Tahoe Family Cabin: Close to Lake & Trails

Property ID: 293291South Lake TahoeCAUS
Sleeps 83 BR2 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


Alpine adventure awaits at this 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom cabin in South Lake Tahoe, CA! Nestled against the El Dorado National Forest with a bike trail next door, this vacation rental promises easy access to outdoor activities of every kind. Head to the glimmering waters of Lake Tahoe for kayaking and swimming, then come home to recharge at this rustic Sierra Mountain getaway with a barbecue on the wraparound deck and family time in the sun-soaked living space.


  • Washer
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Deck
  • Central Heating
  • Kitchen


Location Details

EXPLORE OUTDOORS: Lake Tahoe (4.8 miles), El Dorado National Forest (6.5 miles), Lower Echo Lake (6.7 miles), Emerald Bay State Park (13.3 miles), Pine Point State Park (21.4 miles), paddle-boarding, boating, jet-skiing, hiking, mountain-biking

WINTER FUN: Heavenly Mountain Resort (4.7 miles), Sierra-at-Tahoe Resort (14.4 miles), Homewood Mountain Resort (25.4 miles), Alpine Meadows Ski Resort (38.5 miles), Northstar California Resort (42.7 miles), skiing, snowboarding, tubing

PRESS YOUR LUCK: Harvey's Lake Tahoe (5.0 miles), Harrah's Lake Tahoe (5.3 miles), Montbleu Resort, Casino and Spa (5.0 miles), Lakeside Inn and Casino (5.8 miles)

AIRPORT: Reno-Tahoe International Airport (60.7 miles)


24 reviews
  • Disappointed


    I found this place old and funky, not true to the online listing

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published February 20, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay, Becca. We were surprised to read your description of our cabin as "old and funky." Our property is a 1970's A-Frame, and while it boasts a classic charm, we've made upgrades to enhance its comfort and appeal.
    The cabin is presented in the listing with accurate representations, with the exception of a new dining table and light fixtures, which we believe add to its character. We understand that everyone has unique preferences, and if you were seeking a more modern, uniform environment, we acknowledge that our cabin may not align with those expectations.

    Our aim is to provide guests with a cozy and classic retreat, offering a distinctive experience that stands out from standard accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and hope you found aspects of our cabin enjoyable during your stay.

  • Super nice place, great location


    A couple of my friends and I booked a little reunion trip overnight here. The place is super nice and easily accessible. It was very clean, and a great place to host a group of people. There was more than enough room for all of us. The owner was very friendly. Sometimes I feel like renting someone's place, you feel like an imposition on the owner or like your in trouble. This was probably one of the kindest and most communicative hosts I have dealt with. The location is also good, it is very close to heavenly and the kind of downtown area of South Lake Tahoe. It is also close to accessing different roads that can take you to other mountains, route 80 or North Lake Tahoe. Thank you for the stay! I highly recommend, super easy check in/ check out process, friendly owner, great location, and a clean place with lots of accomodations.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published January 29, 2024
  • Disappointed


    I found this place old and funky, not true to the online listing

    Published January 25, 2024
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Rebecca, thanks for letting us know about your stay. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they would like to share the following: We were taken aback by your characterization. The house is a 1970s A-Frame, boasting several upgrades, and we believe there's nothing outdated or unconventional about the cabin. The cabin perfectly mirrors the images provided in the listing, except for a new dining table and light fixtures. If you were seeking a standardized environment with uniform features, perhaps a hotel would have been more suitable for your preferences. Our cabin, however, offers a cozy and timeless ambiance. We strive to ensure an exceptional stay for all our guests and eagerly anticipate this property hosting many more satisfied guests, as reflected in our numerous positive reviews.

  • Quiet place to stay


    Went up for Labor Day weekend.

    Cons: Disappointed on how dated and run down the house is. Carpet is old and stained. Showers have caulking missing. Stove/oven knobs are missing the labels, didn't know if we had the oven on bake, broil or convection. The leather couch has no support to sit and sinks down very low when you sit on it. The tables have a plastic green table cloth. Very limited on comfortable seating. If you use the fireplace, the house then had a smell of chemical odor. When we got ready to leave and stripped the sheets, we found old stains on the mattresses and on the pads.

    Pros: The house is located on a quiet street, next to a hiking/bike trail. Backs up to a large open area. Beautiful views from almost every point in house. Size of the house is large enough to accommodate up to 8-10 adults. Plenty of parking out front. Located close to shopping, restaurants and casinos.

    Published September 4, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Jennifer, we’re so glad you enjoyed the beautiful views and wonderful location, but we’re sorry other aspects fell short of expectations. After sending your feedback to the owner, they’d like to share the following:
    - The house is exactly as depicted in the listing photos, featuring the charming 1974 A-frame design. It offers a cozy cabin atmosphere with thoughtful appointments. Please note that it's not a modern new-build. We encourage guests to thoroughly review the listing before booking, to ensure they find the perfect vacation home for their needs.
    - There is one permanent stain on the Berber wool carpet in the master bedroom. Despite multiple steam-cleaning attempts, unfortunately, this stain remains.
    - Thank you for bringing the missing caulking in the showers to our attention. We're actively looking into this to ensure it's promptly resolved if needed.
    - The stove is an older model Jenn-Aire, and we acknowledge that the labels may have faded over time due to cleaning and age. However, please rest assured that it is still fully functional.
    - The couch is equipped with reinforced support slats. Additionally, our property offers ample seating options, including a couch, two recliners, four bar stools at the bar, and seating at the two tables. While we try to accommodate all guests' comfort, we're sorry the furniture didn't meet your preferences.
    - We have two tables available for guest use: a round table that seats 4 and an extension table that can accommodate 6-8. Both tables are furnished with matching green tablecloths. These tablecloths are not only cloth-coated but also feature a protective plastic layer to safeguard the wood. They are water-resistant and designed for indoor use. If these tablecloths did not meet your tastes, they could have easily been removed.
    - We don't require guests to strip the beds at check-out. Each bed is equipped with a hygienic, plastic-coated mattress pad. Our two queen beds are less than 4 years old.
    We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.

  • Not worth it


    I was reluctant to book this property because it was very expensive and then when you finalize it had all the extra charges: Host fees, Cleaning fees, Service fee and Tax.So we are paying a very large amount a night for this rental. But it's our anniversary, it looks amazing so we are going to splurge! We drove up to a very nice, quiet neighborhood, but immediately we notice that this is THE un-cared for property in the nice neighborhood. Weeds and garbage in the front yard, an old mattress and umbrella on the side of the garage, dead plants at the doorway, and a broken backyard fence that was just propped up to the side. The patio furniture and BBQ was filthy and plastic, so we did not enjoy the outside deck at all. The house inside was clean, but dated. We don't mind old furniture, but the leather couch was sunken in the middle and the sides had you leaning in and it was very uncomfortable. The other chairs were ripped and torn and not comfortable either. The only other option was metal chairs at the dining room table and for those of us who like to read a lot, it was not fun. The battery for the TV remote was dead, so no TV for us on night 1. I contacted host and she did send someone the next day to blow off the porch and leave new batteries. We were not there at the time, so that person came inside the house and left the batteries inside and we were kind of freaked out by that. TV remote still did not work for night 2, so I found myself watching you tube videos on my phone on a metal chair. It also can be quite warm. So I'm sweating on a metal chair watching you tube videos on my phone! Sweet. In the morning I went out to the back yard and there was lots of garbage, among that an old sled that shows that this place has not been cleaned up since winter! This is July. After sending the damning photos the rental company did refund one whole night, but it had already ruined the vibe for us. Don't do it.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Margaret C.
    Published August 10, 2021
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on support our Building Hospitality program.

24 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 8 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12