Indiana Vacation Rental Near Lake Michigan

Property ID: 489476ValparaisoINUS
Sleeps 42 BR1 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Head to this charming 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom Valparaiso vacation rental for a relaxing retreat with easy access to all the area’s adventures! Visit Indiana Dunes National Park to explore trails and beaches along the coastline or stay local and launch your boat on Long Lake. After shopping in downtown Valparaiso or a day trip to Chicago, your group can enjoy quality time at this cozy cottage, complete with a full kitchen, a Smart TV, and a beautiful semi-wooded backyard.


  • Deck
  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Washer
  • Laptop Friendly
  • Central Heating
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Self Check-In


Location Details

EXPLORE OUTDOORS: Long Lake Public Access Site (0.4 miles), Indiana Dunes National Park (10 miles), Lake Street Beach (19 miles)

THINGS TO DO: 49'er Drive-in (3 miles), Downtown Valparaiso (5 miles), Brauer Museum of Art (8 miles)

NEARBY DESTINATIONS: Michigan City (20 miles), Gary (22 miles), Chicago (52 miles)

AIRPORTS: Gary/Chicago International Airport (27 miles), Chicago Midway International Airport (55 miles), O’Hare International Airport (76 miles)


2 reviews
  • Could use improvement


    We were pleased when we were approved for an early check-in since we had been driving 11 hours. Upon check-in inspection of the home we noticed the home wasn't very clean and it was questionable if the sheets were even clean the beds weren't made the sheets were thrown on the bed as of a child made his bed in a hurry to leave for school. there was pet hair on the floor in the bathroom in the kitchen around the home paw prints the kitchen had spills on the cabinets and floor looks like coffee. stainless steel appliances had fingerprints and grime all over the microwave hadn't been cleaned out or wiped out the microwave light did not work there was food left in the refrigerator from previous guests. Dishes in the cabinets we're supposedly clean but we're filthy I had to rewash all of the dishes before using. The house is only equipped with one fry pan multiple pots that were filthy the one fry pan was a s*** show attempting to cook breakfast with one fry pan extremely frustrating especially when this fry pan just burns everything because it's crap. The home provided a washer and dryer in the basement however no laundry soap was provided the home provided two rolls of toilet paper for four people and a 4-day stay the home provided dish soap in the kitchen and an empty hand soap in the bathroom the water from the refrigerator filtered water dispenser smelt and tasted like sewage filter needed to be replaced. Either the home or the neighbor's home has water constantly flowing down into the driveway that made the driveway and mud pit. The deck is poorly lite for night coming and going. The lower level of steps are spaced further then normal and not lite causing us to trip. Overall the home gets a 5 out of 10

    Published March 20, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Krissy, we're sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your stay. After reading your feedback, the homeowner wanted to share the following:
    We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness oversights during your stay. We take the cleanliness of our property very seriously, and we're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. You requested early check-in one hour before your arrival, which was 4 hours early. While we were happy to accommodate your request on this occasion, it did limit the time our cleaning crew had to prepare the home.
    Thanks for leaving your review.

  • Not our favorite VRBO


    The cleanliness of the home was definitely lacking. We travel a great deal all over the US and always opt for home/flat rentals. Typically they are spotless and comfortable. This one was far from clean. The stove was dirty, rbe floors looked like they hadn't been swept, the window panes had debris/dirt. The coffee pot looked like it was dirty, but perhaps it was just stained. The ice/water feature of the refrigerator wasn't operational which was very annoying. We also check that ice and water are available before booking. We could clearly see the refrigerator offered both. Additionally, the fridge didn't look very clean. But again, maybe it was just an older model.The dining room table seats two, we squeezed our 7 year old grandson in with a folding chair. The "couch" seats two. There was no place for our grandson to sit tho we clearly identified 3 people in our booking. The master bedroom was spacious and the bed was ok. More pillows and blankets would have been nice tho. The second bedroom was also spacious enough, but the bed was so hard we actually thought they forgot to put the actual mattress on top of the box spring. By the second morning, our grandson (again he is 7 and without any physical ailments) couldn't even bend over to get dressed or put his shoes on. They were great about communicating,And they did let us have an early checking. It was also very accommodating for our dog. Overall tho, because of the cleanliness, comfort level of the second bed, lack of seating, extra blankets and pillows and general location, we wouldn't book again.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Dawn W.
    Published April 25, 2023
  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

2 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12