San Benito Home w/Pond View - Short Drive to Gulf!

Property ID: 350000San BenitoTXUS
Sleeps 42 BR1.5 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Experience coastal Texas at this secluded 2-bedroom, 1.5-bath San Benito vacation rental house, just a short drive from the Gulf and South Padre Island. With room to comfortably sleep 4, this property features gorgeous views of lush landscape and a pond, a boardwalk leading to a waterfront deck, and all of the comforts of home. Nestled against the National Wildlife Corridor, this rental makes it easy to enjoy watching local wildlife and is just a short trip from the beach and local restaurants.


  • Washer
  • Waterfront
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Central Heating
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed


Location Details

This property is just minutes from the Gulf of Mexico and features a private deck that overlooks one of the area’s many ponds. Relax among the lush trees by the water and enjoy the mild year-round temperatures or head into town to experience San Benito’s many attractions.

The area features multiple activities, including the South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sealife Nature Center, the Gladys Porter Zoo, and the South Padre Island Adventures Park. There are also plenty of wildlife preserves in the area, as well as a public par three golf course.

When you’re ready to go out on the town, the area offers plenty of restaurants, shopping options, and galleries so you can get a taste of Texas while not straying too far from your rental.


4 reviews
  • A Great Place to Stay in the Valley


    Great location for birders. Close to Laguna Atascosa NWR and South Padre Island World Birding Center, as well as other preserves, but not even necessary to leave the grounds for wildlife viewing. The home is well maintained and comfortable. The owner responded quickly to any questions we had. Would definitely recommend this property.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published March 20, 2019
  • Could be a Nature Preserve!


    We loved this place!!! It was very hard to get up and go anywhere else. We had 98 species of birds on the property during our 25 day stay. The house comes with a nice yard and deck overlooking the Resaca(cut off oxbow). Many evenings were spent watching the sunsets and observing the birds and turtles from the deck. During our visit we could have used some extra blankets as we did have some chilly nights and the kitchen could use a good cleaning and new paint job. There is a bath and a half, which means in this case a full bathroom with shower, sink and toilet and in the laundry room another shower(very nice) and sink. Everything worked out fine as we had three people during most of our visit. This is a very quiet peaceful place and we will not hesitate to book the house again when in the area. Very nearby is South Padre Island, Boca Chica State Park, Laguna Atascosa Wildlife Refuge and Palo Alto Battlefield National Historical Park.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published February 20, 2019
  • Description lacks valuable information!!


    When we booked this house there was nowhere in the details and/or descriptions that truly indicates how isolated this house is from any major road. To get to the house you have to travel down one road that while paved it is not well maintained and then onto another road that is barely a one lane road with so many potholes it made it hard to drive. Plus neither roads contained street lights so while driving at night it was almost impossible to locate the house without making at least one or two wrong turns. One the last road before turning onto the property were 3-4 stray dogs who would roam up and down the road and while they never came onto the property it did make us cautious to go anywhere close to the edge of the property.

    Once on the property, the house was well maintained and had lots of places to explore and enjoy the outdoors. The property itself was more like a 4 star experience but because of how isolated it is it made for a difficult time coming and going each time we left. While the descriptions says 1.5 bath - it is really only one full bathroom with another shower in the basement rather than a second potty which made it more difficult and again the description was not fully accurate.

    Our experience with Home Away itself was not a positive one either - upon learning just how isolated the house truly was we requested to cancelled and get our money back so we could find another alternative but were told that our money was nonrefundable even though it was their description and accurate details of the property which made us uncomfortable. We will not be using Home Away again and unless you know the area REALLY well I would not recommend this property to anyone traveling to the area.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Kristin R.
    Published January 22, 2019
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Kristin, We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the location of the property before your stay. We take the accuracy of our listings seriously - it's even one of our 4 Core Property Standards! As such, we take care to correctly represent the location of our properties in the listing description. While we do not disclose the exact address to protect the safety of the homeowner and their guests, travelers can use the map feature to see the cross streets and gauge the surrounding area. We also include notes on the property's distance from several local attractions as well as aerial photos so that travelers can have a clear picture of the property before they book. We are sorry that HomeAway was not able to provide the resolution you were hoping for, and we would like to note that both HomeAway and Evolve offer travel insurance in case guests need to cancel for reasons that are outside of the control of the homeowner. We are glad that you were able to enjoy this well maintained and restored vacation home, and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Best, the Evolve Team

  • Remote property that is great for birding.


    Very well appointed two bedroom home with everything you need to enjoy your South Texas stay. The only drawback for us was the owners use of plug in air fresheners, which was mitigated by unplugging them and opening the windows. Lovely property with lots of birds!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Walter H.
    Published April 12, 2018
  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

4 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12