‘Riverheart Retreat’ - One-of-a-Kind Villa!

Property ID: 454343Buena VistaCOUS
Sleeps 63 BR2 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


The perfect setting for a family holiday or couple's retreat, this 3-bedroom, 2-bath Buena Vista villa is bound to provide an unforgettable stay. Tucked away along the Arkansas River, this vacation rental offers a tranquil, secluded ambiance and unique, individual accommodations to meet your group's every need. The sun-drenched solarium will beckon you to curl up and relax with a good book, while the private hot tub will provide a blissful soak after a day packed with outdoor adventures!


  • Kitchen
  • Waterfront
  • Private Hot Tub
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Laptop Friendly
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Self Check-In


Location Details

SIGHTSEEING ADVENTURES: Browns Canyon Rafting (1.1 miles), Buena Vista Mountain Adventures (1.2 miles), Buena Vista Whitewater Park (1.6 miles), The Adventure Company (1.6 miles), Performance Tours Rafting (1.8 miles), Browns Canyon Adventure Park (5.4 miles)

HIKING TRAILS: Barbara Whipple Trailhead (1.6 miles), South Cottonwood Trailhead (8.5 miles), Silver Creek Trailhead (8.5 miles), Mt. Princeton Trailhead (9.4 miles), North Cottonwood Creek Trailhead (10.0 miles), Avalanche Trailhead (10.7 miles)

SKI RESORTS: Monarch Mountain (38.9 miles), Ski Copper (44.8 miles), Breckenridge Ski Resort (59.6 miles), Keystone Resort (77.2 miles)

BUENA VISTA (1.3 miles): Shops, restaurants, breweries, museums, historical sites, scenic lookouts

AIRPORT: Denver International Airport (144 miles)


16 reviews
  • Wonderful location, unique accommodations, needs a spring cleaning


    Overall, we had a great stay at the Riverheart retreat. It had a great location right on the river with a great adobe style villa. Lots of room to spread out and enjoy the property. Check in was easy and property management was friendly. Our only trouble was that upon arrival the home still needed cleaning (floors/rugs not vacuumed and dishes needed additional washing), which was disappointing given the cleaning fee.

    We still had a great time and would consider returning if the cleaning issue is resolved. Definitely a great place to unwind, listen to the river and take in the stars from the hot tub.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published June 27, 2024
  • Beautiful Getaway!


    Overall, it was a great stay! Because of the fence and the trees, we kept forgetting we were just off the road. The trees and the river behind the river is a difficult view to beat! Even when it was brisk, we spent a lot of time outside. The house was exactly how it looks online. That front area is very unique and it felt very cozy and comfortable. One morning we saw three deer grazing on the grass in the front. What a view!

    There are some aspects with it being an old house that I feel like could be improved. Its difficult to have central heating, so we understood, but we only found two electrical heaters (and one of them screamed when it was on). We were told of different rooms they were in, but it sounds like most of them were in the external cabin we did not get. The other piece of it was the kitchen. We loved the stain glass cabinet doors, but we were REALLY nervous opening and closing the cabinets because the stain glass shook. They seemed like they were one close away from falling off and shattering. Theres also not a whole lot of storage space in the kitchen, which is an issue because the kitchen utensils provided are very bare bones. We brought some in anticipation, but we didnt really have anywhere to put it.

    Other than those thints, the place was amazing! It had PLENTY of room for everyone to sit. The hot tub helped take off the slight brisk temperature of the home. The backporch area was my personal favorite when the wind made it too cold. Thank you!!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published June 7, 2024
  • Awful


    Temp in house was 47 degrees on arrival. Owner was unable to get sufficient heat in common areas and admitted one bedroom was un-heatable/unusable due to cold. We left the property 30 mins after arrival. Management company and owner will not cooperate in providing full refund. Renter beware!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published January 27, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Francesco, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us make vacation rentals a seamless experience for everyone. We reached out to the homeowner, and they wanted to provide some additional information:
    We'd like to clarify that it might have taken a bit more time for the property to warm up properly. We did offer a 50% refund to make up for some of the inconvenience you encountered. However, a chargeback was initiated with the bank thereafter.
    Our guests can rest assured that we are committed to providing excellent stays every time.

  • Fantastically fun property!


    We stayed here with several couples for a wedding up at the Surf Hotel and it was a perfect spot for our group. Only a mile away from the venue which was great. Between the rooms in the house and the Casitas there was plenty of sleeping options, and the home had plenty of space to hang out, cook meals, and enjoy our time together.

    Also great access to nearby hiking trails, public fishing spots, and downtown BV that we all took advantage of.

    Spending time down on the river was a plus as well.

    This place is eclectic and very fun to be at. Would recommend!

    Published May 1, 2023
  • Epic fail of a vacation rental


    We were excited to have family come together over the holidays but this place was a failure on so many levels starting day 1. The place is past antiquated charm and more in line with danger zone.

    The tub faucet (of the ONLY) full bath could not be turned off and caused my son to sustain burns on his foot. Then the tub drain would not stay open so we had to rig it with a toothbrush to allow it to drain during showers. The dishwasher was old and they expected you (once the tray was full of dishes) to lift the rack and jam a sprayer head under it where a wheel had broken off in order to start it.

    We found 2 dead mice IN the property, trash strewn along the hillside by the river and heaters were not working.

    No toilets for the outer cabins meant people coming in/out all night with loud creaking and banging doors where our kids were sleeping.

    There was an old lock that would not open and allow us to get into the kids room and had to call maintenance at night to actually have it removed off the door (admitting it should never have been left on for safety reasons).

    Large heavy blankets were old and obviously not being laundered between renters, gross! All towels and linens looked worn and like they were from the 80’s. Space heaters-some worked, some didn’t. Hot tub didn’t work properly & didn’t keep warm.

    Did not have enough tp after the 2nd day, no dishwasher liquid, garbage bags, laundry soap, paper towels.

    When we reached out to the owners, the communication was very unprofessional and Mark just talked around the issues for weeks before finally offering a subpar partial refund. We gave him 2 months to send and he JUST GHOSTED US! We have pictures, texts and emails to prove all of this.

    We had family flying into Colorado from all over and it was such a let down!! :(

    Becca Feehan
    Published March 31, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Becca, we want our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we apologize that you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the owner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:

    - Thanks for reaching out during your stay to let us know of the issues you were experiencing.

    - We're truly sorry that your son sustained burns from the hot water. This is not something that would normally happen unless the hot water knob was exclusively turned on and left unattended. In any case, we were more than happy to come to the property to assist you with your concerns and answer all of your questions.

    - We were shocked and disappointed to see the condition the home was left in following your departure.

    - The dishwasher was something that caught us off guard as well. When you notified us that it wasn't working, we investigated it and found that a wheel had been removed - perhaps from another stay - regardless in order to fix the issue promptly since it was midnight when we were notified, we make-shifted a device to hold it in place. Unfortunately, because of the late hour, this was the only thing that could solve the issue quickly until the replacement part could be obtained. We're sorry if this inconvenienced you in any way, but this was also out of our control.

    - We use professional photography for the home, so all decor and furniture you see on the listing are as advertised and guests can decide before booking if the property meets their expectations.

    - The cleaners take pride in making sure that the home, linens, and towels are cleaned upon guest arrival. If you had concerns about the cleanliness, bringing it to our attention would have helped resolve the issue.

    - Regarding the pests, we have heard that they have had a presence in the area this year, and we're sorry if this negatively impacted your stay. We'll be sure to look into this to ensure future guests do not run into the same issue.

    We always work with both guests and homeowners when issues arise and apologize that we were unable to come to the resolution you were hoping for. We truly go above and beyond for our guests, and we are confident that future guests will have excellent stays!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

Add dates for prices
16 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12