With the largest freshwater lake in the world just steps away and countless outdoor activities at your fingertips, you may never want to leave this 2-bedroom, 2-bath vacation rental! Boasting an unbeatable location, an updated interior, and gorgeous views of Lake Superior, this apartment is the perfect place to kick off your upcoming adventure to the Washburn and Bayfield areas. Spend your days exploring Apostle Islands National Lakeshore before returning to this beautiful lakeside retreat.
WATERFRONT ADVENTURES: Lake Superior (on-site), Washburn Marina (3 miles), Friendly Valley Beach (4 miles), Onion River Public Access (6 miles), Apostle Islands Marina (11 miles), Apostle Islands National Lakeshore (12 miles), Madeline Island Ferry (12 miles), Roy's Point Marina (14 miles)
EMBRACE NATURE: Houghton Falls Nature Preserve (on-site), Big Bay State Park (20 miles)
MUST-SEE ATTRACTIONS: Big Top Chautauqua - Concert Venue (10 miles), Mt Ashwabay Ski and Recreation Area (10 miles), LaPointe Lighthouse (17 miles), Apostle Islands National Lakeshore Mainland Sea Caves (23 miles), American Birkebeiner Trailhead (49 miles)
AIRPORTS: Gogebic - Iron County Airport (56 miles), Duluth International Airport (82 miles)
Amazing place to stay! Great views and wonderful place to stay! Steps right down to the water, great firepit with kindling and everything ready for you and chairs overlooking Lake Superior. Really recommend this place to stay. Park down the hill on the tile driveway to below (no directions mentioning this until you check in and read their visit book).
This property is just beautiful. The location overlooks Lake Superior and connects to a trail leading to a waterfall/nature preserve/cliff jumping area. (10-15 minute wooded walk from the home). We swam both at the property and at the preserve but it requires effort to climb in and out. No problem for teenagers or athletic adults but not little children.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
We had a wonderful stay at this stunning property. Everything about the home is well appointed and thought out. It is the lower level of the main house, but still feels very spacious. Lots of windows facing the lake and beautiful accommodations. We had four teenagers with us and enjoyed getting in the lake right on the property. This entry point is not for the faint of heart. It required effort to get in and out that only teenagers or athletic adults could probably do safely. That being said, once you were in the water was comfortable, with steps, and lots of sand. The red cliffs all around you were well worth the effort. Definitely a highlight. In addition, this property is about a mile from Houghton Falls, which is a nature preserve well worth checking out. Beautiful trails that lead to scenic cliffs that the teenagers enjoyed jumping from (with caution). The drive into Bayfield is an easy 15 minutes straight down the road. We were very fortunate that the weather was in the 90s during our stay but even in the autumn, this property would be stunning.
The only thing I would put on the wish list would be a proper (safe) entry point into the lake. That being said, I was not expecting to get into the water during our visit. We just happened to be spoiled with incredible weather during our stay.
The home is clean, nicely decorated, and has everything you could need. Including what I thought I didn’t need, a massage chair. After days of adventure, it was nice to come back to a massage. My family and I had a wonderful time.
The outdoors is gorgeous with the lake a few steps from the front door. There’s so much to do in the area as well. I could have stayed here much longer.
would definitely come back!
Was a nice property and location, but be warned that if the owner is home in the above living area it's like staying in a cheap hotel with thin walls. Was not relaxing with someone walking around above you. The heating system was also loud, it snapped, tapped, and ticked in the ceiling the entire time. Also the plumbing is exposed in the smaller bedroom so it's a loud gush of water just a few feet from your head when they use the upstairs bathroom... which they did several times during the night. If you do rentals to have some measure of privacy and peace, then this isn't the place.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Hi Denise, we're glad you enjoyed the location but we're sorry certain aspects fell short of expectations. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
-We try our best to provide a great environment for guests, while we cannot control the proximity of neighbors or other residents we are sorry if this made your stay less relaxing. We had not received a complaint about this yet, but we understand how this could have a negative impact on a guest's stay
-We strive to make our house as comfortable as possible for our guests, and we apologize for the issue you were having with the plumbing. We'd like to clarify, the only exposed plumbing is a clean-out port on the floor. We have never had any issues with safety issues or water leaks in the home
-The heat does work well, we are sorry you had issues with the heat making noise. The home has hot water heating and the popping noise is due to sediment buildup which is a normal occurrence in hot water heaters, we're sorry this impacted your stay
We are sorry you weren’t completely satisfied and we do all we can to make the best possible stay. We have had such positive reviews in the past. We work very hard to ensure all guests arrive at a 5-star experience at our vacation home and we're confident that we will continue to do so moving forward!
Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.
Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.