Idyllic lake days await at this Grand Rapids, MN, vacation rental! Boasting direct access to Splithand Lake and comforts like heated floors and a full kitchen, this 5-bedroom, 2.5-bathroom home provides a peaceful setting that's perfect for enjoying quality time with your loved ones and pets. Spend your days fishing, boating, or exploring Grand Rapids' shopping and dining options. In the evenings, dine al fresco before retreating inside for a cozy movie night by the fireplace!
OUTDOOR ADVENTURES: ATV & snowmobile trails, ski trails, multi-species fishing, Splithand Lake Public Access (2 miles), Little Splithand Lake (7 miles), Cowhorn Lake Public Access (10 miles), Golden Anniversary State Forest (11 miles), Lake Pokegama (11 miles), Quadna Mountain Resort & Golf Course (12 miles)
THINGS TO SEE & DO: Big Splithand Resort Bar & Grill (6 miles), Zorbaz Bar & Grill (12 miles), Judy Garland Museum (16 miles), Children’s Discovery Museum (16 miles), MacRostie Art Center (18 miles), Gilbert Mansion (18 miles), Forest History Center (19 miles), Reif Performing Arts Center (19 miles)
GRAND RAPIDS (~18 miles): Rapids Brewing Company, Dotties Hometown Cafe & Beno's, Brewed Awakenings, Sammy's Pizza Restaurant & Tavern, Lake Lover Vintage, Clara's Cupboard Antiques and More, Central Square Mall, Downtown Country Roads Antiques
AIRPORT: Duluth International Airport (77 miles)
Great house. low lake water and suspected blue-green algae diminished our experience of the location.
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Overall our stay was comfortable with plenty of space for all 8 of us. The water was low, as mentioned in the description, and the dock is very short in length so the kids weren’t able to fish or swim from the dock like they had hoped. The dining room light didn’t work and we couldn’t figure out how to turn it on despite the labeled switches. Despite the minor things mentioned, we enjoyed our stay and really enjoyed boating on Pokegama Lake - what a beautiful place to spend the days!
*This review was originally posted on Vrbo
Hi Kari, we’re so happy you enjoyed the lake! We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. Your feedback is essential to us, and we've relayed your comments to the homeowner, who would like to address the following:
- While we cannot guarantee the availability of community amenities, we do understand that these amenities play a large role when guests book a property. Since the lake water is now low, we will be visiting the property soon to take the dock out of the lake for the season.
- We haven't had issues with the dining room lights recently but would have been happy to address any issues during your stay had you let us know. We wish you had reached out to the Guest Contact so that we could have quickly resolved your concerns.
We do all we can to make our home the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to host you again!
We stayed here for a long weekend over July 4th. The lake is beautiful and the home is very spacious with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a well-equipped kitchen. However, there were some issues and we were extremely disappointed with our stay here. We had booked this vacation for the sole purpose of finding a house on a lake that we could relax at over the 4th of July, with a beach and water access. The description of this home states that it has a sand beach on property and a dock, plus the photos show it being right on the lake. There were no reviews so we took a huge risk, which ultimately backfired. The house is on the lake, however there is no way to get into the lake. The “beach” and lake are covered with weeds and tall grass so there is absolutely no way you can get in the water and there is absolutely no beach. The dock has no ramp or stairs leaving it inaccessible. Inside the house, there were spiders, bugs, and cobwebs in most rooms. We have stayed at many lake homes and cabins and are very aware that bugs are inevitable but this was like a cleaning service hadn’t been out in weeks. The outdoor furniture was so dirty that we had to clean it ourselves twice. The beds, except for one bed, had no pillows other than shams. There was a bad smell coming from the first level bedroom that got worse over our stay. There was no air conditioning, which we knew before booking, but we thought we’d cool off in the water. The worst part of all of this was the communication by the hosts. It was the most unprofessional encounter I have ever had and I’ve stayed in many airbnbs and VRBOs. Immediately upon arrival, I emailed our contacts expressing concern over the inaccurate description of the lake access and beach, and I also asked for a broom or vacuum to clean up all the dead bugs. I did not receive a response so the next day I texted the contact number and asked for a broom and suggestions on other dog friendly beaches around since this house had no lake access. Instead of apologizing for the inaccurate description and all the spiders and dead bugs in the house, the person, Shirley, made excuses saying yard work had just been done and a cleaning service had been out. She gave one suggestion on a beach but ignored the rest of the text and questions. I responded for a third time asking for cleaning supplies and why there wasn’t a beach on property. This text was completely ignored and the next morning we woke up to a broom outside our door. No note with it or any communication from the host the entire rest of our stay! Truly unbelievable. I would not stay here again.
Owner's response: "Olivia, We are sorry that you had a couple of issues come up while you were in the home. We do our best to ensure each guest has what they need and are taken care of to the best of our ability.
- We apologize for the listing containing the wrong information about the sandy beach, we have had it updated so that our future guests know what to expect when they book and arrive at the home.
- We are lucky to have access to the lake so close to the property but with that comes the responsibility of caring for the lake. We have to follow the rules to be sure that we preserve what we are so lucky to have. When the weeds and tall grass get tall we can't do much about it or we will be assessed a fine. Not only that but these tall grasses protect the natural habitat.
- The patio furniture is outside and in nature, we expect it to get dirty, we will be coming to the property soon and will do some maintenance on the patios and furniture.
We take cleanliness very seriously and have since changed our cleaning crew in the hopes our new crew does a good job so that all our guests arrive at a home that is 100% clean and sanitized. We apologize for the inconvenience and wish you had let us know when you were on the property.
- You did reach out to one person, but we never got an email from you or a phone call. We are available but sometimes you have to call or text more than once. We did drop off the broom and dustpan as requested.
We do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests. We will continue to deliver the 5-star experiences we are known for."