Historic Chester House 10-30 Mins to 5 Mountains!

Property ID: 378013ChesterVTUS
Sleeps 74 BR1.5 BA


This 4-bedroom, 1.5-bath vacation rental house in Chester provides a charming farmhouse setting for your next Northeast escape! Situated on 13 acres shared with Gordon's Christmas Tree Farm, this scenic property dazzles you with natural beauty during every season! See if the fish bite at the nearby river or take a walk among the apple trees. With easy access to Magic Mountain Ski Resort, downtown Chester, and Okemo State Forest, everyone is sure to enjoy all that southern Vermont has to offer!


  • Pets Allowed
  • Central Heating
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Free Parking
  • Kitchen


Location Details

Resting on a charming, 13-acre tree farm, this Chester home provides plenty of open space to explore during every season. In the summer months, find the perfect fishing spot alongside the river or read a book under a shady apple tree.

During the winter, head outside to build the perfect snowman before shredding the slopes at Magic Mountain Ski Resort - only 8.5 miles from this property! Other resorts such as Stratton, Bromley, and Okemo Mountain Resort are all within a scenic 30-minute drive, so don't forget to bring your adventurous spirit!

For a night out, take a short 6-minute drive into town where you'll have your pick of popular local restaurants. Savor the fresh ingredients used in all dishes served at The Free Range, or indulge in comfort food and craft brews at MacLaomainn's Scottish Pub.

Don't forget to save room for dessert! Pick up some homemade cannolis at Vermont Cannoli before perusing the various antique shops nearby.


6 reviews
  • Hunting trip


    It was perfect for us and location was great it’s a little out dated and photos of property were acurate we stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our Time thanks again

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    William P.
    Published December 8, 2021
  • Dirty, Smelly, unkept


    As soon as you pull in the driveway there was a lamp post laying on the ground. The post could not be moved out of the way because it was wired into the ground. The home was dirty, smelled horrible, the doors were hanging off of hinges or did not work in the bathroom and bedroom. I could not shut the bathroom door so that I would have privacy while showering and using the restroom.The shower head did not work and the water that was coming out of the taps was dark brown/ black with chunks of black sludge. My family and I were not able to use the water at this location due to those issues. We only slept at the house for 2 of the 5 nights we were scheduled to stay there.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Leigh B.
    Published August 29, 2018
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Leigh, We were very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at this vacation home. The homeowner had not been notified that their lawn care team had knocked over the lamp post in the yard before your stay, and they apologize for the inconvenience. The farmhouse was originally built in 1857, and the homeowner has been making updates to ensure that their guests are comfortable while preserving the property's historic charm. The homeowner will be updating the doors with new paint and hardware, and guests are already provided with instructions on how to use the newer plumbing system in the home. Since the older system is not in use, debris or discolored water can come out if guests use the wrong taps. The homeowner would have been happy to steer you towards the correct taps and resolve any other issues you experienced had you reached out at any time during your stay. We are glad that we were able to assist you after you had already checked out of the property, and we do hope that you keep us in mind for your future travels. Best, the Evolve Team

  • Adequate. The house suited our needs.


    The house was adequate for our needs. The closet in the bedroom beside the kitchen had sheets in there that smelled of urine. We could not hang out clothes there. A new trash barrel is needed for the kitchen. The existing one is all broken and cracked on the top. The owner should be aware that if someone is showering in the downstairs bathroom, there is not enough water pressure to flush the upstairs toilet. Overall the property met our needs for the weekend to attend a memorial service for a family member however, the property is a little cold and tired.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Jan K.
    Published August 22, 2018
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Jan, We are happy to hear that this property met your needs, but we are sorry that some aspects of your stay fell short of expectations. The homeowner has replaced the trash can in the kitchen since your stay, and we provide guests with instructions on how to increase the water pressure upon their arrival. In the future, please don't hesitate to reach out to your guest contact with any questions or concerns - they would have been able to immediately help you with the water pressure and any other questions or concerns you might have had! The owner is dedicated to the experience of their guests, and they are actively updating the home to ensure that upcoming travelers can enjoy their vacation home as much as they do. We appreciate you letting us know about your stay, and we hope to travel with you again soon. Best, the Evolve Team



    After a lovely drive through the Adirondac mountains we were very happy to come upon this lovely home in cozy Chester! We simply loved everything about the place---from it's proximity to town, to the stream running behind the home and the picturesque hills, framing the sky. We had wonderful fires and boardgames and were tickled by the singing Buck above the bar! Bacon and eggs in the morning while enjoying coffee gazing out the sunny kitchen windows was heaven. We would love to visit again! Thanks so much for letting us stay in your home!!! Chris, Yolanda and little Omar Rousseau

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    c r.
    Published March 22, 2018
  • Loved the house! Highly recommend


    We totally enjoyed this charming home! We went for the peak of foliage. The hill behind the house was amazing! Many travelers stopped to take photos in the driveway! Pics are right on! It?s an old house, but had all we needed! We highly recommend this home!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Kelly B C.
    Published March 22, 2018
  • 1
  • 2
6 reviews

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
  • This property has a maximum occupancy of 7 guests, not including infants.
  • Pets are allowed at this property.
Ages 2-12