Rustic Iowa Cabin: 10 Mi to Maquoketa Caves

Property ID: 412569SpraguevilleIAUS
Sleeps 124 BR2 BA


Embark on a rural retreat in beautiful Jackson County at this 4-bed, 2-bath Spragueville vacation rental cabin! 'Pine Green Hideaway' offers all the modern amenities of home, like a full kitchen and flat-screen TV, while putting you right in the heart of the outdoors. Explore the miles of ATV trails at Whispering Meadows Resort or head to the famous Maquoketa Caves State Park for a hike. When the evening winds down, step out on the porch for some stargazing under the pollution-free night sky.


  • Deck
  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Free Parking
  • Central Heating
  • Central Air Conditioning


Location Details

OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES: Bellevue State Park (10 miles), Maquoketa Caves State Park (18 miles), Crystal Lake Cave (30 miles), EB Lyons Interpretive Center (32 miles), National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium (36 miles), StoryBook Hill Children’s Zoo (37 miles), hiking, cross-country skiing, biking, ATV riding, horseback riding

FISHING SPOTS: Dalton Pond State Fishing Access Area (13 miles), Hurstville Fishing Pond (13 miles), Big Mill Creek Access (18 miles), Eagle Point Fishing Barge (43 miles)

NEARBY TOWNS: Bellevue (11 miles), Maquoketa (12 miles), Dubuque (36 miles)

AIRPORT: Quad Cities International Airport (62 miles)


14 reviews
  • Perfect place to stay if you love the outdoors!


    The stay with our kids and grandchildren was crazy and fun. Plenty of bedrooms, huge bathrooms, and a very accommodating common area gave us plenty of space for all ages. The trails are amazing. Steve is one of the friendliest hosts you will ever find. Fun for everyone!

    Published October 2, 2023
  • Nice place for a group


    We had a nice stay with a family of 12. Plenty of sleeping room and enough seating to eat all together. The place is rustic and very much off the beaten path so it’s best if you plan to stay around the cabin. We enjoyed the hiking trails when the ATVs weren’t on them and the pond was lovely. Also beautiful at night since you can see so many stars. Steve was a great host and checked on us to make sure we didn’t need anything.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Amanda C.
    Published December 13, 2022
  • We loved our stay. It was a great long weekend get away.


    Steve was amazing. 3 couples went and we enjoyed it so much. The property was beautiful. We will definitely be back.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    crystal r.
    Published July 15, 2022
  • Secluded and Relaxing


    My family and I enjoyed this property; it was secluded and relaxing! The snow surprised us with traveling restrictions getting up the driveway, but we appreciated the land. Would had appreciated a washer/dryer and full WiFi capabilities (property utilized a hotspot with data limits; no Verizon cell service). Overall, this was a great stay and I would definitely utilize this property again!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Raymond S.
    Published January 19, 2022
  • Had to find a hotel at 9pm


    As the other reviews were good, I can only assume that something odd happened this time. We arrived at 9pm and the house had not been cleaned since the previous stay. There were dirty linens piled on the couch, beds, and in the bathroom. There were dead bugs everywhere. Steve was apologetic. I contacted VRBO and was told the only way to get a refund is if the cancellation is initiated by the owner, but they would send a courtesy email on my behalf. I was then contacted by a property management company named Evolve. I sent photos of the home condition and received a notice of refund from Evolve, but was told that I needed to contact VRBO again to get a refund of fees. I am supposed to receive the return of the fees in 10-14 days after the refund from the management company. I realize unfortunate things just happen sometimes and although it was a little too much work on my part to request a refund, I'm hoping it's all resolved now.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Duane L.
    Published November 10, 2021
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Daune, we want our guests to arrive at a vacation home that is 100% ready for their stay, so we take the cleanliness of our properties seriously. We are very sorry that the cabin was not ready upon arrival, and we have followed up with the homeowner and cleaning team to ensure this will not happen again. We confirmed that you did receive a full refund, and we hope that helped make up for any inconvenience you felt.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

14 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 12 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12