Cabin
3.15

Authentic Retreat w/ Private Dock on Coosa River!

Property ID: 445302ShelbyALUS
Sleeps 84 BR2 BA
Book with confidence

Most trips qualify for free 48 hour cancellation. Add dates for more information.

Description

Get away from the noise of the city and escape to this riverside retreat in Shelby! With 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, and a screened porch with a lovely view of the Coosa River, this vacation rental will meet all your needs and more. Explore the area with boating trips from the private dock, hiking excursions through Oak Mountain State Park, vineyard and winery tours, or a journey into the depths of Desoto Caverns! Endless adventure awaits at this inviting cabin.

Amenities

  • Kitchen
  • Washer
  • Central Heating
  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Central Air Conditioning

Map

Location Details

THE GREAT OUTDOORS: Coosa River Access (on-site), Okomo Campground and Boat Launch (1.5 miles), Beeswax Creek Park (7.4 miles), Magnolia Meadows Golf Course (9.7 miles), Oak Mountain State Park (36.8 miles), Peavine Falls (40.8 miles)

FAMILY ATTRACTIONS: Harrison Museum-G Washington (10.5 miles), Heart of Dixie Railroad Museum (17.7 miles), Old Baker Farm (21.0 miles), The American Village (23.0 miles), Desoto Caverns (27.6 miles)

WINERIES: Lewis Lakes Vineyards (12.3 miles), Ozan Winery & YH Distillery (16.0 miles), Morgan Creek Vineyards (21.3 miles), Hidden Meadow Vineyard & Winery (22.1 miles), Corbin Farms Winery (22.6 miles)

LOCAL FOOD: VJ's Restaurant (3.4 miles), Shelby Sandwich Shop (5.6 miles), The Point Grill & Bar (7.9 miles), Tin Top Bar-B-Que 2 (10.3 miles), Fat Johnny's Comfort & Soul (10.3 miles), The Local Kitchen & Ale (10.9 miles), The Pizza Star (11.0 miles), PITA Meditteranean Street Food (11.2 miles)

NEARBY TOWNS: Columbiana (10.3 miles), Calera (17.6 miles), Clanton (23.2 miles), Birmingham (49.9 miles), Montgomery (60.7 miles)

AIRPORT: Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport (55.2 miles)

Reviews

3.15
13 reviews
  • House

    2/5

    House was not clean - spider webs and wasps throughout. Kitchen cabinets were dirty. Door knobs didn’t work. Boards on deck need replacing.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Cynthia
    Published December 13, 2023
    Manager's Response:

    Cynthia, thank you for providing your feedback on your Thanksgiving stay at our rustic lakefront cabin. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, and I'd like to address some of the points you raised:

    I was personally at the cabin that morning for the final check and everything seemed to be in order. We had completed a thorough cleaning days before your arrival, including floors, windows, and appliances. However, I understand that expectations may vary, and I apologize if the cabin did not meet your anticipated standards.

    Regarding the presence of insects, especially during November, it's not uncommon for flying insects to seek warmth. We strive to manage doors effectively, but occasional intrusions can occur. Our heating bill for that month was unusually high, and we appreciate your understanding of the efforts to maintain a comfortable temperature.

    I also want to highlight that we were not made aware of these issues during your stay. We encourage guests to reach out to our designated contact for prompt assistance with any concerns. Your comfort is important to us, and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced.

    I'm aware of the deck plank you mentioned, and we plan to address this issue during our scheduled maintenance in Spring. The doorknobs, being antique, are meant to be opened without twisting, and we will work on better communication to avoid any inconvenience for future guests.

    We value your feedback and take it seriously as we plan to perform a deep cleaning and assessment during Spring Break to ensure the cabin is in top condition for the upcoming season. We appreciate your understanding and patience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

  • A good place for a little get away.

    4/5

    A good place for a little get away. Loved the big porch with a nice view of the water.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Amanda S.
    Published June 21, 2023
  • DONT RESERVE HERE

    1/5

    So I am currently staying here for a work trip for three weeks and this place is outdated!! The owners of the house DO NOT ANSWER their phones it’s flea invested and roaches and it’s not worth the price! They need to clean it immediately!

    Joshua Cortez
    Published June 14, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Joshua, we want all of our guests to rest easy when they stay with us, and we're sorry that you experienced some issues during your trip. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    -We're sorry you weren't 100% satisfied with your stay
    -We have pests sprayed on schedule twice a month to keep the area maintained to ensure a clean, comfortable, and great environment
    -The home is always cleaned before each check-in, including steam cleaning the floors. We do a thorough walk-through before your arrival and didn't see any cleanliness issues
    -We send a welcome text three to five days before check-in to our guests that include cabin update, activities, restaurants, and shopping within the surrounding area. We provide guests with great hospitality and are responsive to your requests and questions
    -Regarding the response times and communication, the guest's contact information is listed in the pre-stay information to address any concerns quickly for a most comfortable stay. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, we were at a funeral and were unable to respond promptly to your concerns. We apologize that the communication fell short
    We go above and beyond for our guests and we are confident future guests will have excellent stays! Thanks again for letting us know about your stay!

  • nice

    4/5

    old school house pretty neat the pictures on line miss lead a little bit but i would got back we were there headed to nascar so didnt plan on fishing but looks like a great place for that and hanging out on lake

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Kevin M.
    Published June 1, 2022
  • Great River Retreat

    5/5

    Exactly as expected - a lovely house on the Coosa with gorgeous views and lots of areas to gather and enjoy great company. Excellent visit, would stay again.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Michael M.
    Published December 8, 2021
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Still have questions?

Reach out help with general questions about the property.

Private homes with hospitality

We promise private, professionally-cleaned vacation rentals with 24/7 guest support so you can travel without worry.
Best Rate

Best Rate

You’re guaranteed to book the best rates on our vacation homes at evolve.com.

Rest Easy

Rest Easy

If plans change or the vacation rental isn’t what we promised, we’re here to help make it right.

Icon showing an outstretched hand holding a heart icon

Give Back

Bookings on evolve.com support our Building Hospitality program.

3.15
13 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Guests
Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 8 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are not allowed at this property.
Adults
0
Children
Ages 2-12
0
Infants
0