Away from the major resorts and congested touristy areas sits this sweet and simple 1-bath studio cabin in Pahoa. Inside, you'll find all the essentials of an easy-breezy vacation rental, including free WiFi, complimentary toiletries, and a well-equipped kitchen for all your mealtime needs. When you're ready to venture out and explore, catch some waves at Kaimu Beach, or take in breathtaking views at Rainbow Falls. For a bit more sightseeing, check out the parks and gardens in downtown Hilo.
SWIM, TAN, SNORKEL: Kaimu Beach Park (8.9 miles), Hawaiian Beaches Park (9.8 miles), Kehena Black Sand Beach (12.1 miles), Pohoiki Black Sand Beach (19.7 miles), Isaac Hale Park (19.7 miles), Onekahakaha Beach Park (24.7 miles), Carlsmith Beach Park (25.4 miles)
ISLAND ADVENTURE: Lava Tree State Monument (6.1 miles), Kapoho Tide Pools (11.9 miles), Wailuku River State Park (24.5 miles), Rainbow Falls (24.6 miles), Hawaii Tropical Bioreserve & Garden (30.4 miles), Akaka Falls State Park (38.8 miles), Mauna Loa Observatory (65.9 miles)
EXPLORE HILO: Panaewa Rainforest Zoo (19.5 miles), Liliuokalani Park and Gardens (23.0 miles), Downtown Hilo (23.1 miles), Pacific Tsunami Museum (23.4 miles), Hilo Farmers Market (23.8 miles), Kaumana Caves (26.5 miles)
AIRPORT: Hilo International Airport (23.3 miles)
Truly a cozy cottage, with all the amenity we needed. We would definitely recommend our friends to stay there.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
The location is a quiet, tropical neighborhood. The cabin (one of three on the property) was older, but seemed to have everything as advertised. We immediately noticed that the screen door at the entrance was misaligned so it would not shut properly. So we had to shut the solid front door to keep the mosquitoes and other critters out, which, in a small place, reduces the airflow on a hot day. The trash bin inside did not have a solid lid, which in the tropics is important. The bed linen smelled fresh, but had stains on them. The tray for the dish rack at the sink had small black droppings and in general the shelves in the kitchen and the plates had the same issue. We soon realized where they came from. Very small to medium sized roaches everywhere after we returned in the evening. They came out of our bags and just were everywhere. We contacted the agency that acts as the middle man and talked to someone about the problem. They contacted the property manager ( homeowner on site) and even though they offered to come and spray some “harmless” insecticide inside the cabin we were so sceeved out that we decided to demand a refund and leave the next morning. Needles to say we barely slept. We had to clean all our bags diligently to make sure we don’t take some of the roaches with us. The agency was very helpful and we got our refund. Now we had to find a place to stay for the 10 days!!! Not easy and more expensive then what we had booked here. We understand that pretty much any place in Hawaii has roaches, but they can be managed and our cabin was just not managed well. We are hoping that the owners learnt to stay on top of the maintenance and cleanliness of their rental. We pay a lot of money for the cleaning and then it’s not even ready for the next renter! Very disappointed.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Hi Sabine, we want all of our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we're sorry that you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following: We're sorry to hear that you did not have the five-star experience we endeavor to provide our guests.
- We weren't aware of any issue with the screen door. We wish you had reached out to our local Guest Contact during your stay if there were any issues you needed to be addressed. We would have done everything we could to resolve them immediately so that you could enjoy the home
- We sincerely apologize for the pests that impacted your stay. We had the exterminator spray the unit several times before. To ensure efficiency, we aggressively exterminated the unit both inside and out and have resolved the problem
- In understanding your concern, we agreed to provide you with compensation for your troubles
Thank you for sharing about your stay and your review is pivotal towards implementing our next steps. We truly go above and beyond for our guests, and we are confident that future guests will have excellent stays.
Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.
Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.