Ocean-View La Jolla Studio: Walk to Beaches!

Property ID: 497551La JollaCAUS
Sleeps 20 BR1 BA


Whether you’re looking for multi-unit vacation rentals for the whole crew or a quiet place to unwind and enjoy the coast, this La Jolla vacation rental has you covered. This 1-bathroom studio boasts convenient features like step-free access and a roll-in shower, a patio space with ocean views, and a location that puts you close to all of the action! Walk down to Shell Beach, shop and visit Sunny Jim’s Cave at the Cave Store, or head out to explore all of the San Diego area’s hotspots.


  • Kitchen
  • Near Ocean
  • Oceanfront
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Self Check-In


Location Details

BEACHES: La Jolla Cove (102 feet), Shell Beach (157 feet), Children’s Pool La Jolla (0.3 miles)

LA JOLLA: The Cave Store (0.4 miles), Birch Aquarium at Scripps Institution of Oceanography (3 miles), University of California San Diego (4 miles)

SAN DIEGO HOTSPOTS: Mission Beach (6 miles), Downtown San Diego (13 miles), Balboa Park (13 miles)

AIRPORT: San Diego International Airport (13 miles)


2 reviews


    I'm a disabled senior in a power wheelchair with MS and limited mobility. I called in advance to inquire about the beach accessibility in the ad. The property owner said that the beach access stairs across the street were recently repaired, and I'd have no issues, and if I did have any, he'd issue a full refund and I could still stay for the full stay as I was also visiting my kids and grandson. His kindness and assurance convinced me to book this property, and I was so looking forward to a couple of days relaxing on the beach and a day with family, escaping a few days from doctors.

    Upon arrival, construction was still underway. A construction wall was the only view and the beach access was closed! In the morning, I awoke to construction noises right outside the window. I called the owner and he was sorry, he thought work was done, and again promised a refund, but only a partial to recoup cleaning costs which I was happy with since he agreed to let me stay (he knew I was also spending time with my grandson). The next morning, he sent a text that he wouldn't refund anything, and instead offered a discount for a future stay. After being lied to, why would I want to return? I was foolish to believe him and Evolve did nothing to help. I did not have the relaxing beach vacation that I paid for. Additionally, the "no step" access advertised was untrue. A 4" threshold at the front door made it impossible to enter and exit the property without getting out of the wheelchair and manually lifting it each time. Shame on the owner and on Evolve for the deception and lack of customer support!

    If you're thinking about staying here, please consider this lesson that I learned the hard way. Don't throw away your hard earned money.

    Published July 2, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Marla, we want our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we apologize you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    - The construction by the city of La Jolla was scheduled to be completed before your arrival; unfortunately, there was a delay, and we were unaware of this until you arrived.
    - Regarding the refund, we did offer to refund you for the remaining days of your stay if you chose to check out early. However, you opted to stay for the entire duration of your reservation.
    - We acknowledge the miscommunication about the beach access and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the ongoing construction and the accessibility issue at the front door.
    Thank you for your insight, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

  • 5/5

    Great place, very intimate and a stone’s throw to the beach!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published August 29, 2023
  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

2 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 2 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12