House
4.8

'Smallwood' Cute Highlands Home w/ Screened Porch!

Property ID: 358954HighlandsNCUS
Sleeps 43 BR3 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.

Description

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and surrounded by hardwood trees and rhododendrons, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath vacation rental, nicknamed 'Smallwood,' will be your personal slice of heaven. Located at a dead-end road, this house provides privacy and serenity with easy access to the area's best sites. You will be just 2 miles to the eateries of Highlands Main Street and just minutes to cascading waterfalls. Fall in love with the porch and the charming, homey furnishings of this mountain hideaway!

Amenities

  • Essentials
  • Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Central Heating
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Central Air Conditioning

Map

Location Details

HIGHLANDS HIGHLIGHTS: Will Henry Stevens Covered Bridge (1.7 miles), The Bascom: Center for Visual Arts (1.8 miles), Recreation Park Swimming Pool (2.5 miles), Highlands Performing Arts Center (2.7 miles), Highlands Nature Center (2.8 miles), Sunset Rock (3.1 miles), Jackson Hole Gem Mine (7.1 miles)

GET OUTSIDE: Whiteside Mountain (7.5 miles), Lake Glenville (14.1 miles), Ski Sapphire Valley (14.1 miles), The Pines Recreation Area (19.2 miles), Gorges State Park (21.9 miles), Black Rock Mountain State Park (24.1 miles), Moonshine Mountain Snow Tubing Park (54.7 miles)

WATERFALLS: Bridal Veil Falls (1.2 miles), Dry Falls (1.9 miles), Glen Falls (4.3 miles), Bust Your Butt Falls (5.3 miles), Cullasaja Falls (7.5 miles), Cashiers Sliding Rock (11.8 miles), Hurricane Falls (13.3 miles), Turtleback Falls (22.5 miles)

EAT + DRINK: Wild Thyme Gourmet (2.2 miles), The Ugly Dog Public House - Highlands (2.4 miles), Lakeside Restaurant (2.5 miles), Ristorante Paoletti (2.5 miles), Whiteside Brewing Company (11.0 miles), El Manzanillo Mexican Restaurant (11.8 miles)

AIRPORTS: Asheville Regional Airport (58.4 miles), Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport (83.2 miles)

Reviews

4.8
35 reviews
  • YES

    5/5

    Decided to do this trip last minute during the Thanksgiving holiday and this stay was amazing! For our family of 4 this was the most user friendly stay. If you are a hiker/walker the water falls/trails are very close and the town center for any logistical needs is as well. Highly recommend to check in during daylight to get an initial lay of the land. My eastern NC family will be looking forward to staying again. We loved it and hopefully so will you.

    Ramon
    Published November 30, 2023
  • Great stay in the heart of Highlands

    5/5

    This is a very cute updated home in a lovely neighborhood. The screened in porch is great for outside sitting (no bugs!) and there is a deck as well. Plenty of space for 4 to 6 people. There is an apartment over the garage with beds as well. The only drawback is the steep staircase in the house so you need to be aware ahead of time.

    Gaby
    Published July 16, 2023
  • A step above!!

    5/5

    Our stay couldn't have been better! Great communication throughout. The Smallwoods cottage was absolutely charming and SO clean. The screened-in porch with the swing was fantastic. It's a great location, just right outside of town. We truly felt like we were at home and cannot even think of anything they could have done a better job on. Thank you!!

    Laura
    Published July 11, 2023
  • Petite, Private, Pleasant....PERFECT!

    5/5

    The Highlands area is a magical setting, and a stay at Smallwood made it even more so. Correspondence with the owners and check in was cordial and effortless. The sylvan setting is beautiful and the home was designed to capture that vista from the large windows in the main residence. Smallwood is extremely well appointed with comfortable furnishings, abundant tasteful artwork, big screen TVs, and a kitchen equipped with quality dish and glassware along with everything needed to prepare and enjoy fine meals along with a glass of wine. The screened back porch is spacious and a perfect place to curl up with a good book on the swinging daybed while daydreaming overlooking the forest. There is great attention to detail provided by the owners in every respect and it shows pride of ownership in the property. The place is well maintained and absolutely spotless--the cleanest of any rental home where I've ever stayed. We utilized the garage apartment as well as the main house during our stay and found both to be very accommodating with quality toiletries and fluffy towels. The immaculate garage was also very welcome as we were there for a classic car show in Highlands. I would not hesitate to recommend Smallwood for anyone seeking a beautiful escape in a pleasant, quiet setting. It was an exceptional stay!

    George
    Published June 25, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    From the owner: "George, I am so delighted that you felt at home at Smallwood and enjoyed it so much! You are so kind with your review, and I hope that you can look upon Smallwood as your mountain place in Highlands and will come back!"

  • Evolve Sucks

    1/5

    Realized I made an error in booking 30 seconds after I did so. Requested a refund immediately and it took 23 hours for Evolve to respond after many efforts to contact them. They refused the refund and denied date change request. Do not book...

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    jason b.
    Published November 15, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    "Jason, Thank you for providing this feedback. We missed the mark and we apologize. We’re sorry that we couldn't keep our promise to make vacation rentals easier for everyone. We understand your frustration and we take full responsibility. We did try to work with you to see if you wanted to change the dates of your trip and you declined. We understand that you wanted a refund but we have policies and as much as we'd like to say yes to everyone we have to abide by the rules and policies for all our owners.

    We would like you to know that the owner had nothing to do with this and they tried their best to get you what you wanted. This property has a strong history of 5-star reviews and their reviews show that their home is in a beautiful location communication with Marie is easy and she provides all the essential needs for anyone to stay in and relax in a comfortable, clean, and well-stocked environment.

    Our apologies and we wish you safe travels in the future."

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.

Add dates for prices
4.8
35 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Guests
Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Adults
0
Children
Ages 2-12
0
Infants
0