House
4.58

Remodeled Retro Home w/ Deck, Walk to Main Street!

Property ID: 438231BlancoTXUS
Sleeps 52 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.

Description

Spice up your life with a city escape and a trip to the historic town of Blanco while staying at this updated 2-bed, 1-bath vacation rental home steps from Main Street. Indulge in Blanco’s best like local shops, restaurants, and nightlife all just a short walk away, yet far enough to leave you to a peaceful stay. Take the 2 cruiser bikes for a spin down to Real Ale Brewing or take a scenic trail ride at Blanco State Park. Everything’s so close and convenient you’ll never want to leave.

Amenities

  • Laptop Friendly
  • Central Heating
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Essentials
  • Kitchen

Map

Location Details

BLANCO TO DO’S: Town Square-Redbud Cafe, Old Blanco County Courthouse, Cranberry’s Antiques, Old 300 BBQ, Blanco River Pizza Company (walking distance), Buggy Barn Museum (0.6 miles), Deutsch Apple Bakery (0.9 miles), Real Ale Brewing Company (1.1 miles)

OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES: Blanco State Park (0.8 miles), Jacob’s Creek Park (23.1 miles), Jacob’s Well Natural Area (23.6 miles), Pedernales Falls State Park (25.5 miles), Guadalupe River State Park (33.9 miles)

VINEYARDS: Esperanza Winery (0.5 miles), Narrow Path Winery & Vineyard (14.1 miles), Texas Hills Vineyard (14.3 miles), Pontita Vineyard & Winery (14.9 miles), William Chris Vineyards (23.7 miles), Duchman Family Winery (35.7 miles)

DAY TRIPS: Fredericksburg - dining, shopping, wineries (33.7 miles), Austin - food, outdoor recreation, live music, nightlife (49.7 miles), San Antonio - River Walk, The Alamo (50.6 miles)

AIRPORTS: San Antonio International Airport (41.4 miles), Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (55.7 miles)

Reviews

4.58
24 reviews
  • Phenomenal Place in Fun and Cute Blanco TX

    5/5

    This cute, super stylish, uber clean property with comfy beds, nice kitchen and outside area was perfect for our stay during our son's wedding weekend. The house is just a short walk to the square with great restaurants, bars, close to gelato and coffee shops! We have only wonderful things to say about this location and the lil house! Loved our stay 100 percent.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Carol
    Published May 14, 2024
  • Bed less than desirable

    2/5

    Location good; quiet neighborhood; quick access to downtown.

    However, the queen bed drops 4 inches in the middle after just one minute of laying down....no rest after a long day. the next night I had to sleep in the BR#2 on a twin bed which was sufficient for a decent sleep.

    The Futon in the living room...I understand its purpose, it's just not good for relaxing/TV viewing.

    The yard was not mowed and the bushes were not trimmed, and what's with the dead tree?

    Strange thing...there were about 20 dead flies on the bathroom floor and tub???Weird!

    Disappointed.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Harry R
    Published May 6, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Harry, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    - I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. I’d like to address your issues directly. The lawn care could not be done the week prior to your trip because we had several days of rain, as you also experienced during your 2-night stay. It was in fact, done on Monday, which was the first dry day to accomplish it. Not much we can do to change the weather.
    - In regard to the dead tree, it is under the care of an arborist. Our area is in the midst of the worst drought in history, which followed an unprecedented freeze. Many trees in our region are in “limbo” and are being watched for signs of life before being removed. This is one of those trees.
    - I am disappointed you did not contact me about the issue with the bed. I went to check on it immediately after receiving your review to investigate. It appears one of the leg braces needed to be adjusted. I am sad to learn that you had a poor night's sleep. This was something we could have corrected in 1 minute, had you contacted us, as requested if you had any issues. Ironically, the guest who immediately followed you (before I received your review) left a lovely review in our book about how clean the place was and how comfortable the beds were. So clearly it was not an issue for everyone.
    - I don’t know anything about dead flies. I can’t even say that I have seen live flies in the house. So yes, I would say this is very weird.
    - Again, I am sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay. I would question if it was indeed a 2-star stay, given many of the issues were either easily resolvable, personal preferences, or beyond our control. Perhaps a 4-star review would be more appropriate given your feedback?
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Wedding in Blanco

    5/5

    Adorable blast from the past. Loved the decor. Nice quiet neighborhood.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Chellie
    Published December 19, 2023
  • PERFECT charming weekend getaway

    5/5

    WOW! This place was so much fun. We loved the retro furnishings and cooked on the cool stove. It was definitely before my time so I HAD to try it out! You can walk to all the shops on the square from here too. The cool weather made it even better! We didn't detect any foul smell at all like the last review had mentioned, so I would assume the owner fixed it. It smelled clean and fresh! The beds were comfy and we had a nice relaxing stay. We would definitely recommend this place and will be back next time we visit Blanco!

    Bella
    Published November 13, 2023
  • Horrible smell !

    1/5

    This place looked exactly as pictured but as soon as we opened the front door there was a horrible smell so bad that we had to open both doors ( front and sliding glass door ) to get fresh air flowing through . There was a plug in air freshener to mask the smell but it just made the smell even worse . My daughter in law believes the smell is from having cats urinate so much on the floor that the smell is now permanent and rather than remove the old flooring , the owners just covered it up with new flooring ! We were all so disgusted and dissatisfied with this place . We should’ve complained to the owner as soon as we checked in but we had a wedding to attend on Saturday Oct 14th close by and didn’t have the money to stay anywhere else . Thank god we rented a car and didn’t have to stay in this house all day long for 3 days ! We couldn’t wait to get out of this place . Thankfully our last night in Texas was in a really nice Airbnb in San Antonio ! I cannot believe the reviews of this place didn’t mention this god awful smell ! And they are all 5 star reviews!? I would NOT have rented this place had someone mentioned the smell ! Especially since it cost us over 800 dollars ! With a cleaning fee !? I should get a refund !!! Also the retro look is nice but it should be maintained. The bathroom sink is falling apart and I doubt if the old stove even works . I hate that I have to leave this review but others should be warned about this place ! I wish someone had warned us !

    Sanderella
    Published October 19, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Sanderella. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, and we genuinely regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and want to address your concerns.

    - Firstly, we want to clarify that cats have never been in our property. The suggestion that we covered up cat urine with new flooring is both inaccurate and offensive. The new flooring was installed during a comprehensive remodel in 2019, which involved stripping the house down to the studs.

    - We were unaware at the time of your check-in that the previous guest had liberally used Lysol during their stay, as revealed in the previous review. In an attempt to address this, we used fragrances to mask the smell, not realizing that the combination of Lysol and fragrance could be displeasing. We apologize for any discomfort this may have caused.

    - We also want to highlight that the active ingredient in Lysol decomposes into ammonia when heated, producing a smell similar to cat urine. In this case, the smell you encountered was a result of the previous guest's use of Lysol in the HVAC system, not a preexisting issue with our property. It is important to note that the odor has been addressed and is no longer present in the unit.

    - We can assure you that our appliances, including the stove, are in good working order. Many guests have used and appreciated these nostalgic features. We appreciate your feedback on the bathroom sink and will address it promptly.

    - In situations like this, we encourage guests to reach out to us immediately so we have the opportunity to resolve any issues promptly. Had you contacted us, we would have been more than willing to relocate you to another available unit, free of charge.

    We apologize for any inconvenience you faced and appreciate your understanding. Thanks for your valuable feedback as we continue to improve!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.

Add dates for prices
4.58
24 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Guests
Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 5 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Adults
0
Children
Ages 2-12
0
Infants
0