Cheerful Grand Rivers Cottage, 1/2 Mi to Lake

Property ID: 471184Grand RiversKYUS
Sleeps 63 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


With Kentucky Lake on one side, Cumberland River on the other, and many restaurants like Patti’s 1880’s Settlement within walking distance of this ideally located vacation rental, it’s hard to ask for a better place to escape. Find a charming town that’s renovated with new murals, sculptures, concert plans, and drive-in movies just across the street — you can even catch a sunset along Lighthouse Landing’s sandy banks. Enjoy the patio, deck, or porch while you grill at this 3-bed, 1-bath abode.


  • Deck
  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Central Heating
  • Self Check-In
  • Central Air Conditioning


Location Details

KENTUCKY LAKE (Lighthouse Landing Resort & Marina, 0.5 miles): Fishing, boating, kayaking, Barkley Dam Boat Ramp (2.8 miles)

OUTDOOR ADVENTURE: Green Turtle Bay Resort & Marina (Cumberland River, 1.1 miles), Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area (1.1 miles), Kentucky Dam Village (5.5 miles), Calvert City Golf & Country Club (9.0 miles)

FAMILY TIME: Maggie's Jungle Golf (6.9 miles), Kentucky Shores Family Fun Center and Zip Lines (8.0 miles), Kentucky Opry Theatre (11.1 miles), Ralph's Harborview Bar & Grill (17.7 miles)

AIRPORTS: Barkley Regional Airport-Pah (35.6 miles), Nashville International Airport (121 miles)


19 reviews
  • Disappointed


    Ant problem in kitchen, front door wouldnt open far enough to get in, Back door no stable stairs or railing for elderly guest. Pictures are deceiving not decorated at all like them, not good lighting in dining area to eat. Bedrooms decorated nicely but matresses are awful.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published May 26, 2024
  • No southern hospitality here.


    This old house was bare bones. We even had to go buy more toilet paper. The front door screen didn’t open all the way. Does in the house stuck and had to be forced open. Drips all over the floor from years of touch up painting. Roach droppings in the kitchen. The hand soap and dish soap containers almost empty. Peeling paint in the bathroom. when I reached out for help with an extremely uncomfortable bed I was answered with disrespect and curtness. This solution wound up being just to flip over the heated bed cover that had been put on upside down.

    Published April 15, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Paul, the right vacation home is everything, and we're disappointed if this wasn't the one for you. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    - We encourage guests to thoroughly review the listing before booking, to ensure they find the perfect vacation home for their needs. The listing does state that this is a rustic cottage, but we’re sorry if this caught you off guard. We wish you had reached out to us during your stay. We would've been more than happy to resolve your concerns and make your stay more comfortable.
    - We want all of our guests to rest easy. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t comfortable during your stay. We do know that mattress preference is unique to each guest and while we try to accommodate all guests' comfort, mattress taste is subjective. We're sorry the mattress didn't meet your preferences.
    - As is standard in the vacation rental industry, the owner provides a starter amount of essentials, and once that amount is out, it's typical for the guest to purchase more supplies, especially for longer stays or larger groups. While we try to accommodate all our guests' needs, we're sorry the complimentary supplies didn't meet your preferences.
    - We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Since the cottage is surrounded by nature, pests can be found in the area and occasionally enter if doors or windows are left open. However, we have not seen the types of pests that you mentioned. We do have ongoing pest control that manages and protects the cottage from these issues.
    - While we regret our home was not up to your expectations, we’re happy to share that our most recent guests reported no issues.
    - We truly go above and beyond for our guests and are confident that future guests will have a wonderful stay!

  • Grand Rivers Easter Adventure


    House stay was great . House was just as expected. Loved how we can walk to Patti's ,and Craig's. Happy to see an actual full length mirror. Easy check in and out.

    Published April 4, 2024
  • Disappointing


    I didn't read the reviews prior to staying, but now that I have, I am disappointed to find out that the issues I had, were noted by previous guests going back more than a year. There was an odor, I had to buy a candle to cover it, one guest said it was musty but it smelled like a dog to me. The other was mice, if you have mice holes in your walls you know you have mice. We did not see droppings but we heard them eating in the walls and one night a mouse ran into my phone leaned against the base board charging. Scared it and us. And lastly, it is not professionally cleaned. Nasty baseboards, dirty window sills, mold on the freezer door seal, etc. If I am paying to have the property cleaned it needs to be more than a "mop and dust" clean. Old homes are going to have issues but take action and fix them when they are reported. Evolve manages this property and they have the home owner as "boots on the ground" which is a serious conflict of interest. I will always read reviews from now on.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published March 28, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Debra, thank you for your review. We’ve passed your feedback along to the homeowner, so they can continue to improve for future guests. We hope to host you again in the future!

  • Getaway


    Very relaxing and enjoyable

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published February 9, 2024
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

19 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12