If you’re looking for a secluded, peaceful escape in the Great Smoky Mountains, look no further than this cozy cabin in Maggie Valley! While you still have modern comforts such as a well-equipped kitchen, this 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom vacation rental property provides the chance to unplug and reconnect with nature. During your stay, visit Soco Falls, hit the slopes at Cataloochee Ski Area, go hiking in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, or take a drive along the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway.
AREA ATTRACTIONS: Tube World (3.7 miles), Thunder in the Smokies Rally: U.S. 19 (5.0 miles), Wheels Through Time Motorcycle Museum (5.5 miles), Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort (12.1 miles), Waynesville (13.7 miles), Santa'sLand Fun Park & Zoo (14.2 miles), South Main Street (15.5 miles), Biltmore Estate (39.1 miles), Asheville (39.7 miles), Dollywood (57.0 miles)
OUTDOOR RECREATION: Soco Gap- Blue Ridge Parkway (1.8 miles), Soco Falls (3.1 miles), Cataloochee Ranch (6.6 miles), Cataloochee Ski Area (7.5 miles), Maggie Valley Club (7.7 miles), Great Smoky Mountains National Park (17.7 miles), Wolf Ridge Ski Resort (68.4 miles)
LOCAL EATS: Joey's Pancake House (4.1 miles), Brickhouse Burgers & Pizza (4.5 miles), Country Vittles Family Style Restaurant (4.8 miles), Cafe Italiano Restaurant & Pizzeria (4.9 miles), Guayabitos (5.0 miles), Carver's Maggie Valley Restaurant Since 1952 (5.6 miles)
AIRPORT: Asheville Regional Airport (43.6 miles)
We arrived late and BARELY made it up the mountain. The road was completely terrible and washboarded gravel. It took us 45 min to go 6 miles. When we arrived, I immediately emailed our guest contact and again when our power went out about an hour later. It was out for a couple of hours. We finally located a light and a couple of candles. There were chipmunk inhabitants in the guest room closet, there was mold on the ceiling of the other bedroom. A few hours later, we left to go back down the mountain. I called our guest contact with our situation. My car (21 Ford Edge) would not make another trip up the mountain. I offer to pay for our one night we stayed, but the owners DID NOTHING about any of our concerns. I was on for hours...HOURS.. being passed from one person to the next. I would NEVER EVER rent from these owners or VRBO again. Neither did ANYTHING to help us. Absolutely nothing. DO NOT STAY IN THIS CABIN!!!!
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Owners response: "Kate, the right vacation home is everything, and we're disappointed if this wasn't the one for you.
- I'm sorry that you did not get a response from VRBO, I also spoke to the property manager and she did not get your message. We are available for all our guests, and we are sorry that you didn't have the experience that most of our guests have had. You could have reached out to the owner but they never heard from you
- 99.9% of our guests do not have any issues accessing the cabin except in snowy weather. The listing specifically states that this is a "mountain gravel road" and has verbiage about the drive to the cabin "The cabin is located up a gravel road up a mountain. If you have concerns about mountain driving, this may not be a suitable location. Regular cars can access the cabins from March through December but four-wheel drive is required if there is snow or ice. The road is not suitable for motorcycles". The cleaner and I were both able to make it to the cabin the day after you left and we both have cars and not 4-wheel drive vehicles. We encourage our guests to check in early during daylight hours if possible, we do not charge an early check-in fee
- We were aware that the power went out it was an area-wide issue but it was not out for hours it was only 1 1/2 hours, we get alerts on our phone so that we know what is happening even when no one is in the cabin
- We take cleanliness very seriously and have a team who works hard to keep this place in order, we do not have a mold issue or chipmunks who have inhabited the guest room closet
- We rely on both positive and negative reviews to make changes to our property description, to fix things that need fixing, and make this a home away from home. The cabin is remote and offers a secluded peaceful escape while still having modern comforts
We truly go above and beyond for our guests, and we are confident that future guests will have excellent stays! We will continue to deliver the 5-star experiences we are known for."
It is very rustic and off the beaten path.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.
Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.