Philly Getaway in Upper Darby w/ Furnished Deck!

Property ID: 448146Upper DarbyPAUS
Sleeps 42 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


City fun is never far away from this Upper Darby vacation rental! The 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom house features a private outdoor space and a full kitchen for cooking dinner after days in the city. The heart of historical Philadelphia is never far away with the Liberty Bell, Independence National Historical Park, and Elfreth's Alley in under 10 miles. Catch a game at Citizens Bank Park or a show at the Kimmel Center before heading home to unwind with a movie on the Smart TV!


  • Central Heating
  • Kitchen
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Essentials


Location Details

HOT SPOTS: University of Pennsylvania (4.4 miles), Penn Museum (5.3 miles), Walnut Street (6.8 miles), Philadelphia Convention Center (6.9 miles), Liberty Bell (7.3 miles), Independence National Historical Park (7.5 miles), Elfreth's Alley (8.8 miles), Adventure Aquarium (10.3 miles)

ATTRACTIONS: Philadelphia Zoo (5.3 miles), Reading Terminal Market (7.2 miles), Rittenhouse Square (6.6 miles), Spruce Street Harbor Park (13.5 miles)

ENTERTAINMENT: The Kimmel Center (6.9 miles), Academy of Music (6.8 miles), Arden Theatre Company (8.8 miles), Walnut Street Theater (7.4 miles)

STADIUMS: Citizens Bank Park - Phillies Stadium (9.6 miles), Lincoln Financial Field - Eagles Stadium (10.1 miles)

AIRPORT: Philadelphia International Airport (8.0 miles)


6 reviews
  • Very odd rental


    The owner works out of the basement while you rent the location. This doesn’t seem odd to start with, but our crock pot was unplugged while we were gone for the coffee maker to be plugged in which means she comes upstairs. Leaving the crockpot unplugged also ruined the food, costing us money.There are 2 bathrooms but only 1 shower or hot water faucet can be used at a time. DO NOT wash dishes or run both showers bc you will get surprised. Master bathroom has no pressure so washing hair is difficult.The closets and dressers are occupied with someone else’s belonging.The kitchen does not have enough cookware to make a whole meal at the same time. (Example: 2 forks, no boilers, minimum utensils) Vent above stove doesn’t work bc it’s not actually vented out of the house, it’s decoration only. This will cause smoke to accumulate while trying to cook so open the window in the kitchen for exhaust.Used toiletries in bathroom to include feminine wash, toothpaste, shower gel, and shampoo. Bring your own pillows if you use one for sleep.I wouldn’t say we were dissatisfied with rental but it was the weirdest rental we have even used. Most people would not accept the things we laughed and joked about during our stay. (I asked several other people for confirmation of this statement) It’s like someone else is living with you in an eerie old house all the time.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Cameron Y.
    Published May 25, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Owners response: "Cameron, I'm a little confused by your review. I do work on-site but I do not go into the unit while it is being occupied. I was happy to allow you extra time to stay while you celebrated your son's birthday.
    - We did not unplug your crockpot I'm not sure how this happened.
    - You are the first one who has mentioned any issues with the water pressure or bathroom issues. We have not had any complaints about this before now.
    - If you had contacted us for all of these issues you had we would have been happy to come by and address them while you were there, instead of joking about the home you should have called.
    - I'd like to know who you confirmed your information with since you never asked me about the issues you were having.
    I'm sorry if this is not the right vacation home and we're disappointed it wasn't the one for you. We truly go above and beyond for our guests, and we are confident that future guests will have excellent stays!"

  • $100 , a day's work, and maybe...


    The reviews were mixed--a rating of 2.4--but the lowest concentrated on the decor rather than the hospitality, and so I dismissed it. I live in a 1934 home--and love the quirky bits of other people's taste, and this home did not disappoint! But here is where she lost me. Remember that review about no hot water? Even though the host had been on site 15 minutes before I arrived, she had not turned the temp up on the hot water heater. We had no hot water. NONE. Yes, she came back the next morning to turn up the heat, but why not before we got there? To save 50 cents in gas? But perhaps she forgot. I let it go. Until I loaded the dishwasher (and you will remember, dear reader, that she responded to a previous review that she had fixed it). I couldn't find detergent, so I texted her. She encouraged me to use disposable dishes. "But you said you fixed it, correct?" I responded, and volunteered to get soap when I was at the grocery later that day. She both confirmed that it had been repaired, and she let me go on this fool's errand knowing full well that the dishwasher had electricity, but NO WATER CONNECTION. She wasted my time, and she lied.To bring this listing up to an acceptable VRBO listing.:Address Safety Hazards:1. There are at least FOUR electrical sockets with no covers.2. The one on the kitchen counter is not up to code, nor does it have a cover. To rent a home, this should be a GFCI outlet .3. The Fire alarm closest to the kitchen is missing. In fact, I found no alarms on the first floor. Another code violation.Poor Hosting Practices:4. Each room had a wall mirror, but none were hung.5. In the primary bedroom, the light fixture had one operating bulb, one that popped on and off, and one broken in the socket.6. The third floor light fixture had no bulbs or cover.7. She supplied toothpaste for bathrooms--used tubes set on the back of the toilet. Rule #1: Do not use a stranger's toothpaste. 8. There were two dirty sponges in the kitchen for doing dishes, no hand towels, no clean dishrags. I bought sponges and brought towels from upstairs.9. Only one tv was operational despite having tv's in every room.10. There were only TWO FORKS, no can opener, no wine opener.11. The teflon on most of the pots and pans was scraped to the metal12. No coffee for the coffee maker.This home is a legal liability and VRBO should not represent it. I have pictures of all I have listed.I left early

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Lee G.
    Published May 18, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Lee, we're sorry that this home did not exceed your expectations. We followed up with the owner, who was surprised by your feedback as they were in contact with you throughout your stay and did their best to address all concerns. They assured us that they are always available should guests need anything while in residence, and they encourage future renters to reach out right away should any issues arise.

  • First of all I only booked the house because I was last minute!! I will never recommend anyone!!


    I saw the lady everyday, everyday she was there!!! That house need a lot of work… Let me start from the room I slept in, bed is comfortable but the decor was 80s-ish. As for the bathroom that shower head need to go!! No tub just a shower with the shower head in the middle of the ceiling. The shower space was tight for the shower head to be positioned wrong. Won’t say anything about the other rooms because I didn’t sleep in it. But my friends and family will sure leave their comments. Downstairs was dark and needed lamps or more lighting. The couches and wall paper was definitely from the 80’s as well. And it was cold. The house just have a chill on it. We got to know the lady well and she was very nice. Just needs more updates!!!!!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Auslyn C.
    Published March 29, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Auslyn, We want all of our guests to find the perfect vacation rental for their stay, so we take the accuracy of our listings seriously:
    - Travelers can see the furniture and decor in the listing photos before they book
    - We're sorry to hear that it isn't to your taste, but everything in the home is as advertised
    - There is no wallpaper in this home
    - The owner gave you recommendations when you called about the lighting, and the temperature was set to 70 degrees during your stay
    We're confident that the owner will continue to host satisfied guests moving forward!

  • Christmas Family Get Together


    This property enabled my family and me to get together during the Christmas holiday. We had a good time! It offered enough space where we did not feel packed together. The property manager was extremely friendly and helpful whenever we reached out to her. The enclosed porch was a big hit, as well as the long dining-room table. The size of the kitchen was nice too.It would be helpful, when guests check-in, to let them know the dishwasher does not work. Also, a washrag or two that were provided for guests were not in the best of shape with stains. If possible, provide a bigger garbage can for the kitchen. A small one fills up quickly, especially with a family that cooks a lot.Overall, our Christmas family get together was a hit. Having a property of this size was a blessing.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Janice B.
    Published January 19, 2022


    This house was not what was advertised. When we arrived there was glass all over the front yard and a broken front window that was boarded up. The Ac "window units" that was described was actually central air that did not work well and did not cool down the top floor at all. The showers were unusable. The one in the master bedroom dripped out of the shower head and the main shower was only burning hot water. There were nails coming out of the floor boards on the second floor. There was what appeared to be blood splatter on the living room wall and also on the master bedroom door. There were dirty dishes in the microwave that had mold on them. there was food in the freezer. The only television that worked was the one on the front porch even though the ad said one in every room. To top it all off the master bedroom had centipedes in the bed . Not only was I extremely disappointed in the house I was also disappointed by the way Evolve handled my complaints. I was told that there was not enough proof to refund me even though I sent in pictures. I have rented many houses over the years and this was by far the worst one and the only time I have put in a complaint.

    Published October 13, 2021
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Karen, we take it seriously when guests let us know that we missed the mark. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they would like to share the following:
    - The boarded-up window on the porch has been fixed. Our team did not find glass outside but we apologize that this affected your stay.
    - We do advertise central air in the home. There is a separate cooling unit upstairs which must be turned on in order to successfully cool that level.
    - There is no "blood" splatter on the walls though we have alerted our cleaning team to ensure that these areas are being cleaned.
    - We have passed on all of your cleanliness concerns to our cleaning team so that future guests do not share your experience.
    - All TV's work as long as they are connected to the wifi that is provided to guests.
    - We investigated all bedding and found no bugs. This has never been an issue so we were surprised to read this feedback but can assure all guests that linen is thoroughly washed, dried, and replaced between all travelers.
    We always work with both guests and owners to make sure that we can provide a fair resolution if an issue does happen, and we weren’t able to provide the resolution you were hoping for based on the documentation provided. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

  • 1
  • 2

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

6 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12