House
4.14

Massanutten Retreat w/ Double Deck & Mtn View!

Property ID: 444262McGaheysvilleVAUS
Sleeps 83 BR3 BA

Description

Located within Massanutten Resort, this vacation rental is the ideal starting point for a family getaway! Check-in to this 3-bedroom, 3-bathroom house, complete with a full kitchen and 2 living rooms for cozy evenings in! Ski, golf, or go-kart the day away in Massanutten or escape to Harrisonburg for shopping and local food. You'll only be 11 miles from Shenandoah National Park where you can hike, bike, and enjoy the beauty of nature! A relaxing vacation awaits!

Amenities

  • Central Heating
  • Essentials
  • Kitchen
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Central Air Conditioning

Map

Location Details

MASSANUTTEN: Massanutten Indoor Waterpark (0.9 miles), Massanutten Resort (1.7 miles), Massanutten River Adventures (1.7 miles), Woodstone Meadows Golf Course (2.3 miles), Family Adventure Park (3.9 miles), Massanutten Go Karts (4.0 miles), Massanutten Ski Lodge (4.1 miles), Mountain Greens Golf Course (4.2 miles)

OUTDOOR FUN: Massanutten Overlook (6.5 miles), Massanutten Ridge Trail (6.5 miles), Shenandoah National Park (11.7 miles), George Washington National Forest (39.6 miles)

EAT + DRINK: Roost (0.5 miles), The Rugged Cup (0.5 miles), Massanutten Fun Factory (0.5 miles), Log Cabin Barbecue (0.7 miles), Thunderbird Cafe (2.0 miles), The Dog Shack (2.3 miles), Base Camp (4.1 miles), Campfire Grill (4.2 miles)

NEARBY TOWNS: McGaheysville (2.4 miles), Shenandoah (9.3 miles), Harrisonburg (12.6 miles)

AIRPORT: Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport (35.3 miles)

Reviews

4.14
14 reviews
  • Family Friendly "Dog House"

    5/5

    This house was perfect for our family of 8! The property manager was easy to communicate with and very accommodating. We especially liked the dog themed rooms, hence it being called the Dog House.

    The advertisement was not kidding about the steep driveway though, and lots of stairs to climb. But we would definitely rent it again.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Annette
    Published January 12, 2024
  • The Property Stunk

    1/5

    Online photos are not accurate. As soon as you walk into this property is smells of cigarette smoke and water damage. My son who has asthma could not stay here. So we contacted the homeowners within 5 minutes of checking in. They blamed the small on the prior occupants who must not have followed rules...the smoke smell perhaps was other occupants but the water damage smell is likely a long time presence. They of course did not offer me my money back. Asked for my Venmo to buy my son an ice cream. I will not use VRBO again after this experience.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Tina
    Published November 21, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Tina, we want our guests to arrive at a vacation home that is 100% ready for their stay, so we take the cleanliness of our properties seriously! We followed up with the owner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    - Unfortunately, the previous guests broke the house rules and left the home in unsatisfactory conditions. We're truly sorry that this negatively impacted your stay.
    - Regarding the water smell, neither we nor the cleaning team detected any odors either before or after your stay. We'll be sure to inspect the home and address any issues if necessary.
    Thanks for your valuable feedback as we continue to improve for future guests!

  • My sleeping space and environment

    2/5

    My stay wasn’t what I expected the entire house smelled really really really bad like there was about twenty dogs 🐕 living there at one point we had to go out and buy some cleaning stuff dog hair everywhere we didn’t use the kids room it was really smelly the bathrooms were dirty rugs smells like dogs vacuum when I turned it on it put off a really bad odor so we had to buy more air freshener and scented candles the trash cans were in bad condition shower curtain was dirty we we didn’t use nothing of his stuff we bought Clorox wipes we sanitized everything in the house I suggest not putting this house on Massanutten website cause I stayed in Massanutten and where I stayed it was really nice and beautiful I regret staying in someone else’s house put I know this now I took pictures of the property 🐜 bugs know clean when I see it overall I enjoyed my family time with my grandkids and daughters and friends.the owner did give us a $100 gift card for pizza and gave us a late check out but we was out of there way before our time we left at 7:00 couldn’t stay that smell anymore

    Aretha
    Published June 29, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Aretha, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    - We aim to provide a great guest experience, so we were disappointed to hear your feedback. Regarding the dog smell, our property is strictly advertised as "no pets allowed," and we were unaware of this issue during your stay. If you had informed us, we would have promptly addressed it. Rest assured, we take such matters seriously and have not received this complaint before. Your comfort is our top priority, and we would have taken immediate action to resolve the situation. If you have any other concerns or plan to stay with us again, please feel free to communicate your needs. We want to ensure your stay meets your expectations.
    - Regarding the stink bug incident, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the gap between rentals due to recent upgrades. Typically, we conduct a final inspection before check-in, but we couldn't in this instance. We appreciate your feedback, and we will work closely with our cleaning company to ensure better conditions going forward.
    We thank you for reaching out during your stay to share your concerns. To show our goodwill, we hope your family enjoyed the complimentary dinner we provided. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your experience, please don't hesitate to let us know. Your satisfaction is essential to us.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Sweet Home

    4/5

    We would stay here again. The driveway was a challenge as others have mentioned, but we were thankful for a backup cam to get out! The house was clean and comfortable. We were disappointed to find the oven was very dirty and covered with burnt food on foil from the previous guest. We turned to the gas grill, and it was equally grungy. We made do and bought/cooked in foil on the outdoor grill. There were no grilling utensils or brushes to clean the grill ourselves. This home is comfortable for adults but can be a challenge if you have anyone with mobility issues, or really young children. The upper porch railings are a safety issue, but fine if you are aware and monitor the littles. Overall a lovely house and comfortable stay.

    K&MDroz
    Published May 16, 2023
  • skyline

    4/5

    this place accomodated our family of 8 quite well as we spent a few days touring skyline drive

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    John S.
    Published November 22, 2022
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.

4.14
14 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Guests
Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 8 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Adults
0
Children
Ages 2-12
0
Infants
0