Family-Friendly Truckee Cabin Near Ski Shuttle!

Property ID: 386103TruckeeCAUS
Sleeps 125 BR3 BA


An effortless family getaway awaits you and your loved ones in Truckee when you book a stay at this rustic 5-bedroom, 3-bathroom vacation rental! Located just a mile from Northstar California Resort, this cabin provides a mountainside charm, a fully equipped kitchen, a cozy living room with a wood-burning fireplace, and a deck with lush forest views. Hit the snowy slopes of Northstar in the Winter or explore the expansive hiking trails in the summer. Plan your next retreat today!


  • Essentials
  • Kitchen
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Community Hot Tub
  • Community Pool
  • Washer
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Central Heating
  • Cable/Satellite TV


Location Details

SUMMER FUN: Kings Beach on Lake Tahoe (7.8 miles), Donner Memorial State Park (9.9 miles), Tahoe Donner Beach Club Marina (10.2 miles), Shoreline Park (12.5 miles), Donner Lake Marina (13.7 miles), West End Beach (14.0 miles)

TRAILHEADS: Brockway Summit Tahoe Rim Trail (4.6 miles), Sawtooth Trail (7.8 miles), Coldstream Trailhead (10.2 miles), Donner Summit Canyon (14.5 miles), Pacific Crest Trail & Donner Peak Trailhead (24.4 miles)

WINTER RECREATION: Northstar California Resort (1.7 miles), Northstar Village Ice Skating Rink (1.7 miles), Tahoe Donner Cross Country Ski Center (13.4 miles), Tahoe Donner Downhill Ski Resort (14.4 miles), Boreal Mountain California (18.0 miles), Squaw Valley Resort (18.1 miles), Sugar Bowl Resort (23.5 miles)

AIRPORTS: Truckee Tahoe Airport (5.1 miles), Reno-Tahoe International Airport (40.9 miles)


23 reviews
  • 5 stars


    Beautiful home in an excellent location for Northstar skiing. Kitchen was great—everything needed to cook and bake for the week.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published March 1, 2024
  • Buyer beware…


    As a rental property owner, and a vacation rental property owner, I feel qualified to say… this property is poorly represented by both the online description and the photographs… the photographs appear to be several years old as the property is entirely different inside…..

    A few items , fireplace was on usable, and the arcade at the rec center no longer exists…! Prospective guests rely entirely on both the written and photographic description and therefore I think it’s important that they are accurate… on the positive side. It’s a very nice older, multi level cabin in a great location. Unfortunately, the owner has not kept up with maintenance and it shows throughout the building.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published December 12, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi David, we want our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we apologize if you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    - As seasoned travelers, we know that unmet expectations, whether avoidable or not, are frustrating. We do wish you had reached out during your stay so that we could have assisted you. To future renters reading this response, please don't hesitate to reach out upon arrival or during your stay. We are available to assist you.
    - We would like to take this opportunity to directly respond to some of your concerns so we can know where we can do better, as well as clarify where there seems to have been some misunderstanding.
    - The current photographs on our listing are about 4 years old. However, the reason they have not been updated is because over the last year, we have been doing some significant upgrades on the home and we’ve been waiting for those to be completed before we update all the listing photos.
    - The upgrades include new flooring and carpet throughout the home, new blinds, new couches, chairs, tables, a new BBQ, new kitchen & dining room lighting, new stove, new front decking, new tankless boiler, new heaters in each room, new large television, and more. We are currently working on more upgrades to the bathrooms and kitchen and plan to update all our photos when these upgrades are completed.
    - We do sincerely apologize for the fireplace not being available and, in hindsight, we should have let you know about this before your arrival. During our yearly fire safety inspection in November, it was discovered that there was a problem with the chimney cap and we were told we could not use the fireplace until that was fixed. This has since been fixed, but unfortunately, your visit occurred at the time between the inspection and the repair.
    -We wish you had called us about your concern that the Arcade at the rec center no longer exists. Unless something has changed since we visited the property in August of this year, the arcade still exists.
    - It was upgraded and relocated about a year ago, so it is no longer located near the entrance to the rec center, but instead is located in the back of the building, past the snack bar. The front desk staff should be able to direct guests when they check in at the rec center.
    - While we do regret our home was not up to your expectations, we’re happy to share that no issues were reported by our most recent guests.
    - We truly go above and beyond for our guests and are confident that future guests will have a wonderful stay. Thanks for letting us know about your experience!

  • Cozy cabin at Northstar, super convenient location and a wonderful host!


    My friends and I had an amazing time staying at this beautiful and warm cabin house located very close to Northstar. One of my friends said, “oh my word, it’s literally on Northstar lands”. There is a free shuttle from the cabin to Northstar ski resort and we found it super convenient. We enjoyed hanging out and playing board games at the newly updated living and dining rooms.

    Our host, Spencer, was absolutely fantastic. He was friendly and approachable. He kept us updated on weather conditions and addressed our questions and concerns quickly. One of my friends left something valuable at the cabin and we contacted Spencer. He found the item and shipped it to my friend promptly.

    We had a wonderful experience throughout our stay and beyond.

    Published January 26, 2023
  • Great location. Good experience.


    The only thing I can complain it’s the pillow cases they was dirty one of them has a point of blood.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Javier A.
    Published September 27, 2022
  • Big house with great location.


    The house easily fit 4 families . Great location .

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    valeriy b.
    Published September 12, 2022
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

23 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 12 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12