Chincoteague Townhome w/ Pony Views from Deck!

Property ID: 411575Chincoteague IslandVAUS
Sleeps 62 BR1.5 BA


Let your worries float away in the bay as you relax at this 2-bedroom, 1.5-bath vacation rental home! This space is an equine dream with direct views of the wild horses on Assateague Island - a view that takes your breath away. If you're not here for the annual Pony Swim, you'll find Chincoteague Island brimming with activities; from fishing to crabbing, heritage tours, horseback riding and more. You'll soon see why it's so easy to fall in love with a little island like this!


  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Kitchen
  • Near Ocean
  • Washer
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Central Heating
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Central Air Conditioning


Location Details

Chincoteague Island is a pony paradise, where wild horses serve as your nearby neighbors! Hop on a boat tour with the Assateague Explorer to get an up-close view of the Assateague horses, or visit in July to watch the famous Pony Swim, in which the wild horses swim across the bay for Pony Penning - an annual tradition that can't be missed!

The best way to explore the bay is with a tour from one of the wise locals. Join a fishing excursion with Island Queen Inland Charters, ride horseback with Chincoteague Pony Centre, or take a tour of your own as you visit the Captain Timothy Hill House and Museum of Chincoteague Island.

Of course, you can't go to the east coast without visiting the beach! This property sits just a short walk away from the sandy shores, where you can sunbathe and swim the days away. Bring your boat along to launch at the Veteran's Memorial Park less than a half-mile away!

Enjoy a breakfast out at Mr. Baldy's, just a short walk away! The down-home joint serves traditional breakfasts and Old Bay seasoned crab dishes.

You won't want to miss the Chincoteague Oyster Festival held 5 miles away at Tom's Cove. This beloved festival is held to celebrate the beginning of oyster season and promote the seafood industry.


14 reviews
  • She said yes!


    Two years ago my girlfriend and I vacationed at this location. We loved every aspect of it from this home to the culture of the area. Just recently I decided that this is where I wanted to propose to her. After speaking with the owner of the home we booked our trip. I knew this would be the perfect weekend (despite hurricane Ophelia trying to stop that) because we feel at home in Chincoteague, especially in this house. Everything is perfect here. I’ve never felt more at home away from home before. I highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Chincoteague area to give this place a try. 10/10 will going again.

    Published October 4, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    From the owner: ''Hello, Eric, thank you so much for your kind words. And congratulations on your engagement. You are welcome back at any time''

  • Great deck views


    Overall very nice place to stay

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Billy M.
    Published August 30, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    From the owner: "Thank you so much for the 5-star review. You are welcome back anytime."

  • Family vacation


    House is well kept. Everything was there as stated. Kids enjoyed large patio and yard. Was very nice the owner called to check on us and was interested in who was renting. Would stay again.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Carol H.
    Published September 8, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    From the owner: "Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to come back again anytime."

  • Home away from home


    We were delighted with the homey, cozy feel of the property. Lots of kitchen supplies and gadgets for us cooks. Beds super comfy. Screened in porch was nice. No issues at all. We would stay here again.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Vivian S
    Published August 16, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    From the Owner: "Thank you for your kind words. So happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to return anytime."

  • Ehh


    The location is very convenient. There was a nice gift of toiletries in the bathroom. It’s bigger than a hotel, so family can stay together. That’s the plus. Make sure to bring your own blankets as well as sheets. The only blankets are very old, worn, and not laundered bed spreads. No pillows provided. The cable has 13 channels. There is a Roku downstairs if you want to enter your information. There is a Roku in the master bedroom but it was not hooked up to the tv and there was no remote control. You will have to drive your trash to a trash facility across town at the end of your stay. It may or may not be open. (It wasn’t when we left). The worst part was the ants. The place was CRAWLING in ants. The were everywhere. You could not cook because within 3 minutes ants were in your food. They were on the table within minutes if you got take out as well. They weee in the dishwasher. The only safe place for anything was in the refrigerator. I called the landlord and she said to put more ant traps out. There were already half a dozen out in the kitchen. We had to call the landlord for the Wi-Fi password. Charged a cleaning fee but left a long list of to do cleaning that had to be completed before leaving,. Gave the impression that it was not cleaned between guests.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Heidi C.
    Published August 4, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    From the owners: "We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and we wanted to address the items you mentioned.
    -We were just at the property and there are ten pillows in the house (four in the master bedroom and six in the kids' room on the shelves in the closet). We feel this is an adequate number for four guests. There are additionally three pillow shams on each bed if you did need more than ten.
    -We can also verify that the down-alternative blankets are in each room on the shelves in the closets in their plastic zip up bags and are clean. The bedspreads are white and our cleaning team inspects them before putting them on the beds.
    -There are Roku's on each TV along with remotes for each, as well as extra batteries. Each tenant can enter their own information into whatever they would like to watch (Netflix, Hulu,Tubio, etc.).
    -Trash is picked up on Friday mornings, so we do ask guests to take whatever trash they have left on Saturday with them when they are leaving to the community dump on the way off the island. That is what the note in the house states. If they are not leaving on a Saturday, they can put the can out to be picked up. We apologize for the inconvenience.
    -The WiFi password is also posted on the fridge.
    -Guests are asked to put the bedspreads back on the bed, make sure the windows are closed, and remove all personal items and trash. The cleaning team performs a deep clean of the property and sets out the complemetary toiletries.
    -As far as the ants, when a property is close to the water and it gets hot/muggy/humid, there are always ants. This is why we leave ant traps out and provide extra ant traps as well as ant spray under the kitchen sink.
    Thank you for your feedback and your stay."

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

14 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12