Ottawa Lake Home w/BBQ Patio, 15 Mi to Toledo

Property ID: 430697Ottawa LakeMIUS
Sleeps 62 BR2.5 BA


Explore Ottawa Lake, a small town right on the border of Ohio and Michigan, from this 2-bedroom 2.5-bath vacation rental! Featuring custom furniture, a private wooded backyard, and fire pit area, this home lies just 15 miles outside of Toledo, Ohio, offering a great base for days spent perusing the town or attending an event at the University of Toledo. Nearby, you’ll find multiple golf courses and the Indian Creek Zoo, offering plenty of activities for large groups visiting the area!


  • Kitchen
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Cable/Satellite TV


Location Details

LAKE ERIE: John Fisher's Marina (11.6 miles), North Maumee Bay Boat Ramp (11.8 miles), Lost Peninsula Marina (15.0 miles), City of Luna Pier Public Beach and Pier (16.0 miles), Bay View Park (17.6 miles), Maumee Bay State Park (26.6 miles)

FAMILY FUN: Harroun Community Park (3.0 miles), The Lathrop House (3.5 miles), Indian Creek Zoo (5.2 miles), Fossil Park (6.1 miles), Orlander Park (6.9 miles), WIldwood Park/Manor House (6.9 miles), Blair Museum of Lithophanes (7.9 miles), The University of Toledo (9.2 miles), Toledo Firefighters Museum (9.7 miles), Secor Metropark (10.8 miles), Ottawa Park (12.5 miles)

DOWNTOWN TOLEDO (14.7 miles): Toledo Museum of Art, Glass Pavillion, Pythian Castle, Imagination Station, Promenade Park, International Park, Farmers’ Market, Toledo Zoo Aquarium, Holywood Casino Toledo, vibrant arts, variety of shops & restaurants

WINERIES: Four Fires Meadery (14.3 miles), Benfield Wines (17.7 miles), Flying Otter Winery (22.9 miles), Majestic Oak Winery (28.2 miles), American Winery (36.9 miles)

GOLF: Cherrywood Golf Club (2.6 miles), Maple Grove Golf Course (3.9 miles), Highland Meadows Golf Club (4.5 miles), Quarry Ridge Golf Course (5.1 miles), Crooked Creek Golf Course (5.4 miles), Bedford Hills Golf Club (5.8 miles), Legacy by Arthur Hills (6.7 miles), Cottonwood Creek Public 9-Hole Executive Golf Course (10.1 miles)

AIRPORTS: Toledo Express Airport (17.9 miles), Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (55.0 miles)


19 reviews
  • Nice break


    We had a nice break from the normal hustle of everyday life.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published May 25, 2024
  • Ottawa House


    The home is older and could use work. The check-in email said there would be a box with the key so we wandered around looking for it- didn’t exist. Discovered front door was unlocked. Greeted by an extremely pungent egg/ sulphur smell. Note on counter said home is on well,but living with that smell was unpleasant. The home was dusty. Dead bugs and cobwebs on windowsill. Son found dead ants in his bed. Water damage and peeling on bathroom ceiling. Felt like you were in grandma’s house who is no longer able to keep up with maintenance and cleaning. My asthmatic son was having to use his nebulizer daily. Patio was disorganized. Chairs and tables clumped together like that hadn’t been prepared for our arrival. Also, no dining table which makes eating meals a challenge for a family. Kids were counting down the days until we would leave. We did our best to spend as little time in the home as possible. Location was good.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published July 18, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Anonymous, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    - We strive to provide our guests with a great guest experience, so we were disappointed to hear your feedback and want to take a moment to address your concerns.
    - We sincerely apologize for any confusion during check-in. You are correct, we have followed up with Evolve to ensure the mention of a box with a key is removed from the check-in instructions so future guests don't share the same experience.
    - The water is on well water with a softening system, and sometimes if the water is not run an odor can occur. Moving forward, we will have the water ran and checked prior to each guest's arrival.
    - We use a cleaning service to have the home professionally cleaned before each guest's stay and have since followed up with our cleaning service to ensure they pay closer attention to detail. Sheets are changed in between guest stays and the home is treated on a regular basis by a professional pest control company. We will further investigate your concern.
    - Moisture can occur when the shower is running and this has caused paint to peel, we will follow up with our maintenance team to address and remedy the issue.
    - Due to the rain we had experienced prior to your arrival, the patio furniture had been stacked to avoid any water damage, but we're sorry if this caused a negative impact on your stay.
    - We use professional photography for the home, so the features you see on the listing are accurately advertised, which includes a photo of the dining table. Additionally, other tables are available in the home should guests need them. We wish you had reached out during your stay, we would have promptly responded and been more than happy to help, as we typically have a table stored in the garage.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Poor experience


    I do not recommend this location. There are bugs on beds and walls. There is a noticeable "mold" type odor upon entering. If you speak with the manager, they will ignore your emails for several days and then place blame on you. We ending leaving after the first night and staying in a hotel.

    Published June 2, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Ashley, we want our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we apologize you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    - We strive to provide our guests with a great guest experience so we were disappointed to hear we missed the mark.
    - We use a professional pest control company that treats the property on a regular basis as a preventative measure and confirm there were no issues or infestations of pests found. We confirmed there were three stink bugs, however, these are indigenous to Michigan in the hot weather.
    - We are uncertain about the "mold" type odor you mentioned in your feedback, we have since been to the property and can assure you no odor of mold was detected.
    - We understand how important communication is to our guests before and during their stay, so after hearing your comments, we further investigated and could not find any missed calls, emails or text messages from you. Had we received any communication, we would have promptly responded and been more than happy to help address any issues or concerns you may have had immediately.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Nice stay


    Had a nice stay at this house. Owner was great to communicate with. Definitely would stay again.

    Published May 1, 2023
  • Great place


    Great place to go and settle down for weekend

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    John G.
    Published April 11, 2023
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

19 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12