Historic Twisp Cottage - Mountain & River View!

Property ID: 409144TwispWAUS
Sleeps 21 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Framed by mountain views, this idyllic Washington vacation rental cottage is the perfect getaway for your party of 2, with 1 bedroom and 1 bathroom. With a lovely garden and wildlife, ducks, and chickens roaming the secluded property, this charming studio cottage is walking distance from downtown Twisp. Grab a snack at the farmers market before going hiking or skiing and finish up with dinner in town. At the end of the day relax by the property's fire pit and watch the sunset over the river!


  • Pets Allowed
  • Kitchen
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Central Heating
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Central Air Conditioning


Location Details

Nestled in the heart of Methow Valley, the charming town of Twisp is marked by the convergence of the Methow and Twisp rivers. This charming town is a year-round vacation spot with outdoor activities for every season.

Sun Mountain Lodge is only 20 minutes from the property where you can ski your heart out. If you've been wanting to try your hand at cross-country skiing, now is your chance with hundreds of miles of backcountry just 5 miles from the home. Don't miss the Loup Loup Ski Bowl for skiing and snowboarding, just 15 minutes away!

Warmer months can be filled mountain biking, horseback riding, and hiking through seemingly endless miles of trails through Okanogan-Wenatchee National Forest and North Cascades National Park. Go backpacking, rock climbing, and more! You can go kayaking, fishing, and rafting along the Methow and Twisp Rivers.

With downtown Twisp within walking distance, you’ll be able to stroll through town to check out the local galleries before stopping at the farmer’s market for fresh produce. Be sure to include the Confluence Gallery and Art Center in your tour!

Finish a day of exploring the mountains, skiing the countryside, or viewing local art with a delightful dinner at one of the many local Twisp restaurants.


15 reviews
  • Unsafe for all


    Electrical/heating was very unsafe. Touch a space heater and get burned. Multiple plug ins in one plug in spot that's clearly not meant for that capacity for electrical safety. Giant stack of garbage that's fully visual driving up and walking around the property. Very distasteful Halloween decorations. “Walk� to the river is a joke. It's not a short or quick walk. Not sure where the Mountain View and river view come into play either.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Jessica M.
    Published November 12, 2019
    Manager's Response:

    Jessica, we're sorry to hear of the concerns you encountered while staying at this cottage. Evolve takes the safety of our properties very seriously, it's one of our 4 Core Property Standards. We talked with the homeowner who wants to assure you and future travelers that the heaters is one of the safest on the market. Additionally, the cords are provided for their guests' technology needs. The owner also apologizes that the Halloween decorations weren't to your liking as they were just trying to provide a fun atmosphere given the recent holiday. We wish you luck in your future travels! Best, the Evolve Team

  • Disappointed!


    Our hostess Monica was very helpful with answering our questions before our arrival. She was quick to rectify a few problems we encountered on the first day, however, she was unavailable when we tried to reach her one afternoon. She did not respond until the next morning which as too late. In our opinion she does not have the ability to provide a safe and peaceful environment for guests. This VRBO should be evaluated for safety.We have a lengthy list of mishaps that kept popping up during our entire four day stay:On the first evening in the middle of the night a large piece of art painted on a on a heavy board slid off the wall and nearly hit my roommate in the head while sleeping. We discovered the picture was attached to the textured wall with two sided tape. The following day another picture was found on the floor having been attached in the same way.The stove burners had not been cleaned and caught on fire.Stored bed linens reeked of cedar and mothballsRefrigerator was extremely noisy thru night, unusual noises, grinding, humming and squeakingToaster did not work (hostess replaced immediately)Kitchen was not adequately cleaned; counters, some dishes, pans, utensils were sticky and dirty. Almost all dishware provided could not be used in a microwave making this appliance uselessOnly one dishtowel was provided to a four day stayThere were two salt shakers, however, they were both emptyMuch of the furniture was wobbly or broken, sleeper sofa foot was not connected, table too rickety to put a lamp onFrequently toilet would not completely flush, the lever had to be held down for 30 plus seconds for the bowl to empty completely but this did not always work eitherOnly one bath towel supplied for each guest for a four night stay (clean towels should be available when there is no laundry)Bathroom sink taps were opposite: Hot on right, cold on leftTypical bathroom supplies such as soap, shampoo, hairdryer were not suppliedPorch of cottage was filthy and unswept covered in dirt and leaves (not a welcome place to sit or relax)Stray cats and dogs wandering in yard and trying to get into cottage every time the door was openedPathway from driveway was pea gravel which lodged inside suitcase wheels and ruined themYard was overloaded with Halloween 'decorations' that were not appropriate: severed hands, hanging dead brides, skeletons on all the lawnchairs (one on a bicycle) and ghosts that moaned all night.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    lori h.
    Published October 9, 2019
    Manager's Response:

    Lori, the homeowner would like to pass along the following message:

    "I'm sorry you had such a horrible experience at my cottage. It's truly my desire that my guests have a positive experience while staying at Painters, so I want to thank you for your suggestions and assure you that your concerns are taken seriously. And, I want to apologize that the paintings fell from the wall. I'm very glad that you were not hurt. I'm also sorry my Halloween decorations we're out during your stay. I appreciate your suggestions and will make improvements where I can." Best, the Evolve Team

  • quiet refuge


    A quiet mountainside cottage with views of peaks from the shaded garden,and hiking trails, rock-climbing areas, good bakeries, a health-food storeand coffee shops not far away. Artistic and quirky, like the town of Twispitself. I would have happily stayed much longer, if I'd had more time offwork.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Katherine I.
    Published September 25, 2019
  • Over Priced


    Not as represented . No air conditioning. Planned to cook in but no pots & pans. Nice location. Good wifi. Comfortable.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Larry L.
    Published August 29, 2019
    Manager's Response:

    The homeowner would like to pass along the following message:

    "Larry, I'm so sorry you weren't happy at Painters Cottage. You are correct that there wasn't an air conditioner in the unit when you arrived. It had been so cool most of the summer, and we're in the trees that provide cool shade, too. Anyway, I am sorry you had to ask for it, but I happy I was able to bring it over promptly. Also, I'm not sure what pots and pans you needed that weren't there. I have two sizes of pots with glass lids and four sizes of pans. I also have baking dishes. I would love to hear what I need to add to make it more convenient for guests, as I want them to enjoy cooking if they choose. Sincerely, Monica"

    Best, the Evolve Team

  • Cute Cottage


    My daughter stayed there and she said the owners where very kind and helpful. Nice little place to stay at while exploring the area with friends.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Jennifer P.
    Published August 21, 2019
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

15 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 2 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12