Evolve | White Stone Cottage w/ Private Beach!

White StoneVAUS
Sleeps 62 BR1 BA


Retreat to the gorgeous Virginia coast by staying in 'My Sweet Escape,' a 2-bedroom, 1-bath vacation rental cottage in White Stone! This hideaway boasts a private beach, a gazebo, plenty of outdoor space for your pet, and a fire pit, where you and your family can unwind and make lasting memories while enjoying the coastal air. Marvel at the views of Chesapeake Bay, enjoy a movie on one of the home's flat-screen TVs, or venture out to other nearby New England towns like Irvington and Kilmarnock.


  • Deck
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Waterfront
  • Free Parking
  • Central Air Conditioning
  • Pets Allowed
  • Cable/Satellite TV
  • Kitchen


Location Details

OPT OUTSIDE: White Stone Beach (4.9 miles), Windmill Point Marina (10.3 miles), Hughlett Point Natural Area Preserve (15.7 miles), Dameron Marsh Natural Area Preserve (16.3 miles), Chilton Woods State Forest (22.8 miles), Belle Isle State Park (24.4 miles), York River State Park (50.6 miles)

SEASIDE TOWNS: White Stone (3.9 miles), Irvington (5.8 miles), Kilmarnock (7.5 miles), Urbanna (19.1 miles), Gloucester (28.0 miles)

LOCAL DINING: River Market (3.9 miles), Sandpiper Restaurant (4.2 miles), Willaby's Cafe (5.4 miles), The Local (5.9 miles), Lee's Restaurant (7.4 miles), NN Burger (7.4 miles)

AIRPORTS: Richmond International Airport (65.1 miles), Norfolk International Airport (79.7 miles)


49 reviews
  • Beautiful location


    The views of Chesapeake Bay and how close we were to the water was excellent Very private secluded neighborhood off the grid on gravel roadNot beach front we had to walk two houses down to get to our beach but that wasn't a bug dealYou have the view right in front of you on the porch of the cottageThe owner was very responsive to my texts and emails to answer all our questions It was a cute cottage however it definitely needs some updates to the property It was mostly clean but some things could have been cleaner as the pots and pans and silverware could have been cleanerAlso they did not provide us with dish rags or dish soapSome things falling apart and picture's online not all accurate to how it looks nowSome things were a bit unsafe with the electric and the appliances They didn't leave enough bath towels so consider bringing your ownThe air conditioner is in the window so it was hard to keep coolOther than that we had a good experience on the beach and they had kayaks we were able to useAll in all still a good experience if they would just put some money into the property itself it could be even better!We still had a great vacation either way

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Angela S.
    Published August 30, 2022
  • Update June 2022


    The comments noted previously still remain true and accurate. Wish we had paid attention before booking. The photos are deceptive. Look for another property near here... it's a great location.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Lindsay G.
    Published July 18, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Lindsay, we’re sorry your stay fell short of expectations. We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:
    - The majority of our previous complaints were due to a leaky roof, a non-flushing toilet, spotty hot water availability, or flooding in the yard. We are happy to report that each of these issues has been addressed and fully taken care of.
    - We use professional photography for the home, so the features you see on the listing are accurately advertised.
    - There have actually been a few improvements made to the home since the photos were taken including a completely cleared and re-done yard that guests have been enjoying.
    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

  • False advertisement!


    We didn’t stay. I got my money back, the place was underwater and nothing like it was advertised. I wouldn’t recommend anybody rent this place. Horrible!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Leslie Y.
    Published April 27, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    From the owners: "We are very sorry for your experience at our property and wanted to clarify what happened.
    We went through a torrential downpour and flooding. Unfortunately, sometimes when it is of a certain magnitude, there isn't anything that can be done.
    We were happy to refund you for this inconvenience.
    We know you are understandably upset about the flooding, but as for the inside of the property, except for a few minor changes, everything is as pictured and described on the listing.
    We will be replacing the affected flooring and ready to provide our next guests with a great stay."

  • Will Be Staying Again!


    Pet friendly, clean, eccentric! We loved it and will be going back. Have already recommended to other friends and family. ♥️

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    jaimie s.
    Published April 13, 2022
  • Filth, Decay and a Feud


    This place is extremely poorly maintained - falling apart, iffy electrical wiring, with some filthy utensils and pans in the drawers and filthy cooking facilities (oven and grill unusable due to lack of cleaning over a time period that has clearly spanned many renters). For example, the oven was crusted over with layers of filth and old food chunks - it had a nice patina of burnt on old food - something no reasonable person would use, especially on vacation. There were chunks of old dried up meat and grizzle on the grill and what looked like inch long crusted drips of old cheese clinging to the cooking grate.. Also, the owners appear to be having a feud with the next door neighbor that will require you to pay a $500 fine if you happen to cross their property line or walk in their beach - we have rented many vacation properties have never seen this in a rental agreement. The neighbors even have cameras trained on the rental property 24/7. The view is gorgeous but there is no way to access the water from the rental property unless one perilously climbs over giant rocks on the breaker wall. Significantly, The owners call this an ocean-front rental property - and it is not on the ocean - it is the Chesapeake Bay.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Stacy B.
    Published January 12, 2022
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Stacy, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following:
    -We did see the oven did not look fully clean after its routine cleaning. We apologize for that and have since gotten it deep cleaned. Our other cookware is kept clean.
    -We can't control what our neighbors choose to do, but they do have the right to ask people to refrain from walking on their private property. We note this in our listing as well.
    -It is a short walk to the beach, about three doors down.
    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 10
Booking Details

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
Ages 2-12
Property ID: 324289
Have a Travel Credit?