Rustic Hayward Cabin With Spider Lake Access!

Property ID: 432931HaywardWIUS
Sleeps 31 BR1 BA


Get away from it all at this 1-bedroom, 1-bathroom Hayward vacation rental cabin nestled on the shores of Spider Lake. Spend an afternoon reeling in a Bass or swimming and sunbathing on the shared dock. Head into downtown Hayward to grab a slice at a local hotspot like Coop's Pizza, sipping a local vintage at Out of the Woods Winery, or stroll the exhibits of the Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame. Back at home, cozy up in the cabin or gather around the campfire to share s'mores!


  • Kitchen
  • Free Parking


Location Details

OUTDOOR RECREATION: Spider Lake (on site), Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest (26.5 miles), Copper Falls State Park (44.5 miles)

ATTRACTIONS: Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame (14.7 miles), Glensheen Estate (91.3 miles), Great Lakes Aquarium (88.1 miles), Sevenwinds Casino (11.0 miles), Out of the Woods Winery (14.6 miles)

RESTAURANTS: Coop’s Pizza (14.3 miles), Angler’s Bar and Grill (14.5 miles), Norske Nook (14.8 miles), Blackiron Bar and Grill (3.4 miles), Main Street Tacos (14.5 miles)

AIRPORT: Duluth International Airport (94.1 miles)


6 reviews
  • Very rustic


    The cabin is small and rustic with no A/C as described on the website. My 2 problems with it were: 1. There seem to be a lot of small cracks/holes in the walls that made it impossible to keep completely bugs out and 2. There were tons of cobwebs stuck to the outside of the building that make it look a little creepy. Neither are deal breakers, but something renters should be aware of. The beds are cozy and the location/lake are very nice.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published July 18, 2023
  • Renters Beware


    Inaccurate description of cabin and property. The pictures do not reflect the condition of the cabin. The screen door is ready to fall off and there is lack of light outside the door that is an accident waiting to happen at night. It is not located on the water nor is there access to the water. Cabin is uninsulated and cold air comes in through cracks in the wood, which are visible. There are dead bugs, cobwebs and droppings everywhere! The furnace is broken. No heat except one plug-in radiator for the entire cabin, which left the cabin freezing! You only have 90 seconds of hot water in a shower that is dirty with a disgusting rust stained and broken shower head that sprays more water outside the shower than it does in it. Extra fees are charged at the end for services that are clearly not being rendered. After speaking to neighbors I was informed I was not the first renter who raised these concerns about the cabin. Please look elsewhere before renting this cabin. The only good things about the cabin are that the area was nice and quiet with respectful renters and owners and the fridge was larger than expected given the size of the cabin.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Sam F.
    Published October 19, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Sam, we want guests to find the perfect vacation rental for their stay so we take the accuracy of our properties seriously! Since this is a three seasons cabin without a furnace installed, we don't market heat as an amenity in the listing - however, we do want to let you know that your stay was the last one until the temperatures warm back up. We've passed your feedback to the owners who would like to share the following:
    -We've been experiencing difficulties finding a contractor who will replace the screen door but will double down on our efforts based on your feedback
    -While the lighting has not been brought to our attention in the past, we will be looking into this going forward
    -The shower head has been replaced
    -Our home does have access to the lake, and we wish you would have reached out during your stay so we could confirm that
    -While this cabin is in the woods, bugs can be prevalent in the area and occasionally enter if the doors are left open.
    -We have a professional cleaning crew clean between each guest's stay and have shared your feedback with them
    Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We’d love the chance to provide you with a truly 5-star travel experience, so please let us know if there’s anything we can do to help the next time that you book a vacation rental!

  • 5/5

    I stayed up here for my 22’ bear season. This cabin was perfect for my extended weekend. Well shaded, windows open, and life is good.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published October 4, 2022
  • Wee Too experience


    Our stay at the Wee Too cabin, on Spider Lake, was extremely unpleasant! We were so looking forward to a relaxing visit at this small rustic cabin enabling us to visit friends & relatives in the area. Unfortunately, the cabin was unclean & smelled of a foul stench!!!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Beth M.
    Published August 30, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Beth, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    -This is our first complaint regarding the cabin's cleanliness. We collaborated with our cleaning partner, and they report they cleaned the cabin as they always do.
    -The smell could be the well water, but our cleaning partner reports the smell wasn't any different than normal. We also had friends stay at the cabin after you and they didn't report any concerns.
    -We communicated with you after your stay about your concerns and appreciate your feedback.

  • Agnieszka G


    Very small place

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Agnieszka G
    Published August 4, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Agnieszka, thank you for your review and we shared it with the homeowner. They'd like to say they know the property isn't large, but the listing accurately displays the property so guests know what to expect in regards to size, bedroom configuration, etc. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

  • 1
  • 2

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

6 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 3 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12