Charming Historic Hilo House – Minutes to Beach!

Property ID: 421279HiloHIUS
Sleeps 63 BR2 BA


Hula your way to Hawaiian paradise when you book this fully restored 1960's vacation rental house! This 3-bedroom, 2-bath Hilo home features a covered lanai and peek-a-boo ocean views from the yard. The University of Hawaii campus is a mere 1 block away while downtown Hilo is just an 8-minute drive north. Relax at Reeds Bay Beach Park, visit Coconut Island, or get a bird's-eye view of the island from a helicopter. Don't forget about Rainbow Falls home to an ancient Hawaiian goddess!


  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Washer
  • Near Ocean
  • Kitchen


Location Details

BEACHES & PARKS: Hilo Bay Beach Parks (3.1 miles), Honoli'i Beach Park (5.3 miles), Onekahakaha Beach Park - sheltered shallow swimming, great for little ones! (5.4 miles), Carlsmith Beach Park - spectacular salt and freshwater lagoons (5.9 miles), Richardson Ocean Park - black sand beach, snorkeling (7.0 miles), Kehena Black Sand Beach (30.1 miles)

OUTDOOR FAVORITES: Hilo Municipal Golf Course (1.4 miles), Liliuokalani Park and Garden and Coconut Island (2.8 miles), Wailuku River State Park (3.3 miles), Rainbow Falls (3.4 miles), Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden (9.5 miles), Akaka Falls State Park (17.9 miles)

ADVENTURES & ATTRACTIONS: The University of Hawaii at Hilo (1 block), Hilo Daijingu (0.5 miles), Historic Downtown Hilo - restaurants, shopping, theatre, and more (2.8 miles), Kilauea Visitor Center in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (27.3 miles), Mauna Kea (42.1 miles), Kona (75.9 miles)

DINE & SHOP: Cafe 100 (2.1 miles), Big Island Candies (2.1 miles), Hilo Farmers Market (2.8 miles), Pineapples (2.9 miles)

AIRPORTS: Hilo International Airport (4.0 miles), Kona International Airport (74.8 miles)


25 reviews
  • Close to UH Hilo - Best host on ever!


    Visited Hilo to drop our daughter off at UH. Super close to campus and everything in town.

    Our Host, Thom, introduced himself prior to our visit, ensured we were good to go upon arrival and helped us with everything from finding a bicycle shop in town to allowing us a late check out to complete our Girl's move-in to the dorm. He truly made our stay amazing and we will be back for sure.

    Great house. Very comfortable and nice layout.

    Published August 17, 2023
  • Very comfortable lots of aloha


    This house was very comfortable and had everything we needed.

    Definitely will use this house every time I go to Hilo

    Published August 9, 2023
  • Cute Hilo house


    This house was perfect for our family of 6. It was clean and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Our children enjoyed sleeping in separate rooms and they loved the huge yard. If you’re in Hilo with your family we’d definitely recommend this property!!!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Mellanie S.
    Published April 11, 2023
  • Great stay but cleaning could improve


    We enjoyed staying in this home with our 3 children. There was lots of room for all of us and the kitchen was well stocked with lots of cooking utensils, salad spinner, etc. We understand that the area is very humid and therefore it is difficult to keep homes clean, although deep cleaning is definitely needed at this home. The kitchen cupboards are pretty dirty and the washing machine smells of mold. A great stay but room for improvement!

    Tim and Angela
    Published February 21, 2023
  • Cleanliness


    As a professional cleaning service owner, upon check in - it was definitely not up to standard. Sadly, in order to enjoy our stay we had to clean the entire house, again. It is highly suggested you reevaluate your housekeeper. This beautiful home deserves a deep clean, and some restocking of items. I hope you find our feedback useful. Mahalo!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Ku’uipo P.
    Published February 14, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Ku’uipo, the homeowners were surprised to read your review, as they are accustomed to providing 5-star experiences, and would like to clarify the following:

    - Our local property manager keeps the home clean, stocked and well-maintained, but we’re sorry it didn’t meet your expectations.

    - Our local property manager was in contact with you upon arrival and again upon departure. He is readily available to assist with any issues our guests have at any time during their stay.

    - We wish that you had made him aware of your concerns and given him the opportunity to try and rectify the situation for you.

    - We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
25 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12