Book with confidence
Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.
Secluded Location | National Parks Nearby
Escape to the tranquil beauty of Badger, California, at this 2-bed, 1-bath cabin. Nestled amidst the Sierra Nevada Mountains, this vacation rental offers a peaceful getaway with nearby attractions like breathtaking hikes through Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. After a day of exploration, relax by the fireplace with a cup of hot cocoa. With its mountain charm and proximity to nature's wonders, this cabin is the perfect outdoor retreat!
- Secluded location surrounded by the Sequoia National Forest
- 19 miles to Kings Canyon National Park: hiking trails, picnic areas, wildlife viewing, sightseeing, tours
- 24 miles to Lake Kaweah
- 34 miles to Sequoia National Park: Giant Forest Museum, hiking trails, picnic areas, wildlife viewing, sightseeing, tours
- 57 miles to Fresno Yosemite International Airport
Terrible stay. I have waited 6 weeks to post this review, hoping my complaints would be resolved. Unfortunately, this has not been the case, and I want to warn others never to stay here. Though the listing promised a comfortable country stay, this was not the experience. Cat urine left a putrid smell not just on the deck, but in the front bedroom. Contrary to the listing, there is no central heat, only heaters in the two bedrooms that could not heat the rest of the house. The wood stove and fireplace are the only sources of heat in the main living area, but there wasn’t enough firewood even though the guest contact left a note saying it would be delivered the next day. Water conservation is one thing, but the restrictions on the house are not reasonable, especially for the price we were paying per night. We were told that if too much water used, the water might turn off for hours, then possibly be available again. This fear of no water being available paralyzed us to no shower use and heating water on the stove to wash dishes. Lack of survival needs of heat and water resulted in a terrible stay. And the worst part is, 6 weeks later we still have not been refunded for the last night we ended up not staying (due to lack of survival needs) nor received any compensation for the failed promises of the guest contact that resulted in a very uncomfortable stay. The Evolve “rest easy promise” is a joke. They have done nothing for us. Don’t stay here.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Hi Leah, we take guest feedback seriously, and we’re sorry your stay was not as expected. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your review, and they wanted to share the following:
- We promptly responded to your concerns to try to resolve the issues you encountered.
- The property uses individual heaters in the bedrooms and wood-burning options for the main living area. We apologize if the firewood supply was insufficient and will ensure this is better communicated and managed moving forward.
- The home does operate on a well system, which requires water conservation. Additionally, we do note on the listing, "Local drought (please conserve water)."
We’re sorry your experience wasn’t what you had hoped for and appreciate your patience while we’ve worked to address your concerns. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
My poor review is mostly due to incorrect details/omissions in the listing.
Pros: quiet, isolated, cozy
Cons: no central heat, leaking roof, extreme water shortage
If you're looking for an isolated, quiet cabin far from any conveniences, this is the place for you. I was disappointed by the lack of heat (husband is well versed in operating a cast iron stove for heat, so we did okay). The roof leaks in several places and we had intermittent heavy rain. There is no cell phone reception for AT&T, but there was reliable WiFi. My emails to the host went unanswered, even during my stay. The well had run dry and, while it had been partially refilled, we were instructed to take military-style showers. Thus, while the cabin is equipped with a washer and dryer, we chose not to use them. The constant fear of running out of usable water loomed the entire trip. One plus for our family - the pair of adorable and curious cats that greet you on the porch.
I would not stay here again.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Sandy the caretaker was lovely and did a good job, going out of her way to place fresh flowers and write directions to the park entrance.
It has a very nice view and is quiet and remote.
Furniture is quality and comfortable.
But cats took over the porch, there was no heat, no cell reception, and the well could run out of water at anytime. Be ready for remote living.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
We left after one night and request a refund for the second night. They have a water problem snd was told we could not take a shower with water running. Went to bed and rats were climbing through the walls and ceiling- very loud snd not able to sleep. My family refused to stay a second night. We texted the cleaning lady before 11:00 to inform her. Please refund me for second night.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Hi Scott, we always appreciate hearing from our guests, and the homeowner would like to take a moment to clarify a few things raised in your review:
- The cabin relies on a natural spring water system, which means water conservation is encouraged to ensure a steady supply throughout a stay. Additional water was provided to ensure there was enough for guest use, including showers.
- This mountain cabin has been welcoming guests for nearly 100 years, offering an authentic rustic experience that includes close proximity to nature. While occasional critters like mice or insects can be part of a stay in this setting, we take steps to keep them out of the living areas as much as possible.
- These rustic elements are part of the cabin’s unique mountain experience, and the listing aims to set clear expectations about what guests might encounter in this nature-rich environment.
- We understand that your experience fell short of your expectations. To address this, we offered a partial refund as a goodwill gesture, which you accepted.
As is evidenced by the many great reviews, these owners are accustomed to providing memorable experiences, and we look forward to this property hosting many happy travelers.
We arrive with a note stating the well went dry and need to be careful about usage until it recovers. Too many cats around, the smell of cat urine inside bedrooms. You can hear mice in the walls during the night. After four hours from check-in we had a power failure lasting about twenty hours. Some lost of food items. (naturally this was no fault of the host and their representative came to the property and assisted.) We checked out the circuit breaker to see if the outage was a house issue and could be manually reset; which involved stepping in the garage which reeked of cat feces and urine. The power outage cause the alarm system to repeat a beep which drove us nuts. The representative did go out of her way to secure the directions to turn it off.
Minor issue the ice machine did not work I could have used some ice trays.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Hi Samuel, thank you for sharing your review and for your patience during the unexpected power outage. The homeowner wanted to provide some clarification regarding your feedback:
- The power outage was shorter than reported, and our representative did everything possible to keep you informed and assist, including resetting the alarm system.
- We do have one orange cat listed in the property description, but other cats may have wandered in from nearby homes. They do not enter the house, and we will ensure they are removed from the property.
- The home is older, and outdoor elements such as flowers, shrubs, and wildlife can sometimes cause unusual odors, especially if windows are left open.
Thank you again for letting us know about your visit.
Reach out help with general questions about the property.
Best Rate
You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.
Rest Easy
If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.
Give Back
Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.