Charming Retreat w/ Deck ~ 4 Mi From Casco Bay!

Property ID: 455478Orr's IslandMEUS
Sleeps 64 BR2.5 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Take a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and escape to the Northeast! Situated outside of Portland, this 4-bedroom, 2.5-bath vacation rental features cozy living spaces, a private yard, and an ideal location with great views of the water. Lace up your hiking boots and explore the several hiking trails on Orr’s Island, then head to a local brewery for a post-hike beverage. Following your outdoor adventures, retreat to the home’s spacious deck for a cookout and an al fresco meal!


  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Kitchen
  • Near Ocean
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Washer
  • Self Check-In


Location Details

THINGS TO SEE & DO: Houghton Graves Park (0.7 miles), Bailey Island Bridge (1.7 miles), Bailey Island (2.7 miles), Cedar Beach (2.8 miles), Casco Bay (4.1 miles), Bowdoin College (12.4 miles), Freeport Outlets (19.5 miles)

HIT THE TRAILS: Devil's Back Trail Area (2.1 miles), Cliff Trail (4.6 miles), Neptune Woods Mountain Bike Trails (12.4 miles), Crystal Spring Farm - Garden Trail (12.5 miles), Calderwood Trails Trailhead (16.5 miles), Hedgehog Mountain Trail Head (21.6 miles), Denny Reed Trail Head (26.5 miles)

BREWERIES: Flight Deck Brewing (12.0 miles), Black Pug Brewing Company (12.7 miles), Moderation Brewing (12.8 miles), Trinken Brewing Co. (15.3 miles), Bath Brewing Company (17.3 miles), Stars & Stripes Brewing Company (20.7 miles), Maine Beer Company (21.1 miles)

LOCAL EATERIES: Cook's Lobster & Ale House (2.5 miles), School House 1913 (5.8 miles), Allen’s Seafood (8.2 miles), Gurnet Trading Co. (8.4 miles), Erica’s Seafood (13.7 miles), Dolphin Marina & Restaurant (13.9 miles)

PORTLAND SIGHTS (~37 miles): Portland Head Light, Portland Museum of Art, Peaks Island, Children’s Museum & Theatre of Maine, Bug Light, Victoria Mansion, Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad, Crescent Beach State Park, Palace Playland, International Cryptozoology Museum, Two Lights State Park

AIRPORT: Portland International Jetport (40.5 miles)


3 reviews
  • Orr's Island


    Large spacious home with lots of room to spread out especially if traveling with another group. The back deck has views of the water through the trees. We enjoyed coffee in the mornings and sunsets in the evenings. Might suggest a picnic table or larger table for family meals. There is a small glass table but, it is a large deck with plenty of room to enjoy more seating/dining. The furnishing are comfortable and the kitchen well stocked. Lots of seating inside. The pillows were thin and no extras provided. There were 6 of us staying and provided 1 bath towel per person(ok with that). No face cloths or extra hand towels. Only 1 kitchen towel for the week. I realize water is a premium on the island but an extra kitchen towel and face cloths should be available. The backyard is beautifully landscaped with lovely terraced gardens but, not particularly made for young children to play. We enjoyed our stay on Orr's Island and plan to return next year. The home is suited for adults and older children. For that reason we may look for another property as we travel with our grandchildren.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Janis K.
    Published July 18, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Janis, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    - We're glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay but would like to take a moment to address your concerns.
    - We only provide guests with 1 bath towel per guest during their stay and are encouraged to bring any additional towels/facecloths they may need during their stay. In addition, we do provide a washing machine for our guest's use.
    - We take our listing accuracy seriously and note on the listing, "not suitable for children (high deck)," but we're sorry if you missed that information when making your reservation.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Cute older home with a great view of the beach


    This is a cute, older home with a great view of the beach. Orr's Island is gorgeous. I had a lot of coffee sitting on the back porch looking at the ocean. Beautiful lawn. It is on a well, which is extremely common when you're staying on an Island, so keep that in mind if you have a lot of water usage for some reason. My only ding to bring it down to four stars is that there is no air conditioning, so it was a bit too hot this August for that. The website should be updated to reflect the lack of AC, which again is pretty common in Maine; the temperature would have been perfect through June or fall. The ocean breeze kept things cool at night (actually a bit cold which old ladies like me love in menopause lol.) The house itself was very spacious, and my kids loved having a downstairs to run around in. We loved having the master upstairs away from the kids lol. Four out of Five.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Sarah N.
    Published September 12, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Sarah, we're glad you enjoyed your stay overall! The homeowner wanted to share the following: "Thank you! We have looked into purchasing a portable A/C unit for those few days when the temperature is exceptionally high. Unfortunately, the first day of your visit was one of those days. It is rare that A/C is needed with the ocean breeze that keeps things cool. As you noted, it's even a bit chilly at night. We are glad you enjoyed your stay."

  • Description is deceiving


    Overall house was pretty clean, although mostly outdated appliances they worked good. Dishes in cabinet especially glasses were very dirty looking with some kind of film on them, maybe due to brand of dishwasher detergent. But had anything in kitchen you would need except they didn’t have any dishrags, they want to to wipe down counters but only have hand towels. master bath tub was dirty when we arrived, says steps to Casco bay but they don’t allow you access to walk there, they don’t mention that only 1 person can take a shower at a time, which is very inconvenient For a family of 7 needing to get ready, downstairs shower only drips water so everyone had to use upstairs master bath, washing machine drizzles water and takes forever to fill up, had plenty of room in the house for everyone to not feel cramped, beds were comfy, I slept great with the windows open and the fan on it was very cool in there. You also have to take the trash and the recycling to the trash dump yourself. Went there one day to take trash off and they were closed even though it was a day they were suppose to be open. And they also don’t mention when booking that you can’t have any visitors over. I had family come down from vermont to Maine at the same time and they couldn’t even come over and visit.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published July 13, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi there, we’re sorry your stay fell short of expectations. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    -The home is always professionally cleaned before each check-in, and the owner confirmed that they inspected it before your arrival and didn't see any cleanliness issues with the glasses, unfortunately, it is well water and may cause lime deposits on it. Our professional cleaning team is responsible for ensuring a clean kitchen for all guests
    -As is standard for vacation rentals, we provide a starter supply of paper essentials for guests’ convenience along with dish towels. We appreciate the feedback and suggestion for dishcloths to accommodate our future guests
    -We apologize that the check-out instructions for the trash were not straightforward. While we provide that information in the listing we will endeavor to review it and see how we can clarify the instructions so this issue does not recur for future travelers
    -We have taken steps to update our listing to remove "Steps to Casco Bay" for our listing to be accurately advertised
    -We provide plenty of details in the listing description about the property being well water and mindful of conservation of water usage
    -We apologize for the water issues you were having during your stay. However, we discovered if multiple people are using the shower at the same time the pressure will be low. We replaced the heads with handheld showerheads to accommodate our future guests
    The owner works hard to provide an ideal stay for all guests, and we look forward to this home hosting many happy travelers!

  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

3 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12