Rome City Lake House w/ Dock + Waterfront Views!

Property ID: 515836Rome CityINUS
Sleeps 123 BR2 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Heartfelt memories of days under the sun and on the water begin at this Rome City vacation rental! Nestled on the shores of Sylvan Lake, this 3-bed + bonus room, 2-bath home is the quintessential Indiana lake house. Here, you can start each day by launching a kayak from the on-site dock, and end each evening easing sore muscles in the private hot tub. In between, exchange stories and s'mores around the fire pit, cook up your favorites on the patio's gas grill, and soak up the waterfront views.


  • Waterfront
  • Self Check-In
  • Private Hot Tub
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Washer
  • Laptop Friendly
  • Kitchen
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV


Location Details

ATTRACTIONS: Gene Stratton-Porter State Historic Site (1 mile), Sylvan Cellars Event Center & Tasting Room (2 miles), Mid-America Windmill Museum (9 miles), Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (11 miles), Maple Lane Wildlife Farm (15 miles)

PARKS & REC: Kelly Park (1 mile), Lakeside Park (1 mile), Sycamore Park (2 miles), Grant Park (2 miles), Dallas Lake Park (8 miles), Delt Church Park (10 miles)

GOLF COURSES: Cobblestone Golf Course (5 miles), Kendallville Golf Course (8 miles), Noble Hawk Golf Links (12 miles)

AIRPORT: Fort Wayne International Airport (44 miles)


1 review
  • Dirty BBQ Grill & Hot tub


    The 4 parking spaces up top that belonged to the house were filled with cars from people renting the house next door. Had to park down the drive by the side door.

    Walking into the house there was an OVERWHELMING smell of gas & sulfer. Opened windows to air it out but the smell never went away.

    The set up of the house was really cute with a nice living space downstairs. It was hot upstairs in the bedrooms even with the air set to 66 so we slept downstairs on the couch.

    Hot tub was cloudy w/ bugs in it & no skimmer to clean it so we couldn't use it.

    When I took the cover off the BBQ grill it was filled w/spiders, webs, bugs, grease & rust. Propane tank was empty. Reached out the PM & was told she was sending someone out to clean it. No one ever came out so we did not get to BBQ on Friday.

    Saturday the PM daughter came to clean the hot tub but had no skimmer and couldn't get the lid off the filter so it never got cleaned & couldn't be used.

    She dusted the spider webs off the grill & replaced the propane tank but didn't clean the grates because she had nothing to clean them with. Called PM back about the grill because it is a holiday weekend and we bought food to grill. She gave us the owners number to reach out to him directly.

    When we called the owner & complained about the grill, he sarcastically asked if the stove in the house worked! I guess he expected the women to stay in the kitchen to cook. Spent 45 min cleaning the grates so we could use the grill. Unhappy!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published June 3, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Vanessa, we're sorry to hear your stay fell short of expectations. After reading your feedback, the homeowner wanted to share the following:
    - We were unaware that our private parking spaces were being used by guests from the neighboring property. We'll be reaching out to that owner to ensure that their guests park elsewhere in the future. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
    - Regarding the gas/sulfur odor, we've never experienced this issue before at our house. It's possible that if the water hasn't been used for a while, it may have a slight sulfur smell due to the well water system. However, we'll ensure that the water is routinely run to prevent this from happening.
    - We made sure that the hot tub was clean before your arrival, but the cover may have become dirty due to a recent storm. Nevertheless, we have since changed the water and thoroughly cleaned the hot tub to ensure it meets our guests' standards.
    - We've purchased a brand new grill to leave at the house after discovering that the previous one was in bad shape. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you, and we assure you that the new grill is in perfect working condition.
    - The reason why we asked about the stove is because we understood you mentioned that both the grill and the stove were not working. We apologize if this caused any confusion.
    Thank you for your review. We're committed to providing a better experience for all our guests.

  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

Add dates for prices
1 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 12 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12