falls (23.9 miles), Lake James (27.5 miles), South Mountain State Park (36.8 miles), High Shoals Falls (39.1 miles), Craggy Gardens (59.0 miles)

HISTORY & MUSEUMS: Thermal City Gold & Gem Mine (3.2 miles), The Bechtler House (8.4 miles), ​KidSense Children's Interactive Museum (8.7 miles)

ASHEVILLE (~45.0 miles): Biltmore Estates, Historic Biltmore Village, Blue Ridge Parkway Visitor Center, River Arts District, Attic Salt Theater Company

AIRPORT: Charlotte Douglas International Airport (72.8 miles)


7 reviews
  • Country Gem


    This will be my second review as I reserved on VRBO and did one there.

    I can’t say enough about this cabin. We loved the decor and and the way you felt right at home when you walked in. The owner is always readily available, and one of the friendliest people I’ve met. The cabin literally has everything you need. I only had to bring my soap and shampoo. Grocery stores are close and a Dollar General 2 minutes away. We went to do some gold prospecting at Thermal City Gold mine, sight seeing at Lake Lure and Chimney Rock Park and Mount Mitchell. So convenient to all. Lastly and most important, you can’t beat the pricing! We’ll be back for sure!

    Published June 6, 2023
  • Eclectic cabin


    Clean, nice decor. The only thing I would add is ceiling fans or floor fans. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Published May 24, 2023
  • Inaccurate information


    I have a lot to say about my stay in this place but I will only refer to the most important in my opinion:CONS:1) The owner does not comply with the "no smoking" policy as described in the amenities. I chose this place because the policy says "no smoking". I don't smoke and it bothers me a lot to smell cigarette smoke. The porch is completely impregnated with the smell of cigarettes. My daughter and I were not able to enjoy the porch. To say that it is a non-smoking place is false advertising.2) The bed (masterbroom) is high and the mattress is hard. The pillowcases (master and guest bedrooms) appear to have not been washed. It does not smell good. It smells like grease. Having clean sheets and appropriate mattresses is the best thing any lodging should have.3) I had to put the large rug in the main bedroom between the kitchen and the living room because my daughter and I stumbled several times on a gap between the two rooms, thus avoiding any regrettable accident.4) Outside in the parking lot it is very dark. Lights should be put up so that no one can trip at night. This is a real drawback. Without light, anyone can slip down the stairs and have an accident.PROS:1) Good location.2) Nice place, very good decoration.3) Clean.4) The mattress of the guest bed is very soft, I really liked it.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Maribel S.
    Published January 24, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Owner's response: "Maribel, we want all of our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we're sorry that you experienced some issues during your trip.
    - Thank you for the pros that you mention, the location, decor, cleanliness, and mattress in the guest bedroom, we're glad that you enjoyed a few things
    - We wish you had brought these items to our attention while you were in the home, we would have been happy to see what we could have resolved to make the list of Pros much longer. We are available for all our guest's needs and we would have done what we could to help or make your entire stay satisfactory
    - This property is listed as a no-smoking property, but we can't watch each guest to ensure that they follow the rules and there will be people who smoke. We have never had any complaints about the smell of smoke on or inside the property - This is not false advertising we just can't control each guest at all times
    - While we try to accommodate all guests' comfort, we're sorry the mattress didn't meet your preferences. We have a method to try and please all our guests by providing a soft bed and a not-so-soft bed so that our guests have a choice, we also do the same with the pillows providing 6 pillows with each set offering a different filling type.
    - The smell of grease was from the guests before you and we cleaned and sprayed air freshener as well as air out the house we thought it was taken care of, we're sorry for the inconvenience
    - The height between the living/kitchen area is 1/2 inch or less, we have never had anyone trip or fall and are glad that you pulled the rug to keep yourselves from tripping
    - We have porch lights on the front and back porches that I leave on for all our guests. We also have a flashlight on the house keychain. The back entrance has led lights and solar lights to illuminate the path to the house. The front porch light illuminates the entire porch, steps, and front parking area

    We truly go above and beyond for our guests, and we are confident that future guests will have excellent stays! We will continue to deliver the 5-star experiences we are known for."

  • Served our purpose


    Went to NC to leaf peep. The location worked out because we were chasing foliage. This place is tiny! It worked for our family of four but breakfast was a challenge due to lack of counter space/seating. You are also expected to tidy up at checkout; put towels in washer and remove sheets from beds even though there is a cleaning fee. Price was reasonable otherwise

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Marisol W.
    Published November 22, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Marisol, thanks for letting us know about your stay. The homeowner wanted to address the items that you mentioned:
    -The home is professionally photographed to ensure that it is accurately depicted in the listing photos and our listing was exactly as shown in the pictures you relied upon for your booking. The listing description states the cottage is a 684sq ft. home with 2 bedrooms. We understand that property size is subjective and we are sorry it was not what you expected
    -The check-out requirements in the Welcome book are standard within the vacation rental industry, but we're sorry if you were surprised by these. Additionally, our cleaning fee is based on the cleaning rates for this area. We take a lot of pride in doing our research to ensure we are providing fair rates and fees while balancing a clean and comfortable stay for our guests
    We're sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. We take pride in the high standard of our home and we pride ourselves on a great guest experience!

  • Great Getaway!


    I loved the cleanliness of the property and how small and quaint it was. It is located close to Rutherfordton and Forest City. While the owners live on the property-we never saw them-they give you privacy. The home was stocked with everything you would need. The only thing I would suggest is designated parking-we were confused about where to park....and more lighting at the back-especially the walkway. Thankfully I used my phoneś flashlight!!! A firepit would be nice too!!! I would definitely not hesitate to return to this property!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Hannah N.
    Published November 1, 2022
  • 1
  • 2
7 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12