Calm Retreat w/ Ponds ~ 12 Mi to Somerville Lake

Property ID: 457890SomervilleTXUS
Sleeps 85 BR2 BA


Escape the noise of the city and make your way to this quiet, relaxing Somerville abode, located just 20 miles outside of College Station! Featuring 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a fully equipped kitchen, this remarkable vacation rental invites you to embrace the outdoors. Go kayaking or fishing on the nearby pond, get out on the cool waters of Somerville Lake, or head into town for a college visit at Texas A&M University. This home also boasts a furnished deck, fire pit, and grill!


  • Waterfront
  • Deck
  • Pets Allowed
  • Kitchen
  • Free Parking
  • Washer
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Self Check-In


Location Details

THE GREAT OUTDOORS: Welch Park Somerville Lake (11.9 miles), Overlook Park (15.3 miles), Yegua Creek Park (17.3 miles), Rocky Creek Park (19.8 miles). Lake Somerville State Park & Trailway (25.1 miles)

LOCAL FOOD: Sodolak's Original Country Inn (6.6 miles), Sargento's Mexican Restaurant (6.9 miles), Mama's Kitchen (10.4 miles), Las Fuentes Mexican Restaurant (11.0 miles), Neinast Mexican Grill and Steakhouse (13.8 miles)

COLLEGE STATION: Texas A&M University (20.2 miles), Kyle Field (20.5 miles), The Golf Club at Texas A&M (21.0 miles), Downtown Bryan (23.7 miles), Brazos Valley Museum of Natural History (24.5 miles)

DAY TRIPS: Brenham (23.7 miles), Round Top (39.2 miles)

AIRPORTS: Easterwood Airport (17.7 miles), George Bush Intercontinental Airport (102 miles)


2 reviews
  • One of my worst interactions with a host yet. I do not recommend staying here.


    Things started out smoothly enough, but it quickly degenerated into a terrible experience. I included the fact that I was going to be having family over for a family get-together in the reservation. During the check-in process, I let the host know that one of my family members was bringing out their bbq pit. The host seemed to have no problem with that. The ac went out (in August), and some of my family members are familiar with the HVAC industry. They pulled out the filter to show me how dirty and gross it was, and the ac unit in the house had completely frozen up. The outside unit was completely enclosed in a small fence, so there was very little air circulation for the unit to operate properly. Bringing this to the attention of the host invited him to reign down his fury upon me for having so many people at his place (I had 30 people total). After going back and forth via text, the host and his wife let us know they were on their way to take a look at things. I won't continue with this story, because there is a lot that I'm having to leave out because so much happened. We ended up leaving because the host and his wife were very argumentative and were unwilling to have a civil conversation. The host followed me from room to room while I packed to berate me on being such a terrible guest. He was a large man, and used his size and booming voice to bully us around while we packed to leave.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Carolyn L.
    Published September 22, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Carolyn, we want our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we're sorry that you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to clarify the following:
    We take pride in providing excellent stays for all our guests, and sadly, there was a breach in the rental agreement, and you did not follow the house rules. Unfortunately, we had to ask you to leave in a respectful manner. Our goal is for our guests to have a 5-star experience at our home, and we are confident that if you had followed the rental agreement, you would've had a great stay.

  • Delightful place with many nice features


    If you want rest and have nice bonding experience with friends and family, book your stay here. The grounds offer a nice pond to go kayaking nature walk with beautiful views all around. The cabin is very nice & confortable. We will probably come back

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Loretto D.
    Published April 5, 2022
  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

Add guests for prices
2 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 8 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12