Rustic Caroga Lake Retreat: Fish, Hike & Ski!

Property ID: 472361Caroga LakeNYUS
Sleeps 51 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Enjoy the slower pace of lake life at this Caroga Lake vacation rental! This cozy 1-bedroom, 1-bathroom cabin with a loft features easy access to the lake for days filled with fishing, kayaking, and swimming. Explore the natural beauty of the Adirondacks from the trails in the Ferris Lake Wild Forest. In the evenings, warm up around the fire pit with campfire stories and s’mores. From here you're just a short drive from Royal Mountain Ski Area, snowmobiling, and top-tier cross-country skiing!


  • Kitchen
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Laptop Friendly
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Self Check-In


Location Details

OUTDOOR RECREATION: Caroga Lake (0.4 miles), Kane Mountain (3.9 miles), Canada Lake (4.7 miles), Peck Lake (5.4 miles), Willie Wildlife Marsh (7.8 miles), Shaker Mountain (10.8 miles), Ferris Lake Wild Forest (19.5 miles), Great Sacandaga Lake (22.9 miles), Mosher Marsh Preserve (26.9 miles), Wild Waters Outdoor Center Sacandaga Base (51.9)

WINTER FUN: Royal Mountain Ski Area (4.8 miles), Lapland Lake Cross-Country Ski Center (14.0 miles), West Mountain (54.9 miles), Gore Mountain (59.0 miles), snowshoeing, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing

ATTRACTIONS: Sherman's Amusement Park (0.3 miles), Caroga Historical Association Museum (0.8 miles), Fulton County Museum (10.1 miles), Johnson Hall State Historic Site (12.1 miles), The Knox Mansion (13.4 miles), Adirondack Animal Land (16.8 miles), The Fort Plain Museum & Historical Park (20.7 miles)

DAY TRIPS: Saratoga Springs (40.9 miles), Albany (59.0 miles), Syracuse (98.4 miles)

AIRPORT: Albany International Airport (54.2 miles)


5 reviews
  • Perfect!


    I had a last minute family emergency and needed a place to stay, quick! This Caroga Lake location was available and it worked out wonderfully. The location was great and the size was perfect. Communication with the host was wonderful. I accidentally locked myself out (whoops 😂) and the issue was resolved within a reasonable time. Would definitely stay here again

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published October 24, 2023
  • Adorable cabin. Very quaint.


    Adorable cabin. Very quaint. Cleanliness could have been a little better. (Cobwebs everywhere). The bathroom door needs to be replaced and the light for the porch did not work (kind of dangerous for the porch steps at night) other than that had a wonderful time. Thank you! Danielle

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Danielle S.
    Published August 8, 2023
  • Very quaint


    Very nice place to stay, could have been a little cleaner with the cobwebs. Larger than expected which was very nice. No A/C which was fine for the weekend we stayed. The grill was stored in the shed so we did not use it. The bathroom door does need replacing. As well as the light on the back porch was broken. We survived with the light of the fire. 😉 All in all a very nice, comfortable place to stay, and if we get the chance, may stay again. Thank you!

    Danielle and friends

    Published July 26, 2023
  • Good times at the Rustic Cottage


    We couldn’t have been happier. The cottage was beautiful inside and out was rustic like it said inside was nicely decorated. It was centrally located to the marina. Enter the general store and gas station. The surrounding neighbors were very pleasant, and I’m looking to go back there again in July, I can’t say enough about the place. I was very happy and for the price you couldn’t beat that. And the owner couldn’t have been any nicer to try to accommodate me. Sincerely, Michael Mcbride.

    Published June 13, 2023
  • Nice people but the property needs updates


    First, the welcome basket and smores supplies were great; our granddaughter loved that.However, the property itself was noticeably run down. We rent properties in the Adirondacks several times every year, And this was one of the most rundown properties we have stayed at in several years. The bark trim around the doorways and windows was a problem - if you bumped or tapped it all the wood dust came falling out. And there was no vacuum to clean it up.The kitchen table looked handmade and was so old that even after cleaning it, it was still sticky. The dishes in the cupboards had to be washed before they could be used. The cupboards were dirty and there were cobwebs everywhere. For the cleaning fee that was charged, we definitely would expect more attention to detail there.The wood pellet grill on the back deck had no instructions so we had no idea how to work it. I downloaded the user manual and the app and we still weren’t able to grill steaks on it because it never achieved a high enough heat. The online reviews for that particular grill were terrible by the way.Overall, I would say that this property is extremely rundown and needs a lot of updates. Sorry, I have to be honest here.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Tom A.
    Published November 1, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Tom, thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

    - We apologize for the lack of cleanliness. We have the home professionally cleaned in between each guest's stay. We wish you had reached out to the Guest Contact during your stay if there were any issues you needed to be addressed. We would have done everything we could to resolve them immediately so that you could enjoy the home. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    - We're sorry you had a difficult time operating the grill. It is brand new and was purchased in late July. It has worked fine for other guests who have used it and me. We wish you had reached out as we would have been happy to help you.

    Thank you again for providing such valuable feedback. It is greatly appreciated as it allows us to tackle these issues before our next booking.

  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

Add dates for prices
5 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 5 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12