Charming Cabin w/ Mtn Views: Hike, Bike, & Ski!

Sleeps 63 BR2.5 BA


Uncover southern Colorado's greatest best-kept secret when you visit the mountain village of Cuchara! With easy access to the surrounding San Isabel National Forest and pristine wilderness from this 3-bedroom, 2.5-bath vacation rental, there's no telling where the adventure ends - fish in the Cucharas River, hike the Spanish Peaks, or drive along the famous Highway of Legends. At the end of each day, return to this cozy cabin to relax on the large deck and witness a breathtaking mountain sunset!


  • Essentials
  • Free Parking
  • Wireless Internet (WIFI)
  • Deck
  • Kitchen
  • Pets Allowed
  • Central Heating
  • Washer


Location Details

PARKS + OUTDOOR FUN: Spring Creek Trailhead (1.2 miles), Cuchara Mountain Ski Resort (3.9 miles), Bear Lake Campground (9.3 miles), Monument Lake Campground (17.3 miles), Spanish Peaks Wilderness (18.7 miles), Lathrop State Park (25.8 miles), Trinidad Lake State Park (50.8 miles), Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve (80.0 miles)

THINGS TO SEE & DO: Francisco Fort Museum (12.1 miles), Cordova Pass (12.5 miles), Fort Garland Museum & Cultural Center (46.2 miles), Bishop Castle (73.6 miles), Historic Arkansas Riverwalk (78.2 miles)

BITE TO EAT: Dog Bar & Grill (0.8 miles), Timbers Restaurant (0.8 miles), Aly's Restaurant (11.8 miles), Corners Diner (11.8 miles)

AIRPORT: Colorado Springs Airport (120 miles)


15 reviews
  • Great cabin tucked in the trees


    First off, the property owner, Eugene, was just great to work with. The cabin was very clean and quiet with everything you need. Location is fairly secluded up in the higher forest. A great place to stay.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    David B.
    Published November 2, 2021
  • Cozy tucked away cabin!


    We had an amazing stay. We had everything we needed there the house had heating and air. We were very comfortable and appreciate very much our host.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Leandra K
    Published October 26, 2021
  • Nice family gathering, but there were moments!!!


    Old shabby, not well maintained. Leaky sink, breakers tripped in normal use. less than one roll of toilet paper., gas range marginal., the downstairs master bed was so bad that our son-in-law had to sleep on the flow. Stairs inside and out were a challenge--three levels inside and two 2 levels outside to get into the front door. In a modern world it would be a code disaster. I doubt if a property manager would have taken on the property--certainly the one I had wouldn't have.Would not book the place again.On the plus side the area was nice to include the neighbors, and there was lots of wonderful hot water! The wild turkeys were a pleasure and the bear encounters were not threatening!

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Drexel J.
    Published September 7, 2021
    Manager's Response:

    Hi Drexel, thank you for your review. We wanted to pass along the following feedback from the homeowners: We wanted to address the concerns you mentioned.
    As for being old and dated cabin – we constantly improve things when we can. So far we have replaced the outdated TVs with a new LED screen TV in each room. We installed a new wood stove, replaced the old water heater tank, put new vinyl floors in each of the three bathrooms, and added two new beds with new matrasses (king and queen). Other furniture items were added: a TV stand, recliner, foldable armchair/bed, standing A/C unit, new vanity and faucet, dishwasher and photos on canvas, and other decorations throughout. One carpeted staircase leading upstairs was replaced and a new light fixture over the kitchen table was added. There are two grills, propane and charcoal, tables and chairs on the third floor balconies, and a teak set on the main deck with a fireplace. Many of these things were not captured when photos for listing were taken. Also perimeter lights were added and extra outdoor light, two new dryers, and an updated washer were added.
    I just replaced two shutoff valves under the basement stand-alone sink (one of them was leaking) and installed a new faucet. Both the electrical and plumbing problems have been fixed.
    Concerning the mattresses, they are all new and clean. Mattress taste is subjective, so we are sorry they did not meet your preferences.
    We have plenty of toilet paper in the cabinets downstairs. Usually our cleaning team leaves more out, but we will make sure this won't get overlooked.
    As for the stairs – it is a three-level cabin and is built on the slope. There is no other way to get inside and move between floors other than stairs or building an elevator.
    The gas range knob has been replaced.
    As always, we do our best to provide a five-star stay for all our guests.

  • Enjoying the Mountains


    Our stay was very enjoyable at Eugene's. He answered every question and met every need we had. It was easy to land there and immediately feel comfortable and relaxed. A super family gathering place. Beds and living room furniture were very cozy. Our Dogs were welcomed and safe. It is a practical and functional space. Chuchara Valley is absolutely gorgeous , and this home is on a mountainside nestled in the tall pines. You can hear a stream below from sitting on the spacious porch off the kitchen while grilling, reading, or just breathing in the mountain air.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    John C
    Published September 3, 2021
  • Roomy and comfortable


    We enjoyed this cabin a lot! Relaxing while watching Netflix, relaxing around the fire pit, and relaxing on the deck made it all worth it. The fully stocked kitchen helped make everything a little easier. We really had a great vacay.

    *This review was originally posted on Vrbo

    Ginger L
    Published August 4, 2021
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Booking Details

Navigate forward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Navigate backward to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Select Guests
Ages 2-12
Property ID: 442044
Have a Travel Credit?