Cottage
4.43

Historic Vacation Rental in McComb w/ River Access

Property ID: 496776McCombMSUS
Sleeps 21 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.

Description

There’s no better place to escape the hustle and bustle of daily life than this charming 1-bedroom, 1-bathroom vacation rental cottage in McComb, Mississippi. This restored 1890s abode comes equipped with a cozy living room with a fireplace, a screened-in patio for sipping your morning coffee, and access to the Bogue Chitto River. Feel like venturing out? Consider practicing your swing at the Fernwood Country Club or checking out Percy E Quin State Park.

Amenities

  • Kitchen
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Self Check-In

Map

Location Details

OUTDOOR FUN: Bogue Chitto Water Park and RV Campground (4 miles), Percy E Quin State Park (14 miles), Holmes Water Park (14 miles)

GOLF DAYS: Fernwood Country Club (12 miles), Quail Hollow Golf Course (15 miles)

NEARBY TOWNS: McComb (11 miles), Magnolia (12 miles), Summit (13 miles), Tylertown (13 miles), Hattiesburg (67 miles), Baton Rouge (91 miles)

AIRPORT: Baton Rouge Metropolitan Airport (82 miles)

Reviews

4.43
14 reviews
  • BAD REVIEW

    1/5

    I found the cabin and went in. I knew there was no WIFI, however I did think the TV would work without it. I was there for work. I could not get the TV to do anything other than come on. I called Jane and could not get an answer or a call back. When I walked across the floor it sound like everything on the walls was going to fall off. It said in the book not to leave garbage on the back porch. There were no garbage bags at all to put in the garbage cans inside to put the garbage in. I borrowed a garbage bag from my coworker just so I would not leave any garbage laying around.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    CAROLYN
    Published March 8, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Carolyn, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    - We strive to provide our guests with a great guest experience, so we were disappointeed to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay, and want to take a moment to address your concerns.
    - We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the TV not working without Wi-Fi. As noted in the listing we do not have Wi-Fi available, in rural areas, cell reception can be spotty, affecting both Wi-Fi availability and TV streaming. While we don't currently offer Wi-Fi, guests often use their cellphones as hotspots if they have reception.
    - We understand your concerns about the noise coming from the floor. I will personally inspect this to ensure everything is secure and stable.
    - We apologize for the oversight regarding the availability of garbage bags. Spare bags are typically stored in the storage closet on the screen porch, and we regret any inconvenience caused by not having them readily accessible.
    Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve, and we appreciate your understanding of the challenges that can arise in rural areas. Should you decide to give us another chance in the future, we will do everything possible to ensure a more enjoyable stay.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • BAD REVIEW

    1/5

    I found the cabin and went in. I knew there was no WIFI, however I did think the TV would work without it. I was there for work. I could not get the TV to do anything other than come on. I called Jane and could not get an answer or a call back. When I walked across the floor it sound like everything on the walls was going to fall off. It said in the book not to leave garbage on the back porch. There were no garbage bags at all to put in the garbage cans inside to put the garbage in. I borrowed a garbage bag from my coworker just so I would not leave any garbage laying around.

    CAROLYN
    Published February 29, 2024
  • 5/5

    The property was well maintained and very quiet!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Colleen
    Published January 12, 2024
  • Thanksgiving vacay

    5/5

    Everything was great! Very cozy and comfortable.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Colleen
    Published January 12, 2024
  • Best rental yet!

    5/5

    I have stayed in rentals up and down both the east and west coast, all along the gulf coast and in, at least, 15 states in the interior of the USA. I feel that I have a pretty good pool of experience to draw from when I say that this cabin was one of the best we stayed in. Quiet, secluded, intimate, yet close enough that 20 minutes either east or west put you in a town that had whatever you needed. You cannot go wrong with this cabin, the location, the hosts; all top notch. We plan on returning in the Spring and renting this cabin and the other close by for our whole family.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    john
    Published January 11, 2024
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.

Add dates for prices
4.43
14 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Guests
Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 2 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Adults
0
Children
Ages 2-12
0
Infants
0