Charming Apartment in Downtown Blue Lake!

Property ID: 469679Blue LakeCAUS
Sleeps 63 BR2 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.


From hiking in the Redwoods to combing the beach, this cozy Blue Lake retreat is an ideal base camp for your next Northern California adventure! This historic apartment features modern amenities with classic appeal, and it’s conveniently located within walking distance of downtown draws like coffee, craft beer, and live entertainment. Nestled on a quiet street with ample parking, this 3-bedroom 2-bathroom vacation rental has a Smart TV, free WiFi, and a convivial atmosphere to unwind together.


  • Kitchen
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Washer
  • Laptop Friendly
  • Essentials
  • Central Heating
  • Self Check-In


Location Details

PARKS & HIKING: Redwood Park (8.9 miles), Arcata Community Forest (9.4 miles), Hiller Park (9.5 miles), Arcata Marsh (9.5 miles), Sue-Meg State Park (26.0 miles), Redwood National and State Parks (37.0 miles), Six Rivers National Forest (66.0 miles)

BEACHES: Mad River Beach (10.4 miles), Luffenholtz Beach (17.3 miles), Old Home Beach (19.4 miles), Agate Beach (25.0 miles)

ATTRACTIONS: Dell'Arte International (<0.1 miles), Blue Lake Casino (0.8 miles), Humboldt State University (8.0 miles), Holly Yashi (9.6 miles), Sequoia Park Zoo (17.4 miles), The Heights Casino (20.1 miles)

FOOD & DRINK: Logger Bar (<0.1 miles), Mad River Brewing Co (0.2 miles), Six Rivers Brewery (7.3 miles), Papa Wheelies (9.3 miles), Moonstone Grill (16.8 miles)

AIRPORTS: California Redwood Coast-Humboldt County Airport (12.5 miles), Sacramento International Airport (285 miles)


5 reviews
  • 2nd Thanksgiving


    This property was perfect for visiting my son/friends and having a 2nd Thanksgiving with them!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Beth M.
    Published December 20, 2022
  • Anonymous


    We all enjoyed our stay. There were no problems at all. Comfortable beds. Interesting and attractive building and furnishings. Thanks so much :)

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Published September 27, 2022
  • Motorcycle Trip to the Redwoods


    First time and we will never stay in a hotel again.The place was great. Central location for the rides each day.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Sarah N.
    Published September 22, 2022
  • Poor Customer Service


    Customer Service

    I rented the vintage apartment in Blue Lake for 3 nights as a homebase as I moved my daughter into Cal Poly Humboldt. I rented this property through the VRBO app and didn’t notice that it was actually being managed through a third party, Evolve. I paid the initial deposit and booked a Fri-Monday stay. Ten days prior to my reservation I received an email from an email address evolve (no-reply), with a plain text message, no branding that simply said my reservation was being canceled. This email did not give a reservation number, or location of the reservation, without any real information it looked like a spam email. I also received a voicemail that said my “reservation would be canceled without the balance remaining paid today” I received this voicemail at 10:40am and again there was no mention of a reservation number or location; it did not seem like a legitimate call. When I looked at the VRBO app I did see that my payment for the remaining balance was due, but there were no messages. When I tried to make a payment the app said my reservations had been canceled.

    I called the phone number from the voicemail and was told my reservations had been canceled. When I explained that I still needed to rent the property and would pay the balance I was told that the property was no longer available (in the 5 min it took me to call after trying to make the payment on the VRBO app). After over an hour on the phone and four different people in two different departments I was able to move the dates around to keep the same number of days at the same property, but not my original dates.

    The poor communication, lack of professionalism and unacceptable customer service of the Evolve Team is more than enough reason no one should book through them. Even though my situation was “resolved”, it should have never happened in the first place and took so much unnecessary time out of my workday to get it resolved.

    Property Maintenance

    The Blue Lake property was in a poorly maintained building in a not very walkable area of town, unlike the description. There were no instructions on how to access the unit. The floors were dirty and in disrepair. The bathrooms were unacceptable, dirty and in poor repair, the sink handle in the master fell off in my hand. There were also ant traps set throughout the space, and it was obvious after spending some time in the property why, ants were found on most surfaces.

    This was one of the worst experiences

    Published August 17, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Nicole, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    -We were notified your reservation was canceled, and it was due to not paying the second deposit.
    -When we saw it was canceled, we decided to stay at the property for some of the days of your initial reservation. We were not aware you still wanted to come. 
    -We are sorry for the inconvenience with booking and are glad you could stay close to your original dates. 
    -We will collaborate with our cleaning team regarding the floors and bathroom cleanliness. We encourage guests to reach out right away with any concerns, so we can resolve them during guests' stay. 
    -The hardwood floors are 110 years old. We know some sections may creak and have small water stains, but they are sturdy, safe, and clean. 
    -We have ant traps as a preventative measure.
    -We'll also be adding more clarity to our pre-stay email about how to easily find and access the property.
    We appreciate your feedback and apologize again that your stay fell short of expectations.

  • Thoughtfully remodelled upper floor of older jouse


    Perfectly located for many northern CA sights

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Ruth L.
    Published August 10, 2022
  • 1

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.

5 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 6 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12