Renovated Schoolhouse w/ Piano & Private Deck!

Property ID: 473173FlorenceKSUS
Sleeps 84 BR5.5 BA


Who said taking a break and going to school had to be mutually exclusive? This 4-bedroom 5.5-bathroom home in Florence, Kansas is a historic building from 1889. The former Arnold School is now a roomy vacation rental with a garden, a fireplace, and blackboards. If you want a field trip, Marion County Lake and Marion Reservoir are just a short drive away for swimming, fishing, and lakeside leisure. Kids of all ages will love this unique retreat with chalkboards and a private deck for relaxing.


  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Self Check-In
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Central Heating
  • Essentials
  • Laptop Friendly
  • Washer
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Deck
  • Free Parking
  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed


Location Details

OUTDOOR RECREATION: Unity Park (0.1 miles), Marion County Lake (9 miles), Cottonwood Point at Marion Reservoir (19 miles) Chase State Fishing Lake (23 miles), Chase Lake Falls Trail (23 miles), Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve (27 miles)

HISTORIC SITES: Historic Chase County Courthouse (25 miles), Kaw Mission State Historic Park (44 miles), Pioneer Jail (44 miles), Trail Days Cafe and Museum (44 miles), Allegawaho Memorial Heritage Park (45 miles)

DAY TRIPS: Wichita (54 miles), Topeka (98 miles), Lawrence (122 miles), Kansas City (153 miles)

AIRPORT: Wichita Dwight D Eisenhower National Airport (60 miles)


1 review
  • Do not rent


    This property is not ready for renting. To start with the gas company had turned off the gas, I can only surmise because the bill hadn't been paid in a while. So we had no gas for the cooking stove and no hot water. We checked in on Friday after making our appointment with the senior citizen across the street to get the key. The owner said she talked to the gas company and they would be out first thing Saturday morning. Of course no one showed up so we finally left since we didn't want to take cold showers and we couldn't cook our food. The microwave was the size of a little dorm that barely fits a coffee cup. The coffee maker was like a motel size. The disposal didn't work and the sink didn't drain well. The refrigerator had mold in it like the electricity had be shut off. One bathroom was out of order which wasn't too big of a deal since there were 5 others. The air conditioner in the "pink" room didn't work so it was hot since we were in an excessive heat warning. There were no curtains on the main floor and only one room had enough curtains to cover all windows. So you couldn't get undressed in the bedrooms at night. There were 2 places to sit in the picture online but there was only one small couch to sit in the living room. We were renting for 8 people so there should be enough sofa room for your maximum guests. The bar stools do not fit the height of the counter in the kitchen dining area. There are no handrails on the wooden stairs. I could continue but I'm maxed out.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Rhonda J.
    Published August 23, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Owner's response: "Rhonda, We are rent-ready, we have had guests every month since the house was listed on Evolve. Our guests have included people in town for work, 2 family bookings for family functions, a guest who was in town for a bicycle rally, and a guest who was in town just to enjoy the house. We already have a return booking in 2024.
    - The gas was shut off the day before you arrived, we did not get a notice from the gas company. When we were notified we called the gas company and took care of the issue and were advised the gas would be turned back on the next day, we were then advised it would be on Monday. This was an unfortunate incident and we expressly apologize to you about the shut-off. We also spoke to Evolve and asked for a refund to be issued for the inconvenience. We hoped this would have made things better.
    - Our property manager is a sweet and attentive senior who lives across the street. She provides the key to all our guests and enjoys meeting people and helping in any way she can. She is available day or night and she takes care of any needs you may have. We were heartbroken to see what you wrote about her, and wish you had been more understanding and courteous.
    - We apologize to you for not having any hot water. We understand your frustration and disappointment with your planned family get-together.
    - The microwave is small and we will be purchasing a larger unit.
    - The coffee maker only makes 4 cups at a time, we will purchase a larger coffee maker.
    - We contacted a plumber about the disposal and sink draining slowly, and they were able to come out a few days later. They confirmed that the disposal needed to be repaired as it was due to normal wear and tear like any appliance. A new disposal is on order and will be installed soon.
    - We did not have the electricity turned off, we had guests in the house the week before you arrived. We did not receive any notification about the ice, we did come to the house and everything has been cleaned and cleared out.
    - We scheduled a repair for the toilet in the mudroom bathroom, and it has been fixed.
    - We have had the HVAC company out and they serviced three of the fixed A/C units at the house. All were low on freon, the pink room A/C wasn't working because it was the unit with the least amount of freon. All units were serviced and are operational.
    - The photos in the listing clearly show the amount of bedroom and living room furniture, along with the amount of curtains. The bedrooms are 25 feet up from the ground, so there is no possibility of anyone seeing a person changing.
    - To all potential guests, we are making changes and improvements to the home. We have had a brand new 8-person sectional delivered to the house and it is set up beautifully in the living room. We moved things around and the furniture from the living room has been moved to the dining room to make a cozy gathering place for guests.
    - The bar stools are brand new and standard height. The kitchen was custom built so the breakfast bar is higher than normal, this is not something that we can adjust.
    - We have a built-in stair rail for our guest's safety and the new handrail is in the house but needs to be installed on the off-side stair wall. We anticipate that being done in the next few weeks.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests. We strive for those 5-star reviews that we know we can deliver."

  • 1
1 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 8 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12