Get your own slice of paradise in the San Juan Mountains at this 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom condo. Halfway between Durango and Silverton, this vacation rental at Purgatory Resort offers access to tons of resort amenities, gorgeous mountain views, and year-round outdoor adventures. Walk steps to the chair lift to hit the slopes, hike nearby trails and ride world-class mountain bike trails, or brave the Inferno Mountain Coaster. Hit the community hot tub or unwind by the fireplace after a busy day.
OUTDOOR FUN: Ski slopes (on-site), Cascade Canyon Wye (3.3 miles), Bears Ranch Horseback Riding (7.7 miles), Soaring Tree Top Zip Line Adventures (11.5 miles), Big Molas Lake (17.4 miles), Chicago Basin (45.0 miles), downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, mountain biking, horseback riding, fishing
HIKING: Elbert Creek Trailhead (3.1 miles), Potato Lake Trailhead (5.8 miles), Andrews Lake Trailhead (15.2 miles), Alpine Loop Start (40.8 miles)
SCENIC SPOTS: San Juan National Forest (on-site), Cascade Creek Rapids (3.0 miles), Adrenaline Falls (13.4 miles), Durango Hot Springs Resort & Spa (18.6 miles), Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad (27.5 miles), Million Dollar Highway (33.5 miles)
AIRPORT: Durango-La Plata County Airport (42 miles)
We had a great time and the location of this property was key. The only problem was the bunk beds were short. Very strict parking so be aware. We would rent there again.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Pros: Location is great to get to lodge, easy access to lifts and square. Purgatory is great, staff is friendly and helpful. Purgy’s was fun, good food and entertainment.
Cons: Realistically 4 adults is the max for this condo. The bunk beds are for kids or adults under 5’5”. The main TV had lines all through it, couldn’t use. The grill on patio was frozen solid, cover was off laying behind it. We got grill thawed out but knobs wouldn’t budge to start it so we just skipped it. We almost had our tire booted, ststed parking passes were invalid. I did not get an immediate response from our contact person, thankfully the front desk at lodge came out and helped us out. They told us to let owners know, we did. Only thing said was they don’t know why not working.
It was not the best stay for us. It ia a great location. With a deep cleaning and a few updates it could be amazing.
Homeowner's Response: "Hi Kathryn, thanks for your review. We contacted the HOA as soon as we heard there was an issue with the parking passes and got it resolved. We have never had an issue with the parking passes before. The TV was damaged by the previous guest, and we are replacing it this week."
It is indeed right across from the main lifts at Purgatory, but the benefits stop there. The property is in need of updates in all areas. The front door gets stuck easily, hard to get in and out, the bathrooms were old and showers were not great. Kitchen was fine, but limited. The main living space was big and fireplace cozy, but to say it sleeps 10 is overstated. There are 2 main bedrooms and a large closet for a 3rd bedroom with tiny bunkbeds, the other 4 beds are fold out couches in the main living space, not ideal. I probably should have looked closer at the specs, but still misleading in my opinion.
The beds were hard and thin sheets and blankets, paint chipped all over the house, upstairs furniture was comfortable but overall overpriced for what you get.
Hi Jennifer, the right vacation home is everything, and we're disappointed if this wasn't the one for you. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
-We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are sorry the property didn't meet your expectations. We installed a new door handle last week to resolve the issue with the front door. We use professional photographers so we can be sure that our images accurately reflect each property and guests can decide before booking if the decor meets their expectations. The occupancy is set at maximum, but do give descriptions of bedding options since the comfort level of this occupancy greatly depends on the adult/children ratio. We hope your group enjoyed your stay on the mountain!
We do all we can to make our homes the best possible stays, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to host you again!
Excellent, perfect for family vacation!
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
From the owner: "Thank you for the review! Glad you enjoyed your stay!"
Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.
Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.