Cloudcroft Cabin Vacation Rental: 3 Mi to Skiing!

Property ID: 407430CloudcroftNMUS
Sleeps 62 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Leave the bustle of the city behind and stay at 'Reed Cabin,' a 2-bed, 1-bath, Cloudcroft vacation rental! Hidden behind the towering pines of the Lincoln National Forest, this cabin promises a picturesque mountain retreat with an off-grid atmosphere and all the comforts of home. Spend summers browsing the shops of downtown Cloudcroft and snowy winters on the slopes of Ski Cloudcroft. Meanwhile, relaxation awaits at home with evenings beside the wood-burning fireplace or stargazing on the deck.


  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed
  • Washer
  • Free Parking
  • Deck


Location Details

EXPLORE OUTDOORS: Lincoln National Forest (surrounding area), Ski Cloudcroft (3 miles), White Sands National Park (36 miles), snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, hiking, biking

CLOUDCROFT (~1 mile): Zenith Park, Cloudcroft Brewing Company, Sacramento Mountains Museum, local restaurants, boutiques, farmers markets, trailheads, annual events

AREA ATTRACTIONS: Alameda Park Zoo (20 miles), Ruidoso Downs Race Track & Casino (43 miles)

AIRPORTS: Alamogordo-White Sands Regional Airport (26 miles), El Paso International Airport (107 miles)


57 reviews
  • Cloudcroft


    Excellent location, perfect getaway

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Donald S.
    Published August 1, 2023
  • It was just ok


    There is conflicting information regarding a few things. There is wifi in the cabin. It was advertised on VRBO as having wifi and a caption on the living room photo also shows wifi, but Evolve said no wifi. We had to make last-minute changes to our plans when we received information after the cancellation/refund date that the cabin had no wifi. It turns out it did have wifi, so all that time and money was wasted making alternative plans. The cabin has information about checking out and check-out time at 11 am, but the Evolve listing said 10 am. Also, it says garage parking, driveway, and street parking. The garage space was not big enough for a small Buick enclave. The driveway fits our large SUV. There is no street parking. More on that below.

    The cabin was clean and had plenty of towels. The recliner was broken and if you sat in it you would flip backward. Kitchen equipment was lacking, with no kettle for hot water, and pots and pans were lacking and badly worn. The dishware and silverware were in good condition. We nicknamed the cabin moth cabin. There were moths everywhere. It was very warm. We knew it had no AC, and there was an extra fan in the closet that we used and a ceiling fan in each room that we ran 24/7. Even with all that it ran 5-10 degrees warmer than the outside temps.

    The biggest issue was the driveway. The gravel driveway was worn away. The lip between the gravel drive and paved street was about 12 inches of depth. It was clear many vehicles had spun out and worn a groove in the driveway. We bottomed out our car each time we pulled in and out, no matter the angle or speed. There is no street parking available. We tried pulling sideways into the driveway and off the road, but a local police officer came by and said that was not allowed. Our vehicle tires had to be completely off the paved street. Even my son's small Buick enclave was not allowed to park on the street as it would not fit between the fence and the paved street without sticking out. His car also did not fit in the garage. The listing should be updated so that driveway parking is available for one vehicle. And the owner should really improve the transition between gravel and asphalt.

    The location is convenient. And although small it is laid out well. It fits 4 comfortably. But there are better options for less money. We stay in Cloudcroft often and I would say this rates at about a 6 out of 10 compared to other similarly priced cabins.

    Published June 26, 2023
  • +++++


    Enjoyed our stay.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Dave R.
    Published April 25, 2023
  • Ehhh


    Needs work to truly make it a GOOD memorable stay.

    Published February 6, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    From the owners: "Hi, Robert, thank you for choosing to stay in our home and leaving a review, as guest feedback is vitally important to us and the success of our vacation rental business. The cabin was built in 1965, and we've been doing gradual renovations for the past 15 years. The following renovations are New hardwood floors, a new kitchen ten years ago, and a new bathroom (not including the bathtub) 6 years ago. Also, we are about to remove the bedroom lights and add new ceiling/light fixtures. We are always open to suggestions, so we wish you had been able to provide more details for improvement as we want our guests to have a 5-star experience. We truly go above and beyond for our guests and are confident that future guests will have excellent stays!"

  • Disappointed


    No cookware except 2 skillets.No dishwasher(who knows if the dishes were washed properly). Driveway was so washed out we had to passby and turn around so we could come at it at an angle. Bathtub had black hair floating in it! EXTRA expenses almost doubled the cost. Won't be back.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Charles R.
    Published October 11, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Charles, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

    - We're sorry, we don't own a dishwasher and it is not advertised in our listing that we have one. We take cleanliness very seriously, and we do so by hand washing the dishes ourselves; making sure we wash them properly each time a guest checks in and out of our home. We also do a thorough check of everything that was cleaned before each guest check-in.

    - The driveway is sloped as we're in the mountains and have been experiencing a lot of rainfall this summer. This is an ongoing issue because the village maintenance keeps fixing the part that is in the street but each time it rains, it washes out a bit. We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.

    - We have a full set of pots, pans, and dishes enough for six people. We just bought a new set of glassware a few months ago as well. We will look into purchasing more in the near future.

    Thanks for your valuable feedback as we continue to improve for our future guests!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 12

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

57 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12